We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A confusing situation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alexandra & Victoria
Ranked #18 of 24 Hotels in Southport
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“A confusing situation”
Reviewed 2 November 2013

The confusion over the name of the hotel seems appropriate for the confused experience of our stay. The hotel official star rating is misleading to say the least. It is a mass of contradictions.
The staff are very friendly and try hard to please. Our bed was big and comfortable. The self-catering facilities built into the room were excellent ( fridge microwave, hobs, sink, storage ). This is not applicable to all the rooms. Many small things, such as non functioning lights and the miniscule bathroom were annoying.
The dining room is modern and adequate, the bar and reception are the opposite - small and dated. Not places for relaxation with a newspaper ! The kitchen location is unfortunate in that the full glory of the cooking is on display, as is the chef when smoking outside the hotel entrance !
In summary, it may be true that you get what you pay for, but this was a disappointing experience.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room first, as payment is demanded on check in. The nature of the building means that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pookymusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    115
    102
    79
    107
See reviews for
61
246
14
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sale
Level Contributor
96 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

A short break during school half term in October - sadly Southport was already closed down for the winter - not the hotel's fault!

We stayed in room 2 which had a very comfy kingsize bed and for an extra tenner a z bed for the grandson - although that was not quite so comfy.

The room has a kitchenette which may be very useful if on a budget.

Bathroom a little small and one light not working in it so rather dark.

Room itself was largely well presented - windows not double glazed so condensation on windows a problem and some small damp patch in bay window area.

Breakfast was fine albeit dining room was a little chilly and they did bring out cooked food before we had chance to finish our cereal - a little too efficient!

Front of hotel and car park area needs tidying up.

Reception staff warm and friendly.

Great location for pier and shops.

Excellent value on Sunday night stays.

Room Tip: Room 2 has a kitchenette
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Plippo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Had an over night stay at the renamed Albert and Victoria hotel on October 28th. Checked in earlier than was stated and went upto our room. It was a very small room, very dated. Two single beds pushed together, a double headboard that wasn't connected to the bed and so we wedged two towels between the radiator and headboard to stop it from moving! Also an en suite that you could hardly move in and it smelt of very bad drains. Everywhere was dusty and cobwebs outside our room, hanging from the lights. Not a 4 star, by any means.
To end on a good note, the location of the hotel was perfect, 2 mins walk from the shops and pier area. The full English breakfast was nice and you could help yourself to toast and cereal.
In my opinion, it's ok for a one night stay for the money we paid but not for any longer, wished we'd have paid a bit more and gone to the Ramada Hotel opposite!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nichola L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Southport hotels

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile

Disappointing attitude of person on reception when we arrived!!! Booked deluxe double room with a king size bed, but were given a tiny double room. Queried this at reception, but were faced with a really unhelpful woman who blatantly didn't care. She made no apology for the room we booked not being available, and replied by saying "well you have only paid £25". Not the point really, we paid the price they were advertising the room for, on booking.com, but we didn't get the room we requested!! Made no attempt to resolve the issue, but said we could have a refund and go elsewhere, which wasn't an option for us really.

Room was clean, but tiles in shower could have done with a bit of a clean.

Restaurant not as nice as pictures shown, although breakfast was nice and the guy serving had a much better attitude.

Not bad for the price we paid but would be fuming if we had paid standard rates they charge!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Wendy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heysham
Level Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Well, we bought an LS voucher for The Alexandra & Victoria Hotel, Blackpool last October 2013.
We booked for October 2014, on a Saturday. We drove down the promenade twice before we realised that the hotel that we saw looked just like the photo on Trip Advisor, It's now called The Albert & Victoria and has been taken over by new management, the last manager had "done a bunk" so we wasn't expected. The proprietor was very friendly and explained the situation that they had taken their own bookings and unfortunately couldn't fit us in. She told us that we could use their carpark free of charge, which we did and spent the rest of the day looking aroung Southport. What we saw looked clean and tidy. I'm putting this review mainly to let people know that The Alexandra & Victoria has now changed it's name to The Albert & Victoria.

Room Tip: I saw the Reception, Bar area & Dining room all of which looked presentable
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Stayed here for the week-end. Had a very small room which was cold. Had to go and get a screw driver to get the air out of our radiator in room as no heat was coming through. The on-suite radiator did not work. Shower was over bath which had a floor to ceiling window which had clear glass and an ill fitting net curtain on it. Went to a show on the Saturday night and came back at 10.15pm the bar was closed and we were told there was no staff on, Everything was in darkness. Very disappointed with the hotel and would not recommend it to anyone. For the price we paid we expected a decent hotel - not worth the money we paid!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaraT07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

The photographs when booking this hotel are not a true representation. Arrived 8pm to be met at the door by drunken guests which turned out the next morning to be staff, obviously a private party going on but this wasn't explained to us. Pint pots on the reception. Taken to our room which was very dusty, daughter couldn't sleep in put up bed as it had collapsed in the middle. Bin in bathroom full of rubbish. TV on dressing table.

Breakfast in the morning was a health hazard. Dining room hadn't been cleaned from party night before. Floor was sticky, dead flies near table. Bacon/Sausages obviously re-heated because had congealed fat. Hash browns frozen grey inside. Eggs still runny not cooked. To top breakfast off staff started arriving to clean in hungover state. This hotel seriously needs to be inspected.

Room Tip: Do not bother!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Si D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southport hotels
0.6 mi away
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
#12 of 24 in Southport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ramada Plaza Southport
Ramada Plaza Southport
#1 of 24 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,778 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vincent
Vincent
#4 of 24 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport
0.5 mi away
Baytrees Hotel
Baytrees Hotel
#9 of 24 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexandra & Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexandra & Victoria

Property: Alexandra & Victoria
Address: 38 Promenade, Southport PR8 1QU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Southport
#5 Luxury Hotel in Southport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Alexandra & Victoria 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located steps from Southport’s promenade and just 0.5 miles from the beach, this Victorian hotel is surrounded by bars, shops and night life. It provides free parking, and the on-site restaurant offers a creative menu. Lord Street’s shops and gardens are just 5 minutes’ walk from the Albert & Victoria Hotel. Southport’s Pleasureland is a 10-minute walk, whilst the hotel is within a 5-minute drive of 4 golf clubs. Boasting free Wi-Fi, satellite TV and a DVD player, each individually styled room also has a private bathroom with a hairdryer and free toiletries. Some rooms also include basic kitchen facilities for self-catering. Set in a modern conservatory, the Dining Rooms restaurant serves British dishes, a full English breakfast and a wide selection of drinks. Southport Rail Station is less than a 10-minute walk away and provides 45-minute rail connections to Liverpool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Alexandra & Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra And Victoria
Alexandra Victoria Hotel Southport
Alexandra Victoria Southport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing