We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One man went to the mow, went to the mower museum...”

British Lawnmower Museum
Ranked #18 of 35 things to do in Southport
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The nation's foremost garden machinery collection, multi-award winning unique museum of over 250 restored machines. See lawnmowers of the rich & famous including Prince Charles and Princess Diana. See the fastest, the most expensive, to the 1st robots, extensive archive, audio & guided tours, lawnmower restorations. A tribute to the garden machine industry over the last 200 years. Don't let the grass grow under your feet - its mower interesting at the British Lawnmower Museum.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
96 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“One man went to the mow, went to the mower museum...”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This museum was a grass act, certainly a cut above the rest and turf-rific! What I loved most was how quintessentially British it felt, from the crackly, slightly amateurish audio commentary (no fancy handsets here!) to the frankly bizarre 'celebrity' items (Lee Mack's dibber, Joe Pasquale's strimmer and Nicholas Parson's secateurs anyone?!). There were also sections on lawnmower racing (who knew that Stirling Moss won the British Grand Prix for lawn mowers in '75 and '76!) and kiddies toy mowers.... The place was a tad ramshackle and chaotic but that really was part of its charm.

I'd been planning a visit to this museum for a while as mad museums are my thing and I came away after 2 hours with a smile on my face. It was great to meet the owner/curator, BrIan Radam, as he's a bit of a character and he took time to show me a replica of Edwin Beard Budding's first lawnmower and outline his plans for the museum expansion downstairs.

Practicalities wise, the museum is a straight 15 min walk from the beach, down Victoria way which leads to Duke Street and the museum is on a corner on your left hand side. Otherwise you can park anywhere around it on a side street, didn't seem to be any restrictions. Not sure about the entrance fee as I got in for free when I mentioned I had given the museum a plug on BBC television, but whatever it is -it's worth it believe me!

Mow see this place! Er... I mean go see this place.You won't feel for-lawn!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Sahloff79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    42
    10
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
England
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Magic Mowments”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Who would think of opening a museum devoted entirely to lawnmowers? Well, if your collection includes examples once belonging to the rich and famous such as Princess Diana and Hilda Ogden (Jean Alexander) then maybe this is not so eccentric.

A rather crackly audio commentary starts up as you climb the stairs to the museum housed in several rooms above a shop packed full of exhibits. Here you will find mowers from the 19th century - the inventor was Edwin Beard Budding in 1830 - right through to the latest robotic and solar-powered machines. There is even a talking lawnmower too. Don't miss the glass cabinets filled with lawnmower paraphernalia and curios which include Nicholas Parsons' secateurs. And before leaving do sign the Visitors' Book, itself something of a museum piece with entries dating back to 1991.

It's getting hard to come up with any original mowing puns which are a cut above the rest (sorry!) but visiting this shrine to grass cutting in Southport will surely provide inspiration.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Harrovian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Letchworth Garden City
Level 6 Contributor
334 reviews
168 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Under refurbishment at present”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

If the plans of the owner come to fruition then this should be a fun place to visit although it looks as they will be short of space to display the 100's of mowers.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Clive480077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
92 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Cut above the rest”
Reviewed 24 February 2014

What a amazing little museum, such good value, did not know there was so much to find out about lawnmowers, loads crammed in to this tiny museum, worth every penny, lovely place and staff, a classic museum, nowhere compares with it.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Bazonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Surprising, and surprisingly interesting”
Reviewed 20 February 2014

To be honest, the thought of a lawnmower museum hadn't crossed my mind before it showed up on the satnav PoI, but this was an interesting half hour. They're about to refurbish, which will benefit the current crowded, rather scruffy layout, but there's some real gems here. And the enthusiastic staff are a joy.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Greycheck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed British Lawnmower Museum also viewed

 
Southport, Merseyside
Southport, Merseyside
 

Been to British Lawnmower Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing