We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Premier position”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Southport Central Hotel
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Southport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 May 2013

This is our third Premier Inn stay this year, the group certainly knows the business now. We stayed 5 nights. This hotel must be in the best position for any holiday maker or visitor to Southport. Out of the door and onto the pier (half way) or 5 minutes walk onto Lord Street and the shops. The railway station is 10 mins. walk for stations to Liverpool or Manchester and a £4.80 off peak pass covers Mersey trains and buses and the Mersey Ferry if you time it right!
Barbara on reception was very cheery and helpful. The room we had was on the ground floor, I won't go into the rooms facilities as they are all pretty much the same everywhere and much research and feedback has got the formula about as good as it gets for this type of hotel. Housekeeping was to the usual high standard and It was quiet inspite of the fact that the Ocean Plaza, where the hotel is situated, is home to several restaurants,buffet style Chinese and Pizza place as well as a Vue cinema. Parking is barrier controlled and free to hotel guests and Plaza patrons which seems to work well, just have your ticket validated by reception. The hotel backs onto the Marine Park which is currently undergoing a big refubishment of the Venetian bridge, shelters are being totally restored as well as flowerbeds, lighting and paths. This has been a long time coming and will add to the towns appeal as a tourist resort as well as local pride. We enjoyed our meal at Weatherspoons on Lord Street, also good for breakfast and only 5 mins. from hotel. There are so many places to eat you are spoiled for choice. We only used the adjacent Brewers Fayre once as the breakfast is overpriced if you don't have kids to eat free. Morrisons is 5 minutes across the field at the back of the hotel along with the amusement park and miniature railway. Don't miss the promenade with its array of exercise machines...FREE! There is so much to do and see here a week may not be long enough.

Room Tip: Rear rooms are probably the quietest and top floor if you want a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ismayd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,410)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,141 - 1,147 of 1,410 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2013

Hotel is central to town and also next to the beach. Plenty car parking which is free if you are staying in hotel. Cinema across the car park and lots of reasonably priced eateries. There is Brewers Fayre attached to hotel but didn't use this as prices were higher than others and past experience of food at Premier Inn attached restaurants not good. (see my review titled Chalk and Cheese - premier Inn Manchester)
Staff very friendly and room clean as usual, pretty quiet except when we had high wind one night. Only criticism is remote for TV well needing changed, thought it was batteries, and bath is high therefore need a handle on wall to assist in accessing for shower, especially for disabled persons.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Millienumber1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2013

Good location, good breakfast and friendly staff apart from one grumpy barmaid (Abigail) who could do with a bit of intensive customer care training. The friendliness and helpfulness of all other staff was great.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yates A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

This is a great place to stay for a family, we stay there for mini breaks. Its very close to the beach and has plenty of attractions close to hand. So you can park up your car, and walk to the fun, or have a little ride on the train. There are places to eat near by at reasonable prices and a cinema on the door step if you fancy catching the kids movie in the morning which can often be found at greatly reduced prices. But they do tend to start about 10a.m.I think these are at the weekend and school holidays.
I t s well worth paying for the breakfast here, and getting 2 children free per adult makes it very reasonable too, there is a lot of choice and it s of a good standard. On our last visit we had dinner in the restaurant attached too, it was rather poor quality though and bland. So I would recommend breakfast there but dinner elsewhere.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharn h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Stayed here over the grand national weekend. The welcome was relaxed and friendly. The hotel rooms were as good as ever and I stay at a premier inn several times a year. the bar and restaurant were busy but you didn't have to wait around to be served. Lots of eating options close by. southport town is lovely and so clean. Definately would stay he again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colino m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

this premier inn,is spotless,well run with great staff in a perfect location,just had a great weekend here,very helpful staff, quick and efficient booking in,cannot fault this hotel,been to alot of premier inns that are all good but location gives this 100%

Room Tip: all rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Columbo64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013

Situated at the end of the famous pier, this hotel is excellent value for money. Not 5 star but everything available which might be needed for a short stay. Only a few minutes from the shopping streets, yet also on hand for the play parks, pier attractions and out of town shops. Breakfast is extra at the adjoining restaurant/pub.

Room Tip: Best rooms at the front but 1st or 2nd floors to see the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southport hotels
0.3 mi away
Ramada Plaza Southport
Ramada Plaza Southport
#1 of 23 in Southport
3,232 reviews
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Southport Hotel
Travelodge Southport Hotel
#6 of 23 in Southport
747 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Bold Hotel
The Bold Hotel
#3 of 23 in Southport
621 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Vincent Hotel
The Vincent Hotel
#4 of 23 in Southport
1,219 reviews
0.9 mi away
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
#12 of 23 in Southport
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Southport Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Southport Central Hotel

Address: Marine Drive | Marine Drive, Southport PR8 1RY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Southport
#3 Romantic Hotel in Southport
#3 Business Hotel in Southport
Price Range: £43 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Southport Central Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wake up to the sounds of the sea, close to Marine Lake and the renowned Royal Birkdale Golf Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Southport Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Southport Central Hotel Southport
Travel Lodge Southport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing