We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very handy”
Review of The Warwick

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Warwick
Ranked #17 of 41 Southport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We enjoyed our recent stay at The Warwick. It was friendly, clean and the breakfasts were great. It's in a handy, central location and has off-road parking. Despite its central location, Bath Street was quiet at night - so we got a good sleep!

Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
Thank 15Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (216)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 216 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2013

Just returned from a long weekend and It is very well run by a friendly couple John and Sue, the welcoming tea in the lounge on arrival is very much appreciated -- it really does deserve the reputation it has for its breakfast a lot of hotels could learn a lot. The location is ideal with the station, beach, shops, restaurants all within 5 minutes stroll.
The street is quiet, and how nice to be able to sit outside in a pleasant position for that drink and chat. John and Sue have also plenty of suggestions for your local preferred restaurant style. All in all a nice hotel well run--thank you

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RickHM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

John & Sue are excellent hosts and provide an excellent breakfast in an excellent manner. The bedroom and en suite need some updating to match the breakfast assessment of excellent. If they could somehow provide a bigger bathroom (I have bruises on my knee from the Mrs opening the door whilst I was on the loo) I would have happily given an excellent rating overall. There is no licence at the Warwick but the Conservative Club across the road made us very welcome (and very good prices too). The location is ideal for the promenade, the shops and for visiting the area. There is a very comfortable lounge where you are welcome to drink your own drinks, glasses provided. They have membership of the local Victoria Fitness Club which I found to be very well equipped and I was provided with a towel by John & Sue. Well recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LadyLozza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at The Warwick and have only compliments for the guest house. comfortable, spotlessly clean and a beautiful breakfast with the added bonus of being in a perfect location. All those little extras that make a stay special; which you wouldn't expect to find in a guest house were there. John and Sue are very hospitable and welcoming, the complimentary hot drinks upon arrival were especially appreciated.
Breakfast was amazing with everything from a continential to a full english available...and everything inbetween. Lovely fresh linen on very comfortable beds ensures a good nights sleep. It was also very good, and welcoming that the heating came on when required due to the very unseasonal and unpredicatable weather.
A huge well done and Thank you from us and hope to see you again soon.

We will definitly return.

Room Tip: search Google for 'the warwick southport' you will not be disappointed!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debsedo2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

I flew in from Abu Dhabi to visit family and friends in Southport. I stayed at the Warwick because friends had stayed there and recommended it. Plus with no car, I needed somewhere that was handy for town, station etc.
Sue and John are the perfect hosts. I really felt like I was being welcomed into their home, the place was spotless, the room, spot on, clean, spacious, with a really comfy bed and the breakfast...... I have to say its worth staying at the Warwick for the breakfasts alone.....the full English is mouth watering andJohn definately makes the best poached egg this side of the Persian Gulf.
I will happily recommend The Warwick to everyone - I will be going back!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsP0tts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2012

Lovely couple with a warm welcome and cant do enough for you. Parents had stayed before and were keen to do so again so I also stayed and would do so again. Lovely breakfast and ideal location for shopping and walking. The passes for the spa are a brilliant extra.
Highly recommended

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lesley h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Another enjoyable stay, our fourth year running. Warm and friendly welcome from John and Sue. Breakfast was brilliant as usual, with plenty to choose from. The room had everything you needed and cleaned to a high standard. A lovely place to stay with good access to Lord street and the promenade.
Thank you for another lovely stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RadarB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southport hotels
0.1 mi away
Ramada Plaza Southport
Ramada Plaza Southport
#1 of 23 in Southport
3,091 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
The Bold Hotel
The Bold Hotel
#3 of 23 in Southport
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Southport Hotel
Travelodge Southport Hotel
#6 of 23 in Southport
720 reviews
0.4 mi away
Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport
0.5 mi away
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
#12 of 23 in Southport
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Warwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Warwick

Address: 39 Bath Street, Southport PR9 0DP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Southport
Price Range: £70 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Warwick 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
John & Sue welcome you to their 4 Star Guest Accommodation located in the center of Southport. Runner up of the Southport Ambassador Awards for 2012 & 2013 & 2014. We are regularly updating rooms,Most bedrooms have been recently decorated with new soft furnishings along with new decor for your comfort. We have electronic proximity door locks throughout. The property has 10 bedrooms on and covers 3 floors.Centrally located and only minutes from Lord Street, the lakeside promenades and Southport Theatre and Conference Centre. As well as a numerous of restaurants, cafes, shops and bars. Sue & and John pride themselves on their customer service and their breakfast that has achieved the Visit Britain Breakfast Award every year since 2010 when it was introduced. Please do give them a ring and see what they can offer you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), LateRooms, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Warwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Warwick Southport
Southport Warwick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing