We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay!!”
Review of Penkelie Hotel

Penkelie Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Penkelie Hotel
Ranked #25 of 41 Southport B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 May 2012

My friend and I stayed at the Penkelie in November 2011, while attending a close friends wedding!
Fantastic! All you could want from a B&B, close to the town centre; clean and tidy, very friendly staff.
Breakfast was great, the 2 ladies each morning remembered exactly how each of us liked our breakfasts! Spot on!
The room was a small double, and was serviced every day. The only problem we had was with the toilet flush, but we fixed that ourselves easily enough!
I was helped with luggage and given suggestions of things to do the days after the wedding. And when we needed an iron, the lovely lady there that morning, went and got ther iron from her home!
I only wish I'd of been able to get their names! Thank you for a fabulous stay! I'd definitely stay here again, should I be staying in Southport in the future!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kale3388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (39)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 39 of 39 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2011

We stayed one night in this hotel. The room was lovely. There was an ensuite, double bed and a couple of chairs. We were allowed up to the room early and able to leave our car there for the day. The reception was friendly and welcoming and the full English breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank patsyEastMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2008

My boyfriend and i stayed here for my birthday. The room was not clean and the shower did not work unless it was a cold shower you was wanting. On the day of checkout we had a knock on the door at ten in the morning asking us if we could leave the room and hand in the keys. It was stated on the booking form that checkout was not until ten thirty. Around ten fifteen there was another knock asking if we were ready to leave yet. My boyfriend and i were rushed out of the hotel by a very rude lady who could not wait to get rid of us. Ow and we asked for a double room and what we got was two single beds pushed together with a double sheet and duvet on it.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank liverpooljojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2008

Was the worst hotel I have stayed and on day of leaving had the staff banging at door to ask you to leave 1/2 a hour before we where dew and the hotel was dirty and shower did not work

Stayed: July 2008
3  Thank shamrock40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2007

four of us females booked for a friday and saturday and they said the hotel was full but they had self catering flats and would give us two of them and if we walked round to the hotel in the morning we could have breakfast in the small hotel.

the rooms were dreadful but as we had travelled from scotland we had no choice except to stay. the rooms were dangerously cramped. the beds were old and the mattresses sagged with springs burst. the sheets were so thin and had holes in them and the duvet and pillows were very thin (one pillow each) and faded. the en-suite was a built in tiny box in an already small space and the towel rail and loo holder were both broken and screws sticking out the wall. the sink was cracked and suspiciously off white and the shower was all mouldy. while our friends had a larger room the central heating was off (in march) and the cistern lid had to be left off so we could pour basins of water into it to flush it. there was a nice wee local lady who did the breakfasts and she was lovely and the food was generous as was her service. however nothing would ever make me go there again and it cost us 80poundd a night for each room. when we complained to the'manager' she started to insult us for being scottish and after we got home and wrote a letter to the owners we got no better a response. it was a shame because the hotel itself looked really nice and some of our friends there were satisfied with the roms they got in the hotel building. so avoid the self catering flats unless they have dine them up since we were there.

Stayed: March 2005
3  Thank angelfaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southport hotels
0.1 mi away
Ramada Plaza Southport
Ramada Plaza Southport
#1 of 23 in Southport
3,131 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
#12 of 23 in Southport
424 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vincent
Vincent
#4 of 23 in Southport
1,201 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Bold Hotel
The Bold Hotel
#3 of 23 in Southport
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penkelie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penkelie Hotel

Address: 34 Bold Street, Southport PR9 0ED, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Southport
Price Range: £70 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Penkelie Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Penkelie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing