We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home from home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bay Tree House Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bay Tree House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 40 Southport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
“Home from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

My wife and I have visited Southport many times but the Bay Tree House is by far the best place we have had the pleasure to stay. Leigh and Cleo made us feel very welcome throughout the time we stayed with them. Not only are the rooms clean and well maintained, they have those little extras which make such a difference. We thought it couldn't get any better and then we were treated to the wonderful breakfasts. Lots of choice but excellently prepared.

The Bay Tree is well located, it is a short 5 minute walk to Lord Street, the Marina & pier. That said, Irving Street is in a quiet area allowing a peaceful sleep -- a true home from home.

Room Tip: There are not too many rooms, but the hotel was fully booked when we visited. We spoke with all gues...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    310
    24
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
51
164
28
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

This is a great little b&b close to the Marina in Southport. There are not many rooms, Leigh and Cleo make all guests very welcome. The rooms are clean and well equipped with a mini bar. There is a full breakfast menu catering for all and the food is excellent.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Del S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hangzhou, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Been to Southport many time ,It is the best hotel i stayed .
Good service ,warm reception ,beautuful breakfast ,Also nice room .
Hotel supplies in bay tree house are much rich .

2 mins walk to sea side and 5mins walk to the main shipping street .

Great !

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Owen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

What lovely people Leigh and Cleo are. Not only did they offer us an extra night free, they also upgraded us to the nearby appartment due to some building work to the laundry room which may have disturbed us.

They went out of the way to ensure that everything was perfect for my wife and I and our little 2 year old boy! Cleo had a lovely manner with him, making a real effort to make his stay just as enjoyable as ours.

The appartment was spacious, clean and had beautiful views of the sun setting on the horizon. On a clear day, you could even make out Blackpool Tower in the distance. Fresh milk, tea, coffee and refreshments were provided.

A 2 minute walk to Bay Tree House for breakfast, we were treated to a delicious breakfast buffet, toast and an extensive choice of various breakfasts, all of which were lovely and far beyond the usual B&B breakfast.

Thank you for a lovely stay, you have something unique at Bay Tree House, and that is the two of you and your wonderful welcoming manner.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank bugman_v2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braintree, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

Arriving early evening on Saturday we were warmly welcomed by Leigh and Cleo and shown to our room which was spacious, clean, homely and well equipped. Breakfast was served on request and was full of choice and flavour. The location was quiet and only a short walk to the offerings of Southport. This was a far better experience than our previous at large hotel chain.

Room Tip: Room six had lovely view of the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Bay Tree House has been a fantstic find for me. Cleo and Leigh cannot do enough to ensure the comfort of their guests. The breakfast is delicious, the rooms are realy comfortable, immaculate, and extremely well equipped. I would much rather stay here than in a big hotel chain.
Will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolynne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed this weekend. Cleo and Leigh very friendly. Home away from home. One of the best B and B Breakfast, great choice, and very tasty. Room extremely clean. We would recommend. Location excellent, walking distance to the main shops and to the promenade 2 mins walk. My only complaint is not the b&b but to write a 200 characters review.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank urma2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southport hotels
0.3 mi away
Ramada Plaza Southport
Ramada Plaza Southport
#1 of 28 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,672 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Vincent
Vincent
#4 of 28 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Baytrees Hotel
Baytrees Hotel
#8 of 28 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Bold Hotel
The Bold Hotel
#3 of 28 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Southport Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Tree House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Tree House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Bay Tree House Bed & Breakfast
Address: No 1 Irving Street, Southport PR9 0HD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Southport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Bay Tree House Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bay Tree House is a 4-Star Gold award winning guest house (This Star Gold are only awarded to the top 10% of establishments in the country.)All our rooms are individually furnished with en-suiteWireless broadband in all rooms Our AA “Eggcup Award Winning” breakfast includes a lavish buffet with variety of Fruits, Muesli and cereals, Juices and Greek-style Yoghurt followed by a choice of not only a Traditional Grilled Lancashire Breakfast but also other options including Eggs Benedict, Smoked Haddock served with poached eggs with Fresh Spinach, or our own special Kedgeree with Southport Shrimps. Vegetarian dishes include Scrambled Egg and Chargrilled Pepper Piperade on a Lancashire/homemade Potato Cake, Canadian-style Pancakes with Blueberries, Bananas and Maple Syrup, and the ever-popular Eggs Florentine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Bay Tree House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Tree House Bed And Breakfast
Bay Tree House Hotel Southport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing