We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Penkelie Hotel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Penkelie Hotel
Ranked #24 of 40 Southport B&B and Inns
East Midlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2011

We stayed one night in this hotel. The room was lovely. There was an ensuite, double bed and a couple of chairs. We were allowed up to the room early and able to leave our car there for the day. The reception was friendly and welcoming and the full English breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patsyEastMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    10
    2
    0
    4
See reviews for
2
14
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
liverpool
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2008

My boyfriend and i stayed here for my birthday. The room was not clean and the shower did not work unless it was a cold shower you was wanting. On the day of checkout we had a knock on the door at ten in the morning asking us if we could leave the room and hand in the keys. It was stated on the booking form that checkout was not until ten thirty. Around ten fifteen there was another knock asking if we were ready to leave yet. My boyfriend and i were rushed out of the hotel by a very rude lady who could not wait to get rid of us. Ow and we asked for a double room and what we got was two single beds pushed together with a double sheet and duvet on it.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank liverpooljojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2008

Was the worst hotel I have stayed and on day of leaving had the staff banging at door to ask you to leave 1/2 a hour before we where dew and the hotel was dirty and shower did not work

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
3 Thank shamrock40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2007

four of us females booked for a friday and saturday and they said the hotel was full but they had self catering flats and would give us two of them and if we walked round to the hotel in the morning we could have breakfast in the small hotel.

the rooms were dreadful but as we had travelled from scotland we had no choice except to stay. the rooms were dangerously cramped. the beds were old and the mattresses sagged with springs burst. the sheets were so thin and had holes in them and the duvet and pillows were very thin (one pillow each) and faded. the en-suite was a built in tiny box in an already small space and the towel rail and loo holder were both broken and screws sticking out the wall. the sink was cracked and suspiciously off white and the shower was all mouldy. while our friends had a larger room the central heating was off (in march) and the cistern lid had to be left off so we could pour basins of water into it to flush it. there was a nice wee local lady who did the breakfasts and she was lovely and the food was generous as was her service. however nothing would ever make me go there again and it cost us 80poundd a night for each room. when we complained to the'manager' she started to insult us for being scottish and after we got home and wrote a letter to the owners we got no better a response. it was a shame because the hotel itself looked really nice and some of our friends there were satisfied with the roms they got in the hotel building. so avoid the self catering flats unless they have dine them up since we were there.

Stayed March 2005
Helpful?
3 Thank angelfaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southport hotels
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Southport Central Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Bold Hotel
The Bold Hotel
#3 of 28 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Southport Hotel
Travelodge Southport Hotel
#5 of 28 in Southport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Heidi Bed & Breakfast
The Heidi Bed & Breakfast
#15 of 40 in Southport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.5 mi away
Edendale House
Edendale House
#16 of 40 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penkelie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penkelie Hotel

Property: Penkelie Hotel
Address: 34 Bold Street, Southport PR9 0ED, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Southport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Penkelie Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Penkelie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing