We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for?????”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alexandra & Victoria
Ranked #16 of 23 Hotels in Southport
Reviewed 12 November 2013

The pictures shown on websites do not represent some of the rooms in this 'hotel'. I don't know how this 'hotel' has been given a 4 star rating, I would not even rate it as a 4 star b&b.

The staff we met were friendly. The reception area and bar looked quite dark. The dining area in the conservatory was quite pleasant.

The room we stayed in was on the first floor was very small and faced the rear of the building. There really wasn't much room and it didn't even have a chair in. I didn't feel the heating working in either the room or the bathroom and had to resort to using the convector heater which had been placed in the room. It was probably one of the most dusty rooms I had ever stayed in, it was obvious that the carpet had never been cleaned for months or longer behind the TV unit. The bathroom had mildew on the ceiling, tiles and shower curtain. The view from the window was of the rear patio area which was untidy and had old furniture left in.

The breakfast was really nice.

The car park was free, although there are a few holes in it.

You do have to pay on check in (that's not My usual experience of 4 star hotels). I would take the advice of fellow Trip Advisors and ask to see your room before you pay! I think I would have gone somewhere else!

We paid £55, which was ok. This hotel really needs to have a good clean and be tidied up.

I feel disappointed in having to allocate a 2 (poor), but I feel that it really didn't justify a 3 (average).

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Baddog1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (510)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

267 - 273 of 510 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2013

I am just writing this review to warn anyone who like us bought a voucher from KGB. I dont want anyone turning up at this hotel ( like we did ) to find that the voucher is not valid even if you have paid for it (like we did)
Lady on reception explained to us the previouse owners had done a runner and as we booked in March we were not on the new owners system so the booking and voucher is invalid. We where advised to contact KGB for a refund, which I have done today, I am still waiting for a reply.
DONT WANT ANYONE TO TRAVEL HERE TO BE TURNED AWAY.
I might add it is of no fault to the new owners.

Room Tip: did not get this far
See more room tips
Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
3  Thank voodoosue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

The confusion over the name of the hotel seems appropriate for the confused experience of our stay. The hotel official star rating is misleading to say the least. It is a mass of contradictions.
The staff are very friendly and try hard to please. Our bed was big and comfortable. The self-catering facilities built into the room were excellent ( fridge microwave, hobs, sink, storage ). This is not applicable to all the rooms. Many small things, such as non functioning lights and the miniscule bathroom were annoying.
The dining room is modern and adequate, the bar and reception are the opposite - small and dated. Not places for relaxation with a newspaper ! The kitchen location is unfortunate in that the full glory of the cooking is on display, as is the chef when smoking outside the hotel entrance !
In summary, it may be true that you get what you pay for, but this was a disappointing experience.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room first, as payment is demanded on check in. The nature of the building means that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pookymusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

A short break during school half term in October - sadly Southport was already closed down for the winter - not the hotel's fault!

We stayed in room 2 which had a very comfy kingsize bed and for an extra tenner a z bed for the grandson - although that was not quite so comfy.

The room has a kitchenette which may be very useful if on a budget.

Bathroom a little small and one light not working in it so rather dark.

Room itself was largely well presented - windows not double glazed so condensation on windows a problem and some small damp patch in bay window area.

Breakfast was fine albeit dining room was a little chilly and they did bring out cooked food before we had chance to finish our cereal - a little too efficient!

Front of hotel and car park area needs tidying up.

Reception staff warm and friendly.

Great location for pier and shops.

Excellent value on Sunday night stays.

Room Tip: Room 2 has a kitchenette
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Plippo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Had an over night stay at the renamed Albert and Victoria hotel on October 28th. Checked in earlier than was stated and went upto our room. It was a very small room, very dated. Two single beds pushed together, a double headboard that wasn't connected to the bed and so we wedged two towels between the radiator and headboard to stop it from moving! Also an en suite that you could hardly move in and it smelt of very bad drains. Everywhere was dusty and cobwebs outside our room, hanging from the lights. Not a 4 star, by any means.
To end on a good note, the location of the hotel was perfect, 2 mins walk from the shops and pier area. The full English breakfast was nice and you could help yourself to toast and cereal.
In my opinion, it's ok for a one night stay for the money we paid but not for any longer, wished we'd have paid a bit more and gone to the Ramada Hotel opposite!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nichola L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Disappointing attitude of person on reception when we arrived!!! Booked deluxe double room with a king size bed, but were given a tiny double room. Queried this at reception, but were faced with a really unhelpful woman who blatantly didn't care. She made no apology for the room we booked not being available, and replied by saying "well you have only paid £25". Not the point really, we paid the price they were advertising the room for, on booking.com, but we didn't get the room we requested!! Made no attempt to resolve the issue, but said we could have a refund and go elsewhere, which wasn't an option for us really.

Room was clean, but tiles in shower could have done with a bit of a clean.

Restaurant not as nice as pictures shown, although breakfast was nice and the guy serving had a much better attitude.

Not bad for the price we paid but would be fuming if we had paid standard rates they charge!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Wendy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Well, we bought an LS voucher for The Alexandra & Victoria Hotel, Blackpool last October 2013.
We booked for October 2014, on a Saturday. We drove down the promenade twice before we realised that the hotel that we saw looked just like the photo on Trip Advisor, It's now called The Albert & Victoria and has been taken over by new management, the last manager had "done a bunk" so we wasn't expected. The proprietor was very friendly and explained the situation that they had taken their own bookings and unfortunately couldn't fit us in. She told us that we could use their carpark free of charge, which we did and spent the rest of the day looking aroung Southport. What we saw looked clean and tidy. I'm putting this review mainly to let people know that The Alexandra & Victoria has now changed it's name to The Albert & Victoria.

Room Tip: I saw the Reception, Bar area & Dining room all of which looked presentable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southport hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Ramada Plaza Southport
Ramada Plaza Southport
#1 of 23 in Southport
3,232 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Bold Hotel
The Bold Hotel
#3 of 23 in Southport
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Vincent Hotel
The Vincent Hotel
#4 of 23 in Southport
1,219 reviews
0.6 mi away
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
#12 of 23 in Southport
429 reviews
0.3 mi away
Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexandra & Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexandra & Victoria

Address: 38 Promenade, Southport PR8 1QU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Southport
#5 Luxury Hotel in Southport
Price Range: £22 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alexandra & Victoria 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located steps from Southport’s promenade and just 0.5 miles from the beach, this Victorian hotel is surrounded by bars, shops and night life. It provides free parking, and the on-site restaurant offers a creative menu. Lord Street’s shops and gardens are just 5 minutes’ walk from the Albert & Victoria Hotel. Southport’s Pleasureland is a 10-minute walk, whilst the hotel is within a 5-minute drive of 4 golf clubs. Boasting free Wi-Fi, satellite TV and a DVD player, each individually styled room also has a private bathroom with a hairdryer and free toiletries. Some rooms also include basic kitchen facilities for self-catering. Set in a modern conservatory, the Dining Rooms restaurant serves British dishes, a full English breakfast and a wide selection of drinks. Southport Rail Station is less than a 10-minute walk away and provides 45-minute rail connections to Liverpool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Alexandra & Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra And Victoria
Alexandra Victoria Hotel Southport
Alexandra Victoria Southport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing