We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly service, tasty breakfast and a memorable stay”
Review of Dukes Folly Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dukes Folly Hotel
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Southport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 November 2013

My wife and I spent 3 nights in Dukes Folly during our 11+ days UK trip. We know the owner Agnes, but this is our first time staying in this hotel. The room we got was recently renovated and was really nice. The room, the carpet, the toilet and the hot shower are all of high quality. The traditional English breakfast was excellent and tasty. Enjoying breakfast in the conservatory was my favorite. I also liked the relaxed ambience of the bar. The bar area was quite popular with guests and one night I was enjoying and chatting with other guests till midnight at the bar. The service was great also. The hotel was very convenient and just a few minutes away from the main shopping and dining area in North Street. The car park was also a plus.

Overall, great stay in Dukes Folly and will definitely book again next time when in Southport.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 9 which was recently renovated and is great. I had a glimpse of Room 15 which has...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (272)
There are newer reviews for Dukes Folly Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

189 - 195 of 272 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel sat 2 November and have to say we had no complaints whatsoever all the staff were very friendly and helpful john on reception was a lovely man nothing was too much would definitely book again

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mikmarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Booked the castle room with a four poster bed. Room was brilliant, comfy bed, big bath, very clean and warm. Castle theme was brilliant.
Owners very welcoming and helpful.
Hotel was just off lord street so blood location.
Breakfast was well cooked and delicious.
Would definitely go again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Barbara and I were married in Southport Town Hall on 26th Oct and 25 of our party stayed in the Dukes Folly on the 25 & 26 Oct. To say we had an excellent stay would be an understatement! The evening of the 25th in the bar was excellent . Rooms were very quirky but very comfortable and warm. Breakfast excellent. Then comes the good bit! After the wedding all our guests(50) returned to the hotel where we enjoyed two wonderful buffet spreads (afternoon and evening) and another excellent time at the bar!!!
Overall it was a lovely experience, enjoyed by everyone. Proprietors and staff could not do enough for everyone. Well done the Dukes Folly.

Room Tip: Ask for theme rooms for a bit of variety and fun!
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ballina126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We have just had 3 lovely days in this hotel, its a little tired and badly in need of some new bedding, but clean ,very friendly staff made you feel very welcome, excellent breakfast and great location.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ang47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed here as part of a group soccer tour and the hosts at this bed and breakfast genuinely love what they do. We felt like part if their family and their attention to our every request was very appreciated. The rooms were small by US standards but each was interestingly decorated and very clean. Breakfast each morning was traditional and tasty - cooked to order! Thank you for a wonderful stay - we hope to return someday.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jstr3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We had an excellent two days in this hotel.Staff were very friendly and most helpful and are a credit to the hotel.Only 20 yards from lord street and five minutes from the promenade.Breakfast was first class and perfectly cooked to order.Hotel room does need a little tlc but this did not detract from our pleasant stay,will return.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 520ALANS2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southport hotels
0.6 mi away
Ramada Plaza Southport
Ramada Plaza Southport
#1 of 23 in Southport
3,019 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Southport Hotel
Travelodge Southport Hotel
#7 of 23 in Southport
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Bold Hotel
The Bold Hotel
#3 of 23 in Southport
569 reviews
0.2 mi away
Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport
0.2 mi away
The Talbot Hotel
The Talbot Hotel
#6 of 23 in Southport
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dukes Folly Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dukes Folly Hotel

Address: 11 Duke Street, Southport PR8 1LS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Southport
Price Range: £61 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dukes Folly Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Duke's Folly Hotel carries the legacy of being the first hotel in Southport. It is located just 30 yards from Lord Street, Southport's world famous Victorian Shopping Boulevard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Dukes Folly Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing