We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“shame about the breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Southport
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
422 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
“shame about the breakfast”
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights on a KGB deal. We thought our room comfortable and well equipped and the hotel was near all the facilities of Southport.The owner was very friendly and we were looking forward to our stay- until we arrived for breakfast.The cooked breakfast consisted of cheap undercooked bacon heaped in a container ,some sausages ,baked beans and tomatoes.On our first morning no eggs were offered. On the second morning we were offered eggs and when the fried eggs arrived they came in a heap on a plate. Needless to say we did not enjoy our breakfast. I have emailed the owner with my comments but 2 weeks later she has not replied so I will put my comments on here.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pambur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BENGOUGOU, Owner at Balmoral Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 24 August 2013
Thank you to have taken the time to write a review. We are very pleased that you liked your room but are disappointed that you did not enjoyed our buffet breakfast. You said you wrote to me but I did not receive your email. As you can see I respond to everybody comments then it would have been a pleasure to answer you if I had received your private email bit I did not . As you can see on the review the majority of our customers like our buffet and there is a blackboard saying that if you would like some porridge, eggs or even been served on a plate instead of the buffet you just need to ask the ladies on duty then sometimes the waitress do not asked you as it is written and you are more than welcome to ask for anything ! this is our pleasure to please you.I think our breakfast is more than bacon, beans and tomatoes but cereals, fruits, cheese, cakes, cold meat, jam, honey, juice etc... and I really think anybody can find something to eat . Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    139
    68
    35
    28
See reviews for
61
211
34
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

The prices are reasonable and the beds were comfortable with firm supportive mattresses but in all other respects the stay was not enjoyable and we could not wait to get away.
The list of defects is an extensive one. There was a fusty smell in the corridor that was worse still in the room. There was a piece of unmatching threadbare carpet that was presumably patched in for a previously damaged piece. A bolt was hanging off where the screws had come out. Wallpaper was coming away. All the soft furnishings were mismatched and the dark brown "shag pile" throw on the beds was uncomfortably smelly. The furnishings were worn and tired. The bathroom was very unpleasant with mould and splashes of paint on the door and lumps of mastic roughly applied in numerous places to try and cover up defects. This is not by any means an exhaustive summary. The breakfast was of a poor standard. We did not participate in most of what was on offer.
The sad aspect is that the proprietors clearly did not realise the shortcomings. There is a desperate need to refurbish, renovate and redecorate. It is possible that there is a shortage of money to do this but if the owners do this progressively and then charge a little more for the improved rooms then this might be the way to go about it. In the meantime regret that we cannot recommend this establishment.

Room Tip: There are three rooms in a single storey flat roofed extension at the rear. These have patio style d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulBerni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BENGOUGOU, Owner at Balmoral Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Thank you to have taken the time to write a review. We are very sorry that you did not enjoyed your time with us but with a list of problems as you had if you came at the reception we would have help you to find a hotel more suitable for your need as you obviously made a mistake by choosing our hotel (the price was maybe attractive). We have been 30 years in the job and I can assure you that we know and recognise what we have to improve but fortunately as you can read on most of our reviews it seems that our customers as aware of our product and are quit happy about our service. I hope that your "bad "experience with us won't stop you to visit Southport and find in our beautiful town a hotel of higher standard with much higher price but our choice is to be cheap, comfortable, friendly and clean despite the fact that you seemed to suggest the opposite in your review. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

5 of us stayed here in two rooms.we stayed here because we were visiting the flower show- only about a ten minute walk to the fantastic Lord Street (shoppers paradise!). Firstly, the owners are very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble - so rare these days to have good service. Our room (myself & sister) - had two double beds and double aspect- so very airy and light- the room was generally clean, particularly the bed linen. I think the room had been recently done out- - it was nice, but a bit more attention to detail and it could be really nice, only two channels working on TV- not that important to us though. Had evening meal on the first night- good value for money at £11.99 for three course-plus coffee- nicely cooked, would have liked to see more french influence on the menu as the owners were French- but maybe they are just going for the English taste. Breakfast was generally good- good choice of fruit and cakes & ham cheese,yoghurt etc , only two cereal choice- but think porridge was available if asked for. None of us was that keen on the sausage and bacon used- need to change supplier?- egg choice was fine- both the dining room and breakfast room were very nice rooms and the bar/lounge was comfortable. We enjoyed our stay and the two lovely French ladies couldn't have made us any more welcome. Finally, taxi's are cheap and drivers generally cheerful !

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShropshireGeorgie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BENGOUGOU, Owner at Balmoral Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Thank you very much to have taken the time to write a good review. It has been a pleasure to have you here and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and at the flower show . We are looking forward to seeing you again. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pwllheli
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We booked 2 cheap nights £59, the staff were very welcoming and we were immediately moved from a 'superior' room (rock hard double bed) as large flat screen only had 3 channels working to a small double room that had small telly on wall and very dated furniture and the worst 60's lime green bathroom! cramped but clean bedding so we made the most of it, however, the bedroom next door was so close we could hear them coughing etc. and they banged so loudly we were woken at 2.30 am with the constant noise. The 'breakfast' was the worst I have ever had anywhere if you liked cooked, I was so embarrased for the American tourists who came down after us and said they'de heard that English bacon was superb, it was so bad, thick chunks of boiled bacon bits with jelly,never seen anything like it anywhere...the rubbish sausages were cold, beans and baby tomatoes, that ws it with an egg cooked in dirty fat so I didn't eat any of it....suffice to say I booked another hotel for the 2nd night, The Prince of Wales executive suite for £55, superb. Shame because hotel looks nice from outside and garden rooms looked ok too BUT the French proprietors need to eat the breakfast themselves and stay in another hotel to understand that a full English breakfast is so important. Cheap means cheap...Can't imagine how others have reviewed this as good, depends what your standard are I suppose. We had a great time in Southport, lovely place.

Room Tip: maybe garden twin rooms if you want to chance this hotel, but you have been warned...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shar103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BENGOUGOU, Owner at Balmoral Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Thank you to have taken your time to write a review. I am really sorry that you did not enjoyed your time with us. I am really sorry that I needed to move you to a smaller room as the tv needed to be reprogrammed. As for the breakfast I can assure you that our products come from reputable suppliers and that most of our customers like our buffet breakfast. I am pleased that you enjoyed Southport and that you spend a nice week-end. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke on Trent
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Stayed for one night in a garden room which was ideal for our two dogs as we could just open the patio door and let them out, we also took advantage of the good weather and spent the afternoon enjoying a glass of wine in the lovely garden. As mentioned previously the rooms are a little tired but clean and comfy beds, the staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Littlelady35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BENGOUGOU, Owner at Balmoral Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Thank you so much to have taken the time to write a review. We are very pleased that you liked the hotel and found us friendly. We hope to see you again soon . Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

My partner and I stayed for one night as a late deal last week. We reserved a garden room with bookings.com and paid £45 for a twin room with breakfast included. Our room (14) was clean and fairly comfortable. It had patio doors opening out onto the garden which was nice. The decor/bathroom was quite tired and could do with some attention. The cold tap on the bath was not working, although I think it was demand related? (maybe) because it was working fine the next morning. The breakfast was ok, Hot & cold self serve buffet and eggs cooked to order. Location of the hotel was good, Ten minute walk into town/main shopping area/restaurants/promenade and close to Hesketh park which is nice. There are plenty of places to eat nearby also. The Owners of the hotel seemed friendly and eager to please.

Room Tip: We had a Garden room, (room 14). Ideal for my partner who smokes and nice to be able to sit outside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RaeFletcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BENGOUGOU, Owner at Balmoral Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 20 July 2013
Thank you very much for your review, we are very pleased that you enjoyed your time with us . Of course we are taking into consideration your comments. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We stayed at this hotel in June for 3 nights and needed to have ground floor facilities. We were allocated a garden room which was a good size and very pleasant with a patio area. My husband requires oxygen and the owners were very helpful in taking delivery of cylinders and putting them in our room. We had to go up 3 or 4 stairs to get to the dining room which for us was do-able. The breakfast was generous and a wide choice. We ate our evening meal twice in the restaurant. It is well worth trying and charming service. We were very pleased with our stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosemary l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BENGOUGOU, Owner at Balmoral Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 20 July 2013
Thank you so much to have taken the time to write a review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and it has been a pleasure to have you here . We hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southport hotels
0.8 mi away
Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport
0.6 mi away
Ramada Plaza Southport
Ramada Plaza Southport
#1 of 23 in Southport
2,878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Southport Hotel
Travelodge Southport Hotel
#7 of 23 in Southport
668 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Bold Hotel
The Bold Hotel
#3 of 23 in Southport
535 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Talbot Hotel
The Talbot Hotel
#5 of 23 in Southport
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balmoral Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balmoral Lodge Hotel

Property: Balmoral Lodge Hotel
Address: 41 Queens Road, Southport PR9 9EX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Southport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Balmoral Lodge Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Balmoral Lodge Hotel is a very friendly hotel where you can relax in your room, the lounge, the restaurant or even the garden. We have 15 en suite-bedrooms with flat tv, wifi, tea and coffee facilities.Some bedrooms are on the ground-floor with access to the garden.We are 10 minutes walk from the city-centre and the promenade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Balmoral Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmoral Hotel Southport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing