We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst hotel ever...” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Penkelie Hotel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Penkelie Hotel
Ranked #24 of 40 Southport B&B and Inns
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Worst hotel ever...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

This "hotel" was a complete health hazard. There were wires hanging from walls, extension leads being used, carpets were filthy, stairways were far too narrow, ancient light switches were covered with tape to stop them being used, shower unit was attached to a piece of wood above the shower cabinet, large piece of glass balancing dangerously above a door. Bed linen was so old it was totally faded. Rooms had a very musty smell. Damp patches evident on a number of walls.

Room Tip: It is not possible to choose a good room in this place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lesley1111563
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    10
    2
    0
    4
See reviews for
2
14
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2012

We stayed here one night after attending a function at the Ramada Plaza, which was just over the road so very handy spot as we could walk to it and left our car on the small car park. Breakfast was very good and the owner and the one staff we met very pleasant. Room was clean and cosy, we both slept well. Only one complaint the steep step in the bathroom is quite dangerous, I missed my footing and hurt my ankle, it could do with a notice about it, or a white strip on the edge to warn you to be careful. Would stay here again though, very handy for everything and were able to leave our car there all day on the Sunday.

Room Tip: No.2 very nice, just watch the step in the bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Valueformoney124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tenerife
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

I had one night at Penkelie Hotel to visit the NAFAS Flower show in Southport. The breakfast was in the friendly informal dining room. Everyone was there to see the flowers and had come from all over the country and I'd flown in from Tenerife the night before to Manchester.

The breakfast was superb and the staff so friendly.

I had of course a case with me which I couldn't stow away at the Floral Hall, as there was no baggage room, but the staff at the hotel kept it for me, after I'd checked out on my final day. The decor is comfortable and not brand spanking new, which I like and homely. The only downside for me was I was on the top floor and I was recovering from an operation a couple of months previously, so was very glad my case was whisked out of my hands and up the stairs. The sun shone for me on the Thursday, which it was very reluctant to do the rest of my visit. I thoroughly recommend this hotel if you have to go to an event at the Floral Hall. It is so central for Lord Street. You have your own front door key for access all the time. The train runs direct from Manchester Airport to Southport so a very easy journey there too.

Room Tip: Ask which floor you will be sleeping on and if stairs are a problem for you try to get one on the fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cristina_H44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
80 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012 via mobile

I stayed at the Penkelie in May, booked at the last minute. I found the hotel to be basic, but good value for money. The staff were extremely friendly and welcoming, it was in a great location, close to all amenities, and clean and tidy. The bed was comfortable, and I slept well, except for the corridor door banging now and again, but nothing I couldn't put up with. All in all, for a budget hotel, I would recommend the Penkelie.

Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2012

My friend and I stayed at the Penkelie in November 2011, while attending a close friends wedding!
Fantastic! All you could want from a B&B, close to the town centre; clean and tidy, very friendly staff.
Breakfast was great, the 2 ladies each morning remembered exactly how each of us liked our breakfasts! Spot on!
The room was a small double, and was serviced every day. The only problem we had was with the toilet flush, but we fixed that ourselves easily enough!
I was helped with luggage and given suggestions of things to do the days after the wedding. And when we needed an iron, the lovely lady there that morning, went and got ther iron from her home!
I only wish I'd of been able to get their names! Thank you for a fabulous stay! I'd definitely stay here again, should I be staying in Southport in the future!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kale3388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Midlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2011

We stayed one night in this hotel. The room was lovely. There was an ensuite, double bed and a couple of chairs. We were allowed up to the room early and able to leave our car there for the day. The reception was friendly and welcoming and the full English breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patsyEastMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2008

My boyfriend and i stayed here for my birthday. The room was not clean and the shower did not work unless it was a cold shower you was wanting. On the day of checkout we had a knock on the door at ten in the morning asking us if we could leave the room and hand in the keys. It was stated on the booking form that checkout was not until ten thirty. Around ten fifteen there was another knock asking if we were ready to leave yet. My boyfriend and i were rushed out of the hotel by a very rude lady who could not wait to get rid of us. Ow and we asked for a double room and what we got was two single beds pushed together with a double sheet and duvet on it.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank liverpooljojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southport hotels
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Southport Central Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Bold Hotel
The Bold Hotel
#3 of 28 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Southport Hotel
Travelodge Southport Hotel
#5 of 28 in Southport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Heidi Bed & Breakfast
The Heidi Bed & Breakfast
#15 of 40 in Southport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.5 mi away
Edendale House
Edendale House
#18 of 40 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penkelie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penkelie Hotel

Property: Penkelie Hotel
Address: 34 Bold Street, Southport PR9 0ED, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Southport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Penkelie Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Penkelie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing