We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All you could want from a B @ B (plus luxury hotel-standard breakfast)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bay Tree House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #12 of 39 Southport B&B and Inns
Crewkerne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“All you could want from a B @ B (plus luxury hotel-standard breakfast)”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

The location is good, the owners are friendly, considerate and informative, the rooms were fine and the generous 'extras', such as the wide choice of complimentary teas/coffees/hot chocolate (plus Kit Kats!) added that additional feel of being cossetted. The breakfasts are of exceptional quality, with some imaginative additions such as kedgeree (which might need to be ordered by the evening before), as well as the standard 'full English' and a good choice of cereal and fruit... (I'm going to have to stop now - I'm getting hungry thinking about it!).
There are steep steps up to the front door, absolutely not a problem for us, but it might be as well to check with the owners, if this could be problem for anyone - we didn't ask, as we didn't need to.
Overall, BRILLIANT.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    312
    24
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
52
165
28
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

My daughter and I stayed for a night in Southport and really enjoyed our room and breakfast. We particularly liked the tea tray in the room, which stocked some great herbal teas (always a must for me), and some treats for my daughter. Bathroom so beautiful and very clean and a great range of shampoos, washes and extras included in the price. Would go back, and Southport was a real delight too.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suzanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cebu City, Cebu City, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We stayed 10 days for the SR Open. The moment we arrived we were very warmly greeted by Cleo and Leigh. The rooms were luxurious and well stocked.Breakfast of Champions is how i would describe what Leigh prepared for us. The hotel location was so good that dinners were a nice short walk away. We were very well taken care of indeed that i told my wife it was like being home away from home. Thanks Cleo and Leigh, it was an experience to remember.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ramontito G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Briancon, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We stayed here during a 2 night visit to play in a golf competition at a nearby course. The welcome guests receive from Cleo and Leigh at Bay Tree House is genuine, enthusiastic, friendly and informal.

During our visit the majority of the rooms (of which there are 6) were taken by a wedding party meaning the owners and small staff team were very busy but they still made every effort to chat, recommend restaurants and provide excellent breakfasts. On the first morning we enjoyed a full cooked English breakfast which was of a high quality, served with a smile and on the second morning we had a lighter breakfast from the buffet. The fresh fruit smoothies are a nice touch and the waitress very friendly.

Our room was facing towards the sea and was a nice size with complimentary sweets, coffee, tea and mineral water. It was nice to see that the mini bar was not over priced and the fact it is run on an honesty system says a lot about the owners too. The rooms was a good size with a new, simple and very clean bathroom with nice towels. All in all a very comfortable experience.

We would recommend the Bay Tree House to anyone looking for a comfortable, genuinely friendly and comfortably informal bed and breakfast and although the rates are slightly more than the competition we are in doubt that the money is well spent.

We'll be back next year.

Room Tip: We stayed in a Superior Double room which was just great, with views towards the coast. Book direct...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChezBearLodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roy-c
Level Contributor
85 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We stayed here for a family wedding and all but took over the place

It is situated in a very good location, with plenty of parking space nearby but not too far from the shops and centre

Nothing was too much trouble for our hosts and they more than went the extra mile for us on several different occasions

Wonderful breakfasts and very well equipped rooms

We were delighted with our stay and would strongly recommend the Bay Tree House Hotel

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roy-c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

A gem tucked away in a quiet corner, just lovely. Hosts Leigh and Cleo and staff were lovely, room was soooo comfy and added luxury items such a lovely touch. The basket of "goodies" fridge stocked, all went into making the stay with them one I would do again many times.
As for the breakfasts WOW truly scrummy. Thank you both....I will be back x

Room Tip: Room at the back was snug, quiet, no view but not a problem in that. Not sound proof was the only do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marilyn l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Very attentive owners,nothing is too much trouble, good breakfast menu well presented with prompt pleasant service.The restaurants booked for us by the owners were also good particularity The Forge. Not much car parking.

Room Tip: Ask for the superior rooms,they have larger beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southport hotels
0.3 mi away
Ramada Plaza Southport
Ramada Plaza Southport
#1 of 24 in Southport
2,833 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Baytrees Hotel
Baytrees Hotel
#8 of 24 in Southport
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Vincent
Vincent
#4 of 24 in Southport
1,143 reviews
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Southport Hotel
Travelodge Southport Hotel
#7 of 24 in Southport
652 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Bold Hotel
The Bold Hotel
#3 of 24 in Southport
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Tree House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Tree House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Bay Tree House Bed & Breakfast
Address: No 1 Irving Street, Southport PR9 0HD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Southport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Bay Tree House Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bay Tree House is a 4-Star Gold award winning guest house (This Star Gold are only awarded to the top 10% of establishments in the country.)All our rooms are individually furnished with en-suiteWireless broadband in all rooms Our AA “Eggcup Award Winning” breakfast includes a lavish buffet with variety of Fruits, Muesli and cereals, Juices and Greek-style Yoghurt followed by a choice of not only a Traditional Grilled Lancashire Breakfast but also other options including Eggs Benedict, Smoked Haddock served with poached eggs with Fresh Spinach, or our own special Kedgeree with Southport Shrimps. Vegetarian dishes include Scrambled Egg and Chargrilled Pepper Piperade on a Lancashire/homemade Potato Cake, Canadian-style Pancakes with Blueberries, Bananas and Maple Syrup, and the ever-popular Eggs Florentine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Bay Tree House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Tree House Bed And Breakfast
Bay Tree House Hotel Southport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing