We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top class b&b”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bay Tree House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #13 of 41 Southport B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Excellent hospitality and a great welcome was much appreciated. I have stayed at a lot of places in the north west and this place is one of my favourites. The owners are probably the best feature out of many. Highly recommended.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank Norman A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (339)
There are newer reviews for Bay Tree House Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 339 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2013

My partner & I stayed here for 2 nights, as we were in Southport for the Fireworks Championships, & having tried a different B&B / hotel each year in Southport over the past 7 years we’ve been coming for this event, we have definitely found the best one now !!
From the moment we arrived we were made to feel very welcome, & comfortable by Cleo, one of the owners.

I had booked room 2 via their own website, (which was very easy / straightforward to use), as this room appealed to me the most. A little point to note : I personally would prefer a wider range of photos of the rooms available on the website, as I like to know what I’m getting before I arrive !

The attention to detail by Cleo & Leigh, the owners, was excellent, & definitely makes their property stand out from other accommodation in the area….it seems almost everything has been planned & thought about to ensure their guests have a comfortable & enjoyable stay…..from slippers & dressing gowns, a good selection of soaps, shampoo etc & room fragrance in the bathroom, a mini bar, including fresh milk for your hot drinks, to a wide selection of biscuits / sweets etc accompanying the extensive variety of hot drinks (including bottles of water, a caffetiere, milk jug and a tea pot on the drinks tray…not just the one mug or cup each you usually find in hotels / B&B’s). The drinks from the mini bar seemed very reasonably priced too.

The bedroom was a lovely size, & was very nicely decorated, with a large, comfy bed, & mini walk-in wardrobe, with en-suite shower room.
The room, as well as the entire property, was spotlessly clean, & couldn’t be faulted.

Breakfast is served in a couple of sittings, as their dining room isn’t big enough for everyone to use at the same time when the place is full, but this is no problem whatsoever !
We were asked what time we would like our breakfast, & had the dining room pretty much to ourselves for a good 30-45mins each day, but when a further 6 guests entered, they by no means filled the room or made it feel cramped or uncomfortable.

The breakfast selection was lovely – fresh fruit (nicely presented), yoghurt, dried fruit, fruit juices, cereals which you help yourself to, followed by a cooked breakfast of your choice, with toast, & tea or coffee.
My partner tried the Eggs Benedict one morning, & the smoked Salmon with scrambled eggs the next, & thoroughly enjoyed both of these. I went for the traditional cooked breakfast, which was also delicious !
Something which some people may dislike, is that Cleo & Leigh like guests to order their breakfasts the evening before, but this was not a problem for us, & we can totally understand why they require this, to avoid wasting food.
They also say in the room information folder that even if you wake up & have changed your mind, they will happily accommodate your requirements, so I don’t see why this would be a problem for people, but, I have seen some people complain about things like this in other reviews, which is why I mentioned it.

All in all, we were delighted to have found this lovely place, & will definitely be staying here when we’re next in Southport !!
Keep up the excellent work Cleo & Leigh !!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Starlightscamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Stayed with friends for two nights on a golf trip. Hosts were great from moment of arrival to departure. Room was good with nice bathroom. Lovely little touches in room such as fresh milk for tea and coffee and mini snacks. Breakfasts were excellent, using local produce, and good service Would definitely stay again if in the area

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JangoSwansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We stayed at the Bay Tree House for the Firework Festival and echo the comments made by previous guests. The owners, Cleo and Leigh, go out of their way to make your stay as comfortable as possible. We stayed in Room 6 which is a large room on the top floor with a shower. There is much attention to detail lavished by the owners with complimentary chocolates and toiletries. Thank you also for the fresh milk - other guest house owners please take note!
The breakfast was exceptionally good and I recommend the kedgeree - a huge portion which kept me going for the rest of the day.
The location is good and parking is available on street. If you want somewhere to stay in Southport - you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Benita F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We booked the Bay Tree House Bed and Breakfast as we were attending the Southport Air Show. The Bay Tree is located in a very quiet street, a good 10 minute walk from the Southport train station (but well worth it). The hosts, Cleo & Leigh, ask that you advise your arrival time. We hoped to arrive at 2pm but were early and we warmly invited in. We stayed in room 4 which is a charming little room. On arrival we were greeted with perfectly brewed tea and a small selection of cakes in the lounge room. This is a perfect example of how to run a bed & breakfast. The hosts are very attentive. The breakfast choices are divine - especially the smoked salmon scrambled eggs. Highly recommend to anyone who looking for a good quality bed & breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KBL2703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Lovely Place, Plush Decor, Clean, excellent breakfast, full attention. What more can you ask. Our small family stayed at Bay Tree House when attending a family wedding. Cleo and Leigh were fully attentive and helpful, We had three rooms and all rooms were in excellent decor with modern, clean en-suites in each. Room facilities were complete and I have rarely matched them in 5* hotels. Good assortment of snacks included and even mouthwash in the en-suite. Breakfast was excellent with large selection of fruit and cereals (and smoothies) followed by Full English in our case (other options were available). Thanks Cleo and Leigh for a very pleasant stay and hope to see you again.some time.

Room Tip: We had 3 rooms,Rm 2 at the front, and 3 and 4 at the rear and all were of a very good standard.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We have just spent two very enjoyable nights here. On arrival we received a warm welcome, offered refreshments and shown to our room. The room was clean, inviting and well equipped with little extras. There was plenty of choice on the breakfast menu......and we have to say, the food was delicious and presented beautifully. Leigh and Cleo were wonderful hosts, friendly, attentive, and greeted us using our names, which we thought was lovely. The B & B is a credit to them and if we are visiting Southport in the future this is where we'll be staying.

T and P

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TAS19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southport hotels
0.3 mi away
Ramada Plaza Southport
Ramada Plaza Southport
#1 of 23 in Southport
3,019 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Baytrees Hotel
Baytrees Hotel
#9 of 23 in Southport
144 reviews
0.4 mi away
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
#12 of 23 in Southport
419 reviews
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Southport Hotel
Travelodge Southport Hotel
#7 of 23 in Southport
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Tree House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Tree House Bed & Breakfast

Address: No 1 Irving Street, Southport PR9 0HD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Southport
Price Range: £63 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bay Tree House Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bay Tree House is a 4-Star Gold award winning guest house (This Star Gold are only awarded to the top 10% of establishments in the country.)All our rooms are individually furnished with en-suiteWireless broadband in all rooms Our AA “Eggcup Award Winning” breakfast includes a lavish buffet with variety of Fruits, Muesli and cereals, Juices and Greek-style Yoghurt followed by a choice of not only a Traditional Grilled Lancashire Breakfast but also other options including Eggs Benedict, Smoked Haddock served with poached eggs with Fresh Spinach, or our own special Kedgeree with Southport Shrimps. Vegetarian dishes include Scrambled Egg and Chargrilled Pepper Piperade on a Lancashire/homemade Potato Cake, Canadian-style Pancakes with Blueberries, Bananas and Maple Syrup, and the ever-popular Eggs Florentine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bay Tree House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Tree House Hotel Southport
Bay Tree House Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing