We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Alexandra & Victoria
Ranked #18 of 24 Hotels in Southport
Hinckley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“awful”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

has to be the worst experience ever, booked for 2 nights but only stayed for 1. reception very untidy, asked for payment even though we had prepaid' given a key and no further info. the room was at best terrible. can say with certainty that we will never visit this place or Southport again

Room Tip: don't go
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hinckley27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    115
    102
    79
    107
See reviews for
61
246
14
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Had a shock when we arrived, as the hotel reception was very untidy not what we expected.
Given a key with directions to our room and no further information.
The double room was small and crowded and the en-suite was like a cupboard 3'x4'.
A notice said that as a listed building structural alterations were restricted but to have a sink that came over the toilet so you couldn't sit properly is ridiculous.
No shelf in the bathroom to put your toiletries.
No saucers for the cups or a tray in the room.
No guest info re times breakfast served, checkout extra, BUT
even worse was the continual banging of the door at night and because the rooms were not very sound proof, it was 2am in the morning before we were able to get some sleep.
The plus if you want to stay at this hotel; its central, the beds are clean and there is some free parking.

Room Tip: Room 12 at the front has a good view, but be aware you will also have the noise from a banging door...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dorothy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Southport hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

just got back from a 1 night stay paid £80 for a so called deluxe room 2 single beds pushed together and the smallest en suite possible, on arrival we decided to pay extra £10 for a sunday morning breakfast no meal times were given and there was no details in the room we got up and went down for breakfast at 9 35 to be told breakfast finished at 9 30 , when i said we wasn't told any times and asked if i could get a refund they said yes, but then on check out the receptionist said she had spoken with the proprietor and no refund would be allowed , i didn't feel the need to argue about it just thought i would write a review and advise people to look elsewhere for a hotel with a little more courtesy you can do a lot better than this hotel with £ 80. ps forgot to mention after going out to a local cafe for breakfast we returned to find the receptionist and her friend tucking into a full english

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank gary c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Booked a weekend stay in June;then read reviews and became concerned. Rang hotel to discuss. On arrival,were warmly greeted and was clear our concerns were addressed. We had a de luxe room (6) which was room enough for two people albeit the en suite shower room was small. Room was clean,linen fresh, no smells, usual extras and there was a kitchenette in a cupboard [plus tea/coffee & biscuits] Main concern was the window-old style and wonky- with metal framed secondary glazing which was difficult to open and close. Noise levels however weren't that high but take earplugs if a light sleeper. The three staff we met were pleasant and helpful,Alison especially so. My mattress was lumpy and creaked. A plump matress topper was provided as a quick fix,which was quite satisfactory; two spent light bulbs were replaced on asking. The breakfast was well cooked with usual choices and good for the price. Dining room bright and airy if a little dated. The buliding is old and a victorian guest house style. The interiors need a bit of TLC but thr outside seemed recently painted. It is not a boutique hotel and the room price a bit high for a guest house but it is on the seafront and near the shops.

Room Tip: Rooms 5 & 6 on 1st floor at front (nb.no lift.) Reasonable double/twin rooms en suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cynthia h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
259 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Stayed here for one night on the bank holiday weekend this May bank holiday and have stayed here before. It was a comfortable, clean, quiet room and described as being a deluxe room. The room itself was small and the bathroom tiny and as I said it was advertised as deluxe! However it was adequate for our purposes. The one gripe I had is that we paid £110 for this room and there was no breakfast supplied. I have stayed in other hotels in and around Britain and across the world and they always provide a breakfast. However after reading through the booklet that comes with room I discovered that the price of the rooms included breakfast! I took this matter up with the manager and she then included a breakfast after telling me that the paperwork had not been amended yet. I found that to be an acceptable remedy to the issue of breakfast for such a high price for such an average room.

Room Tip: If you are going to this hotel just beware for although it is ok and adequate for the purpose for th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Graham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night on the bank holiday weekend.

Was looking for a comfortable, clean, quiet room however basic however this is not provided.

The room itself was small and the bathroom tiny. The smell of wet dog/ dirty hoover was belly churning, but not to be put off I sprayed the room with deodorant and it all looked clean enough so I got changed and left for the evening.

Once in bed the trouble began, loud noise from the street in front made it feel like sleeping in a warzone made worse by the mattress which to say it had seen better days is an understatement. It was clean but had lost all its spring in the middle providing no support. The curtains were very thin and not backed and the bangs and noise started at 7, so no chance of going back to sleep after.

The management of this establishment should in my honest opinion invest in some backing for their curtains, some new mattresses and de clutter their reception area to make more welcoming.

Not a total loss but little sleep. On a positive the shower was powerful and water plentiful.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigleemcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Room seven has no iron as advertised....it has a problem with a horrible sewer smell in bathroom....
Kitchenette missing a fridge and utensils.....lady on reception was nice but all owners and other staff were stressed and miserable....such a shame how its got stars ill never ever know.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank byronicle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southport hotels
0.6 mi away
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
#12 of 24 in Southport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ramada Plaza Southport
Ramada Plaza Southport
#1 of 24 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,783 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vincent
Vincent
#4 of 24 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport
0.5 mi away
Baytrees Hotel
Baytrees Hotel
#8 of 24 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexandra & Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexandra & Victoria

Property: Alexandra & Victoria
Address: 38 Promenade, Southport PR8 1QU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Southport
#5 Luxury Hotel in Southport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Alexandra & Victoria 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located steps from Southport’s promenade and just 0.5 miles from the beach, this Victorian hotel is surrounded by bars, shops and night life. It provides free parking, and the on-site restaurant offers a creative menu. Lord Street’s shops and gardens are just 5 minutes’ walk from the Albert & Victoria Hotel. Southport’s Pleasureland is a 10-minute walk, whilst the hotel is within a 5-minute drive of 4 golf clubs. Boasting free Wi-Fi, satellite TV and a DVD player, each individually styled room also has a private bathroom with a hairdryer and free toiletries. Some rooms also include basic kitchen facilities for self-catering. Set in a modern conservatory, the Dining Rooms restaurant serves British dishes, a full English breakfast and a wide selection of drinks. Southport Rail Station is less than a 10-minute walk away and provides 45-minute rail connections to Liverpool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Alexandra & Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra And Victoria
Alexandra Victoria Hotel Southport
Alexandra Victoria Southport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing