We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Little Find.”
Review of Dukes Folly Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dukes Folly Hotel
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Southport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Lovely little hotel,very close to main shopping area.Free parking on site for limited number of cars.I requested room on ground floor as no lift.Room was clean and comfortable although a bit on the small side.We had a double but would request twin if we stayed again as the twin on the ground floor was a bit bigger and bathroom more accesable.Staff were very helpful and looked after us very well.Breakfast cooked to order and exceptionally good. TV in room and also bar area and a separate sitting room with large TV or just to sit comfortably and read on comfortable chairs /sofa rather than sitting on the bed.We stayed for a weekend in December using a KGB voucher and we wouldn't hesitate staying again.Thanks to all the staff for a Very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Just explain your needs and I am sure the staff would do their best to accommodate them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Audrey E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (279)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

192 - 198 of 279 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2014

Stayed at the Duke's Hotel while visiting Liverpool for a weekend and decided to stay out of the city for a change to see a slightly different part of the area for a change. Couldn't fault the £45 I paid which included breakfast and a room with double bed, en-suite with toiletries, TV and tea and coffee making facilities. I was only there for one evening, but found the owner very pleasant to chat to - very welcoming - and the staff serving for breakfast very efficient and helpful.

Will definitely stay there again as it's a great hotel for the price. There's a good choice of food for breakfast, it's well located within Southport and a small car park to the front of the hotel too.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsSulkyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

stayed here for one night and would recommend it. Yes the decor is not ultra modern but it was nicely decorated and clean. The bed and pillows were really comfortable. The room was warm (we stayed in December). They provided nice toiletries. The hotel is right next to the main shopping street so really convenient. For £50 for 2 people including breakfast you definitely could not complain.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnjV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Stayed here with my partner . Great little hotel . Friendly staff . Great themed rooms .we stayed in the oriental room which was nice clean and comfortable . Will be recommending to my friends . Thank you for everything.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pavlossmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

My wife and I spent 3 nights in Dukes Folly during our 11+ days UK trip. We know the owner Agnes, but this is our first time staying in this hotel. The room we got was recently renovated and was really nice. The room, the carpet, the toilet and the hot shower are all of high quality. The traditional English breakfast was excellent and tasty. Enjoying breakfast in the conservatory was my favorite. I also liked the relaxed ambience of the bar. The bar area was quite popular with guests and one night I was enjoying and chatting with other guests till midnight at the bar. The service was great also. The hotel was very convenient and just a few minutes away from the main shopping and dining area in North Street. The car park was also a plus.

Overall, great stay in Dukes Folly and will definitely book again next time when in Southport.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 9 which was recently renovated and is great. I had a glimpse of Room 15 which has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel sat 2 November and have to say we had no complaints whatsoever all the staff were very friendly and helpful john on reception was a lovely man nothing was too much would definitely book again

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mikmarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Booked the castle room with a four poster bed. Room was brilliant, comfy bed, big bath, very clean and warm. Castle theme was brilliant.
Owners very welcoming and helpful.
Hotel was just off lord street so blood location.
Breakfast was well cooked and delicious.
Would definitely go again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southport hotels
0.6 mi away
Ramada Plaza Southport
Ramada Plaza Southport
#1 of 23 in Southport
3,093 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Southport Hotel
Travelodge Southport Hotel
#6 of 23 in Southport
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Bold Hotel
The Bold Hotel
#3 of 23 in Southport
579 reviews
0.2 mi away
Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport
0.2 mi away
The Talbot Hotel
The Talbot Hotel
#7 of 23 in Southport
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dukes Folly Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dukes Folly Hotel

Address: 11 Duke Street, Southport PR8 1LS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Southport
Price Range: £64 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dukes Folly Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Duke's Folly Hotel carries the legacy of being the first hotel in Southport. It is located just 30 yards from Lord Street, Southport's world famous Victorian Shopping Boulevard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dukes Folly Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing