We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel to stay at”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Southport
Reviewed 17 March 2014

The hotel was great made very welcome by staff .
Room was very clean and warm, comfed bed .
Good food in restaurant for £17.95 for courses meal .
Excellent choice in breakfast .
Good value for money .

Room Tip: Room are clean and quiete
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NINI M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BENGOUGOU, Owner at Balmoral Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Thank you very much for your very pleasant review. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (424)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

257 - 263 of 424 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2014

We stayed here for one night as we'd been invited to a friends 50th party,very easy and friendly check in,nice big room and very comfy large bed,the decor could do with a little updating and the taps and mirror were dirty in the bathroom but they were nothing worth complaining about
The room has a mini bar in the room too (but we didn't use it) which was a nice touch
It's only a short walk from all the shops,has free parking and very friendly staff,would definitely stay there again :)

Room Tip: We stayed in room 8 which had a lovely soft,huge bed!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BENGOUGOU, Owner at Balmoral Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Thank you very much for your nice review, we are very sorry about the mirror in the bathroom and taps and forwarded your remarks to the cleaning team. We are looking forward to seeing you again. Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

booked and stayed just the one night.. lovely quiet place to stay and a fabulous friendly host ! A lovely old character building, room was nice with a comfy bed .. I would stay there again no problem !

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BENGOUGOU, Owner at Balmoral Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Thank you very much for your excellent review. It is very much appreciated and we are looking forward to seeing you very soon. Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

The Balmoral Lodge is a bit of an enigma. Some things are great but we felt that attention to some details could make it fabulous.
The plus points are numerous - the warmth of the welcome and the genuinely friendly attention of the staff are a big bonus. You don't find this kind of attention in many places so enjoy it.

We had a room which was up some narrow steps but we are fairly fit so that wasn't an issue for us. The room was lovely and warm with a massive radiator and an electric heater on stand-by in case we were cold. The room obviously is dual-purpose with two large single beds put together to form a huge double. The bed was comfortable enough and the room was quiet. We had a good night's sleep on both nights we were there.
The en suite bathroom was a bit basic but the shower was nice and hot.
So overall not a bad room but with a bit of a spruce up it could be a lot better. There was a jumble of wires over the dressing table and mirror. One was for a minibar which wasn't plugged in. Then there was a hair dryer, TV and kettle, and even a trouser press.
The décor was a bit jaded, as were the bed covers.
One highlight of our stay was breakfast. Paying £38 for a room for two with breakfast was an absolute bargain and we really enjoyed that. There is a good choice of hot and cold food and the service was attentive and friendly.
The restaurant was not in use but we had a drink in the bar one night and had a chat with the very friendly owner. That was nice too.
The Balmoral has its own free parking and it is about 10 minutes walk to Lord Street so the situation is good.
Overall then we enjoyed our stay and thought it was good value for money. We are easy going people and don't nit pick over everything. If you are like us you will enjoy your stay at the Balmoral Lodge. If you want a cheap stay and then complain about everything then perhaps this is not the place for you.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrisdebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BENGOUGOU, Owner at Balmoral Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Thank you very much for your friendly review. Be sure that we will take on board your positive comments to improve little things. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

We were staying down the road at Pontins, Southport and were having a terrible time. We found Balmoral Lidge Hotel on LateRooms.com and it saved our mini break! We had a friendly face welcome us, a lovely family room - double bed and bunk beds with en suite. We went straight to our room and collapsed into our comfy beds! When we went down for breakfast in the morning there was a wide choice available - cereal, continental and full english. There was also fresh juice and a coffee/tea/hot chocolate machine. Just wonderful and in all honesty it saved our mini break! This hotel comes highly recommended by us :)

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank MiriamWilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BENGOUGOU, Owner at Balmoral Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Thank you very much for your very nice review, it was much appreciated. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Last minute offer so price was excellent and good value,no thing to complain about,staff very friendly,rooms that we had in the second floor big and comfy,diner and breakfast delicious.Location is ideal for shops ,free Wi fi and parking.This is our first visit and we ll certainly go again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BENGOUGOU, Owner at Balmoral Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Thank you very much for your kind review. We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon.
Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Stayed in the family room special deal £40 - they could not do enough for us.
Great room -spacious and well equipped.
Very Clean and comfy beds.
Beautiful Gardens and Patio on ground floor rooms.
Lovely Breakfast - Plenty to choose from and obliged to cook our daughter a boiled egg.
No problem- Free Parking and very close to centre. Will stay again Recommended Excellent hosts !

Room Tip: Garden room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jacob123_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BENGOUGOU, Owner at Balmoral Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Thank you so much for your very nice review.It was a pleasure to have you in the hotel. Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southport hotels
0.8 mi away
Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Southport Hotel
Travelodge Southport Hotel
#6 of 23 in Southport
735 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ramada Plaza Southport
Ramada Plaza Southport
#1 of 23 in Southport
3,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport
0.3 mi away
The Bold Hotel
The Bold Hotel
#3 of 23 in Southport
596 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Talbot Hotel
The Talbot Hotel
#7 of 23 in Southport
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balmoral Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balmoral Lodge Hotel

Address: 41 Queens Road, Southport PR9 9EX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Southport
Price Range: £31 - £54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Balmoral Lodge Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Balmoral Lodge Hotel is a very friendly hotel where you can relax in your room, the lounge, the restaurant or even the garden. We have 15 en suite-bedrooms with flat tv, wifi, tea and coffee facilities.Some bedrooms are on the ground-floor with access to the garden.We are 10 minutes walk from the city-centre and the promenade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your Balmoral Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmoral Hotel Southport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing