We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little place”
Review of Dukes Folly Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Dukes Folly Hotel
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in Southport
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great little place”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Stayed here with my partner . Great little hotel . Friendly staff . Great themed rooms .we stayed in the oriental room which was nice clean and comfortable . Will be recommending to my friends . Thank you for everything.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pavlossmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    89
    44
    22
    12
See reviews for
34
134
17
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
80 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

My wife and I spent 3 nights in Dukes Folly during our 11+ days UK trip. We know the owner Agnes, but this is our first time staying in this hotel. The room we got was recently renovated and was really nice. The room, the carpet, the toilet and the hot shower are all of high quality. The traditional English breakfast was excellent and tasty. Enjoying breakfast in the conservatory was my favorite. I also liked the relaxed ambience of the bar. The bar area was quite popular with guests and one night I was enjoying and chatting with other guests till midnight at the bar. The service was great also. The hotel was very convenient and just a few minutes away from the main shopping and dining area in North Street. The car park was also a plus.

Overall, great stay in Dukes Folly and will definitely book again next time when in Southport.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 9 which was recently renovated and is great. I had a glimpse of Room 15 which has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel sat 2 November and have to say we had no complaints whatsoever all the staff were very friendly and helpful john on reception was a lovely man nothing was too much would definitely book again

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikmarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Booked the castle room with a four poster bed. Room was brilliant, comfy bed, big bath, very clean and warm. Castle theme was brilliant.
Owners very welcoming and helpful.
Hotel was just off lord street so blood location.
Breakfast was well cooked and delicious.
Would definitely go again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Barbara and I were married in Southport Town Hall on 26th Oct and 25 of our party stayed in the Dukes Folly on the 25 & 26 Oct. To say we had an excellent stay would be an understatement! The evening of the 25th in the bar was excellent . Rooms were very quirky but very comfortable and warm. Breakfast excellent. Then comes the good bit! After the wedding all our guests(50) returned to the hotel where we enjoyed two wonderful buffet spreads (afternoon and evening) and another excellent time at the bar!!!
Overall it was a lovely experience, enjoyed by everyone. Proprietors and staff could not do enough for everyone. Well done the Dukes Folly.

Room Tip: Ask for theme rooms for a bit of variety and fun!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ballina126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We have just had 3 lovely days in this hotel, its a little tired and badly in need of some new bedding, but clean ,very friendly staff made you feel very welcome, excellent breakfast and great location.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ang47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed here as part of a group soccer tour and the hosts at this bed and breakfast genuinely love what they do. We felt like part if their family and their attention to our every request was very appreciated. The rooms were small by US standards but each was interestingly decorated and very clean. Breakfast each morning was traditional and tasty - cooked to order! Thank you for a wonderful stay - we hope to return someday.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jstr3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southport hotels
0.6 mi away
Ramada Plaza Southport
Ramada Plaza Southport
#1 of 24 in Southport
2,831 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Southport Hotel
Travelodge Southport Hotel
#7 of 24 in Southport
652 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Bold Hotel
The Bold Hotel
#3 of 24 in Southport
512 reviews
0.2 mi away
Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport
0.3 mi away
Vincent
Vincent
#4 of 24 in Southport
1,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dukes Folly Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dukes Folly Hotel

Property: Dukes Folly Hotel
Address: 11 Duke Street, Southport PR8 1LS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in Southport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Dukes Folly Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Duke's Folly Hotel carries the legacy of being the first hotel in Southport. It is located just 30 yards from Lord Street, Southport's world famous Victorian Shopping Boulevard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dukes Folly Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing