We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, clean and quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Travelodge Southport Hotel
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Southport
UK
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Comfortable, clean and quiet”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We stayed three nights mid-week and had no problems checking in or out. Reception staff were young, friendly and very helpful and the room fitted our requirements very well - it and the en suite were very clean and bright and our request for a quiet room was fulfilled admirably. The pull out single bed worked very well and was comfortable, as was the large double bed. Pillows, sheets, downies and towels were all as new. Kettle and tea and coffee were provided. Location is very central and, although you have to pay to park (because of Southport's draconian parking charges, rather than Travelodge policy), we easily found free parking in a nearby residential street. Morrisons' Supermarket is next door and there are many cafés and restaurants in the vicinity. Excellent value for the accommodation provided.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room away from the main street and away from lifts and stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RosScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    282
    227
    83
    36
    40
See reviews for
227
286
37
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

If you want a basic - clean - friendly place to rest then this is it. Be aware of the fact you pay for parking in their car park but can park just outside it for free. If you want 5 star then avoid these venues, but if you are out all day and want clean, and functional bed for the night then this is great.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thingwall, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Very recently opened/reopened so a few staffing and admin issues, especially on checkin where we were given an already occupied room. On the other hand as new, all very clean and tidy. Reasonably central location (opposite the fair - 10 minute walk to pier area) and excellent value (£35 for the night for a family of 4). Next to a morrisions so popped acrooss car park for a cooked breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Tracey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STAFFS
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

I stayed here for one night,a single mum with my 10 year old daughter,over May Bank Holiday weekend.We arrived by train and it was only a 10/15 minute walk to the Hotel.We arrived just after 3 pm to check in to find the reception area full to bursting.We then waited for 45 minutes to check in, where we were told that they were not sure if the room was ready as housekeeping were running late as the hotel was full the previous night.The receptionist then ran around trying to find a vacant cleaned room.He returned 10 minutes later to tell us that they had found us one room only to be told 2 minutes later that the room was not ready and put us in 310.Finally!!We then found the room only to discover that the card key did not let us in.We traipsed back down to reception to find the reception still full to bursting,so I politely said that I was not pushing in and that I had already checked in but that my key did not allow us in to our room,the receptionist took my key,swiped it and handed it back without even a "sorry!"
We had a lovely view of Lord Street from our 2 small windows though,and the room was clean and tidy,as it should be since it has only been open for a few months.
Minutes later after using the bathroom,we found the toilet was leaking,collecting in a puddle in the middle of the bathroom.
I went to reception,twice during the day only to find it heaving with people still waiting to check in or complaining.
I eventually reported it at 9 pm only to be told they had no other room to put us in and offered us towels to mop up the water!!They offered us 2 complimentary breakfast boxes.Yes the Hotel is new,clean,in a wonderful position,close to Morrisons,and pubs,shops,tea rooms etc.but it seems to me that they are either under staffed or under trained or both.Clearly,the checking in issues need to be addressed.You pay for your room from 3 pm not 4.15!!Would they allow you to check out at 1.15 the following day instead of 12 pm?!IMaybe if I visited again later in the year the teething problems would have gone.Hope so as it was brilliantly situated.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charlotte5Staffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

The strip of coastal links courses around Southport is one of the finest in the world and attracts visitors from many countries. This new Travelodge is centrally located within easy walking distance of the pubs, bars and restaurants in town and a short taxi/car journey to many of the famous coruses (we played S&A which was excellent). Rooms were purpose built, modern and clean - perfectly functionable - the entance and navigation to reception is interesting up the stairs - keeps you fit!
Breakfast in a box was OK at best
Overall a comfortable and quiet nights rest after a great afternoon's golf and a night on the town

Room Tip: HIgher is better and one side overlooks Morrisons car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

when we arrived there was a queue at reception as the cleaners hadnt turned up and the rooms were not ready. when it was finally my turn i asked for my room with disabled access which i had booked as my wife is in a wheelchair. ON THE FIFTH FLOOR !!!! when i questioned this i was told rather brusqueley "there is a lift ,you dont have to use the stairs." as we were tired and it was bank holiday we went to our room. marked plainly on the lift doors was a sign " IN CASE OF EMERGENCY DO NOT USE " What idiot designed the plans and what clown in the health and safety passed them. the mind boggles.

Room Tip: Go to the Premier Inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Just back today after spending 2 nights at this hotel , it was very quite, and we had no problems bath and shower great bed very comfortable and we got as many towels as we needed.

My only down was no food but lots of cafés in walking distance will be back very soon

Room Tip: We had 111 on first floor no problems, my only concern was the cleaners seemed to work none stop 10...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gerard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southport hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Ramada Plaza Southport
Ramada Plaza Southport
#1 of 23 in Southport
2,878 reviews
0.1 mi away
Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Bold Hotel
The Bold Hotel
#3 of 23 in Southport
535 reviews
0.9 mi away
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
#12 of 23 in Southport
411 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Talbot Hotel
The Talbot Hotel
#5 of 23 in Southport
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Southport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Southport Hotel

Property: Travelodge Southport Hotel
Address: Garrick Parade Lord Street, Southport PR8 1RN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Southport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Southport Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Southport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing