We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfectly charming with lovely hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bay Tree House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #12 of 40 Southport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfectly charming with lovely hosts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

We booked the Bay Tree House Bed and Breakfast as we were attending the Southport Air Show. The Bay Tree is located in a very quiet street, a good 10 minute walk from the Southport train station (but well worth it). The hosts, Cleo & Leigh, ask that you advise your arrival time. We hoped to arrive at 2pm but were early and we warmly invited in. We stayed in room 4 which is a charming little room. On arrival we were greeted with perfectly brewed tea and a small selection of cakes in the lounge room. This is a perfect example of how to run a bed & breakfast. The hosts are very attentive. The breakfast choices are divine - especially the smoked salmon scrambled eggs. Highly recommend to anyone who looking for a good quality bed & breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KBL2703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    310
    24
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
51
164
28
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Banbury, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

Lovely Place, Plush Decor, Clean, excellent breakfast, full attention. What more can you ask. Our small family stayed at Bay Tree House when attending a family wedding. Cleo and Leigh were fully attentive and helpful, We had three rooms and all rooms were in excellent decor with modern, clean en-suites in each. Room facilities were complete and I have rarely matched them in 5* hotels. Good assortment of snacks included and even mouthwash in the en-suite. Breakfast was excellent with large selection of fruit and cereals (and smoothies) followed by Full English in our case (other options were available). Thanks Cleo and Leigh for a very pleasant stay and hope to see you again.some time.

Room Tip: We had 3 rooms,Rm 2 at the front, and 3 and 4 at the rear and all were of a very good standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

We have just spent two very enjoyable nights here. On arrival we received a warm welcome, offered refreshments and shown to our room. The room was clean, inviting and well equipped with little extras. There was plenty of choice on the breakfast menu......and we have to say, the food was delicious and presented beautifully. Leigh and Cleo were wonderful hosts, friendly, attentive, and greeted us using our names, which we thought was lovely. The B & B is a credit to them and if we are visiting Southport in the future this is where we'll be staying.

T and P

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TAS19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

This charming b& b was a wonderful place to return to after two very busy days .the host and hostess were very welcoming and friendly. The rooms were spotless with everything you could possibly need and more. The breakfast was any persons dream, from cereal to fruit to numerous wonderful choices using eggs salmon bacon and more. It was perfect and I will happily return there on my next visit .

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank y_von99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

Like the other reviewers, we had a lovely stay here last weekend.

I would be happy to recommend it to anyone going to Southport. There are lots of really nice touches ( fresh flowers in the breakfast room, little smoothie "shots" at breakfast, real coffee and a cafetiere in the bedroom) as well as all the other extras mentioned that you don't always get in a B & B.

M and N

Room Tip: It is a tall house so stay low if the stairs are likely to be an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

We spent 6 days here in end August, visiting family & friends in Southport, and have only praise for what Leigh & Cleo are doing. One of - if not - the best B&B we have ever stayed in in the UK, with all the little extras (complimentary water, tea tray, shampoos, etc.) that you expect (and don't always get) in a good hotel. Not to mention the excellent and wide range of breakfasts. And the personal touch: Leigh and/or Cleo were always there to assist, to advise on places to go and see, etc.. Couldn't recommend it more highly, and will not even consider looking anywhere else the next time we visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AntonioMRD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
windlesham
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

I think this is one of the best B&Bs I have stayed in. Located in a quiet location near the town centre and the pier, I had a second floor room for single occupancy. It was good value for money. Very clean with lots of extras for convenience, eg soaps, tea & coffee (fresh milk and soft drinks in the fridge), wine (chargeable). The breakfasts are superb, some, eg eggs benedict or scrambled eggs with smoked salmon, need to be ordered the night before. Well recommended.

Room Tip: Room 5 on floor two was quiet with no sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southport hotels
0.3 mi away
Ramada Plaza Southport
Ramada Plaza Southport
#1 of 28 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,741 reviews
0.6 mi away
Vincent
Vincent
#4 of 28 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,124 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Baytrees Hotel
Baytrees Hotel
#8 of 28 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Bold Hotel
The Bold Hotel
#3 of 28 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Southport Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Tree House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Tree House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Bay Tree House Bed & Breakfast
Address: No 1 Irving Street, Southport PR9 0HD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Southport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Bay Tree House Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bay Tree House is a 4-Star Gold award winning guest house (This Star Gold are only awarded to the top 10% of establishments in the country.)All our rooms are individually furnished with en-suiteWireless broadband in all rooms Our AA “Eggcup Award Winning” breakfast includes a lavish buffet with variety of Fruits, Muesli and cereals, Juices and Greek-style Yoghurt followed by a choice of not only a Traditional Grilled Lancashire Breakfast but also other options including Eggs Benedict, Smoked Haddock served with poached eggs with Fresh Spinach, or our own special Kedgeree with Southport Shrimps. Vegetarian dishes include Scrambled Egg and Chargrilled Pepper Piperade on a Lancashire/homemade Potato Cake, Canadian-style Pancakes with Blueberries, Bananas and Maple Syrup, and the ever-popular Eggs Florentine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Bay Tree House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Tree House Bed And Breakfast
Bay Tree House Hotel Southport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing