We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Lovely 🙂” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bold Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Bold Hotel
Ranked #3 of 27 Hotels in Southport
2 reviews
“Lovely 🙂”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Me and my boyfriend stayed here for Valentine's night. We ate in the restaurant for a set Valentine's meal which was really good.. the room was lovely,clean and cosy. Food in the restaurant was amazing, the staff were really friendly. We will definitely be coming again

Stayed February 2017, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bec x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terence S, Group Managing Director at The Bold Hotel, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Thank you so much for such a wonderful review following your recent Valentines break here at The Bold Hotel. I am delighted you had such a wonderful stay and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon. I would encourage you to try and return in the summer as Southport comes alive when the sun is out. You can sit and relax on the terrace here at The Bold.

Jenny told me that your room was a little warm which was very disappointing. I have asked my maintenance engineer to look at our heating schedule, as thankfully we are seeing the first signs of spring and it is getting a little warmer.

Please contact Jenny directly when you wish to return and I'm sure we will upgrade you to one of our beautiful executive bedrooms.

Once again many thanks for your feedback and I hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards

Terence P Southward
Group Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    259
    78
    37
    21
    14
See reviews for
101
171
5
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

We met up with friends and decided to have lunch there. the bar was very comfortable with plenty of room to eat or just have a drink. It had a very pleasant atmosphere and the decor was lovely, it was very clean and the staff were very pleasant.
My friend and I had a small fish and chips , It was served nicely the fish was delicious as were the peas and tartare sauce-I wasnt keen on the chips. My husband had the Lasagne which he enjoyed and his friend had a burger meal and he said it was good too. so we all enjoyed our meals.
I do call in for a cappuccino or drinking chocolate while shopping as its always hot and usually a very nice drink. nicely served and you dont have to wait ages for it.
I like it here and will be back for lunch.
The toilets were in imaculate condition too.

  • Stayed February 2017, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank christine h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terence S, Group Managing Director at The Bold Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Many thanks for taking the time to post your review following your recent lunch experience here at The Bold Hotel. The one thing we try and offer here is lots and lots of choice; however it is also vitally important that what we actually served is of the highest quality. I was delighted that you all enjoyed your lunch, which I hope will encourage you to return again in the very near future.

Once again thank you for your feedback and I hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards

Terence P Southward
Group Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Widnes
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here for a weekend to go to a soul night. Firstley we had stayed here about 7 times before with the old room setup. We arrived and went our room to find it was a not what we had stayed in before. Small, it definately was although the firnishing and fittings had been upgraded it was claustrophic with a view of the roof and vent from the kitchen.the noise from the vent kept us awake all night. I complained in the morning and the receptionist didnt acknowledge the problem. Wont be going back.

Stayed October 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LolnAnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terence S, Group Managing Director at The Bold Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for taking the time to post your review, although it often puzzles me that people would wait 4 months to post a negative review! Without a name and date it is very difficult for me to investigate your comments and offer an explanation or if necessary any kind of compensation.

I apologise if your complaint wasn't dealt with in the appropriate manner when you checked out, and given more details I could look into this matter in much more detail. Please fell free to directly contact me on Terence@boldhotel.com and I would be more than happy to investigate further.

I'm sorry but there is very little else I can say as I feel the standard of the bedrooms here are up there with the best hotels in Southport. Yes, some of the rooms here are small; however these are sold at a reduced rate.

Kind regards

Terence P Southward
Group Managing Director


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

We are regular visitors to this hotel and can't fault it. All the staff are a credit to the hotel. They are well presented and go out of their way to offer a 6* service! It is easily the best hotel in the North West. The food is outstanding and the overall ambience is delightful. I would recommend this hotel time and time again!

  • Stayed January 2017, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terence S, Group Managing Director at The Bold Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you so much for such a wonderful review! I have said on may occasions that the secret to any successful business is returning customers, and it is always very pleasing to read such reviews from our regular visitors.

We are very conscious that we do not have the magnet of a national brand on the front of our hotel, which means we have to work even harder to ensure this business is a success. The way in which we have approached this is by training the team here to offer an exceptional service, and the feedback we receive highlights that we are getting this right more times than not.

Once again many thanks for your feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards

Terence P Southward
Group Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Called here for Sunday lunch, plenty choice on the menu and staff very nice. A bit pricey £16 for sirloin steak but hey the surroundings service and food were great. Very clean. Only a small car park but plenty of street parking.

  • Stayed February 2017, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank I_Spencer_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terence S, Group Managing Director at The Bold Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for your feedback following your recent visit to The Bold for Sunday lunch. I was very pleased that you enjoyed your overall experience and I sincerely hope this visit will encourage you to return again in the future.

Kind regards

Terence P Southward
Group Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed at the bold hotel at the end of January for a couple of nights to celebrate me and my partners anniversary. Opted to stay in the deluxe room and was well impressed. Room was spacious and decorated tastefully, very modern and classy feel. Bed was one of the comfiest I have ever stopped in, lovely and soft duvet with plump pillows.
Room had a flat screen tv with all the sky channels. Two well sized mirrors and a hairdryer provided for when you're getting ready which is was convenient.
The bar was absolutely amazing and drinks were reasonably priced. Didn't eat in the restaurant but food looked appealing and presented well so might dine in next time we visit.
Just a couple of snags about our stay, but only minor. Shower in room wasn't powerful or hot enough. Don't know whether this was because of the water pressure... just seemed temperamental. Room was uncomfortably warm at certain points despite using the plug in air con.
Lift access would also be good in the hotel for people who have lots of luggage as carrying up three flights of stairs can be difficult.
Overall really enjoyed our stay and will be back again in the future :) can't recommend enough!
Thanks

Stayed February 2017
Helpful?
Thank lkd1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terence S, Group Managing Director at The Bold Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your recent anniversary stay here at The Bold Hotel. When refurbishing the hotel last year, we specifically concentrated on purchasing the highest quality linen and bedding that we could find, because after all the most important aspect of any guest stay is a good nights sleep!

We are aware of the problems we are encountering with the water pressure at certain times and I can assure you we are trying our utmost to resolve these issues. I apologise if you felt the room was too warm; we have consciously changed the timers on the boiler system as it has been incredibly cold lately.

Once again many thanks for your valuable feedback and I hope you decide to return again in the summer, as Southport is such a wonderful place to be when the sun is out.

Kind regards

Terence P Southward
Group Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked a last minute one night break in January 2017 and decided to try The Bold.

Helpful staff, smart rooms, attractive bar area.

Room wasn't the biggest we have stayed in but absolutely fine to use as a base. Comfy bed, a great nights sleep.

Had some food in the bar in the evening which was fine.

We weren't able to charge drinks/food ordered at the bar to the room which was unusual.

Would definitely go again and would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrewcarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terence S, Group Managing Director at The Bold Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review following your recent stay with us here at The Bold Hotel. I am delighted you had such a wonderful stay and I look forward to welcoming you back again later in the year.

Kind regards

Terence P Southward
Group Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southport hotels
0.3 mi away
Ramada Plaza Southport
Ramada Plaza Southport
#1 of 27 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,600 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vincent
Vincent
#4 of 27 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,103 reviews
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Southport Central Hotel
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Southport Hotel
Travelodge Southport Hotel
#7 of 27 in Southport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
0.5 mi away
Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bold Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bold Hotel

Property: The Bold Hotel
Address: Lord Street, Southport PR9 0BE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 27 Hotels in Southport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bold Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bold Hotel is a fabulous boutique venue that's just received a multi-million pound make over worthy of an episode of Grand Designs - making it THE place to go in Southport. Whether you're visiting for business or pleasure, for breakfast, lunch, dinner or an overnight stay; you'll be well-catered for. Situated on a tree-lined boulevard along Southport's famous Lord Street, the beautiful, modern interior showcases an elegant restaurant, a relaxed bar area, a stunning cocktail lounge and a truly impressive function suite (that holds up to 150 people!). The Bold Hotel also boasts 23 luxuriously appointed en-suite bedrooms (doubles, twins, family rooms and suites) all with tea and coffee making facilities, flat screen TV's, FREE WiFi, hair dryers and a mini bar. Some even have beautiful Victorian bay windows with views over-looking Lord Street. Dining in splendour couldn't be easier. The varied and mouth-watering menu can be enjoyed from 12:00 - 21:00 Sunday - Thursday and 12:00 - 22:00 Friday & Saturday. As if dining in splendour and staying in style isn't enough, they’re also able to kick-start the day for residents and non-residents alike by offering a delicious breakfast menu from 09:00am (07:30am for residents). With an extensive wine list and a tempting cocktail list you’d be forgiven for making The Bold Hotel a go-to destination for any occasion… or just for a drink after work! The main shopping area is literally on the doorstep, Southport Rail Station is 5 minutes’ walk away and there's always plenty going-on in, and around the Southport area. Parking is available to residents on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Bold Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing