We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In need of tlc”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
Ranked #12 of 24 Hotels in Southport
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“In need of tlc”
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Lovely people
Could be nice b& b BUT
Needs complete refurbishment
Good location
Shame about the decor. All inside very trired and worn.
Breakfast could have been better
Not not quality ingredients used.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hoffman24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BENGOUGOU, Owner at Balmoral Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We are sorry that you stay was not to your taste and standard. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    139
    68
    35
    27
See reviews for
61
210
34
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

stayed for 2 nights in room 7 which overlooked the garden.room was nice and big and clean.
down side the mattress was horrible and we both got very little sleep on it lucky for us there was 2 double beds and the other one though not great was better.
breakfast was good and plentiful.
to sum up this hotel for the money we paid it was great value and if i stay in southport again i would stay here.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shazango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BENGOUGOU, Owner at Balmoral Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you very much for your very nice review.We are very sorry about the quality of the mattresses, those are new but are too soft for hotel' beds. Sorry for the inconvenience it caused you.Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Just returned from Southport on a 2-night Groupon break. First impressions were favourable, affable manager, Tripadvisor Certificate of Excellence 2013 in the lobby. We were in room 12, 2nd floor accessed via dark, narrow stairs. The room was adequately sized but cluttered, decor was tired and the overall finish was down market. The silicon around the bath appeared to have been applied by hand and the skirtings were grubby.
Buffet breakfast on the 1st morning was atrocious, eggs too long under halogen lights, pale greyish beige sausages, fruit juice watered down to tasteless, and bacon that looked like the pig had met an axeman. The toaster took an age but the coffee wasn't bad. The table cloths were creased and unironed and had marks from spills, probably from the Christmas party and on the fixed seating along the walls, there was old bits of food down the cushions. On the second morning, the breakfast was cooked to order and was much better although the juice was still tasteless.
I appreciate you get what you pay for but that doesn't excuse poor cleanliness. I am utterly dumbfounded by some of the other reviews.

Room Tip: Don't go in room 12.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TerryB94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BENGOUGOU, Owner at Balmoral Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you very much for your review. First of all we are not working with Groupon then I think like for the rest of your review you should have been more sure not to make any mistake! As you did say I just receive my food-hygiene rating 5/5 from inspection of kitchen etc..., rating from Tripadvisor, Booking.com 8/10 and most important AA Hotel Inspection which was also very good.Luckily most of my guests are happy with our service and after 30 years in the job I am sure enough not to leave food from Christmas on the cushion! Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linconshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Good location for all local attractions. Hotel could do with a lick of paint , but overall a enjoyable stay , good breakfast and plenty of choice . Freindly staff and attentive. The bed was comfy but advise to take your own pillows shower was very good .

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gilliansmit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BENGOUGOU, Owner at Balmoral Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We will take on board your remarks but are very happy that you enjoyed your time with us. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mortain, France
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

This was a late booking for me, Obviously I had no time to check out the hotel as I just needed a room. On arrival I was a bit early to check in but the owner was so helpful and allowed to to go in. to the room to unpack. I was booked into a single room but a double had just become available so he upgrade me. The room was clean and tidy and very big bed was great and modern flat screen TV.. Yes if I wanted to find things wrong I could have but all credit to the owner and his family they made my stay(3 nights) very pleasant. Nothing was to much trouble. Breakfast was excellent and the facilities were good. Far better than another hotel i stayed at in Southport, I I think I will be back soon. Thank you maybe next time I will get to sample the evening menu :)

Room Tip: I ticked a quiet room and got a great room maybe the view was not of the sea but the owner and his f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bathford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BENGOUGOU, Owner at Balmoral Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you very much for your excellent review, we hope to see you again very soon as discussed. We are very happy that you enjoyed your time with us.Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Stayed for two nights at the beginning of June. Large bedroom with two comfortable double beds, plenty of tea making facilities, an excellent TV (I know you don't go away to watch tele) . Good sized bathroom with plenty of very hot water. Good breakfast which set you up for the day.
The owners are very nice people and interesting to talk to. Free wi-fi which is also a bonus.
Would definitely book again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Beryl K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BENGOUGOU, Owner at Balmoral Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you very much for your excellent review. We are happy that you enjoyed your time with us.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Just stayed here for 1 night. Now do not expect posh . However, this is a great little b & b within walking distance to the shops. Very friendly clean and just needs updating. Cheap doesn't mean grubby. Premium is parking facilities
Buffet breakfast was ok.


  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chantryb53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BENGOUGOU, Owner at Balmoral Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you for your review. We take on board your remarks to do better. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southport hotels
0.8 mi away
Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Ramada Plaza Southport
Ramada Plaza Southport
#1 of 24 in Southport
2,831 reviews
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Southport Hotel
Travelodge Southport Hotel
#7 of 24 in Southport
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport
0.3 mi away
The Bold Hotel
The Bold Hotel
#3 of 24 in Southport
513 reviews
0.7 mi away
Vincent
Vincent
#4 of 24 in Southport
1,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balmoral Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balmoral Lodge Hotel

Property: Balmoral Lodge Hotel
Address: 41 Queens Road, Southport PR9 9EX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 24 Hotels in Southport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Balmoral Lodge Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Balmoral Lodge Hotel is a very friendly hotel where you can relax in your room, the lounge, the restaurant or even the garden. We have 15 en suite-bedrooms with flat tv, wifi, tea and coffee facilities.Some bedrooms are on the ground-floor with access to the garden.We are 10 minutes walk from the city-centre and the promenade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Balmoral Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmoral Hotel Southport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing