We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not disabled friendly”
Review of Dukes Folly Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Dukes Folly Hotel
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in Southport
Certificate of Excellence
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“not disabled friendly”
Reviewed 21 February 2014

arrived at hotel and was showed into hotel via a "ramp" which was made up of 2 pieces of plywood in a terrible state, pieces had broken off and it was unsafe, i was then shown to a "disabled room" off a narrow corridor and after several 3 point turns made it into the room it was impossible to enter bathroom, so exited stage left,down the rickety ramp and off to find another hotel,never again.

Room Tip: if you are in a wheelchair, forget it
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank walker2105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    89
    44
    22
    12
See reviews for
34
134
17
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We stayed for a couple of nights in the Dukes Folly Hotel. Our room was newly decorated and furnished and very clean and comfortable. The hotel has a light and airy dining room - where the lovely breakfast was served. In addition to the full English breakfast, a good choice of cereal and fruit was provided. The staff at the hotel were really good and very friendly and helped us out with advice on local amenities. There is free parking on site for several vehicles. The hotel is just a short walk to the shops and restaurants in the town centre. Good value for money.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SussexTeejay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Paid £90 for a room which was cold.window would not close.
Bed very uncomfortable as it was 2 mattress pushed together.
Spring sticking out.
Breakfast was nice.
Very basic rooms for price.
Would not stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank quinny8411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Godwin L, Guest Relations Manager at Dukes Folly Hotel, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Thank you for your review.

We are very sorry to learn about your experience while staying with us. It was unfortunate that the night you were staying was one of the windiest night we had ever experienced and the window was unexpectedly forced open. We apologise that we cannot address this problem for you in a timely fashion as we have only learnt about it in the morning.

We apology once again for the discomfort you had experienced, we wish our full refund for your stay do demonstrate our sincere apology for that.

Best Regards,
Godwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marske-by-the-sea
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Lovely little hotel,very close to main shopping area.Free parking on site for limited number of cars.I requested room on ground floor as no lift.Room was clean and comfortable although a bit on the small side.We had a double but would request twin if we stayed again as the twin on the ground floor was a bit bigger and bathroom more accesable.Staff were very helpful and looked after us very well.Breakfast cooked to order and exceptionally good. TV in room and also bar area and a separate sitting room with large TV or just to sit comfortably and read on comfortable chairs /sofa rather than sitting on the bed.We stayed for a weekend in December using a KGB voucher and we wouldn't hesitate staying again.Thanks to all the staff for a Very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Just explain your needs and I am sure the staff would do their best to accommodate them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Audrey E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
107 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Stayed at the Duke's Hotel while visiting Liverpool for a weekend and decided to stay out of the city for a change to see a slightly different part of the area for a change. Couldn't fault the £45 I paid which included breakfast and a room with double bed, en-suite with toiletries, TV and tea and coffee making facilities. I was only there for one evening, but found the owner very pleasant to chat to - very welcoming - and the staff serving for breakfast very efficient and helpful.

Will definitely stay there again as it's a great hotel for the price. There's a good choice of food for breakfast, it's well located within Southport and a small car park to the front of the hotel too.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsSulkyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 December 2013

stayed here for one night and would recommend it. Yes the decor is not ultra modern but it was nicely decorated and clean. The bed and pillows were really comfortable. The room was warm (we stayed in December). They provided nice toiletries. The hotel is right next to the main shopping street so really convenient. For £50 for 2 people including breakfast you definitely could not complain.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnjV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Stayed here with my partner . Great little hotel . Friendly staff . Great themed rooms .we stayed in the oriental room which was nice clean and comfortable . Will be recommending to my friends . Thank you for everything.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pavlossmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southport hotels
0.6 mi away
Ramada Plaza Southport
Ramada Plaza Southport
#1 of 24 in Southport
2,828 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Southport Hotel
Travelodge Southport Hotel
#7 of 24 in Southport
651 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Bold Hotel
The Bold Hotel
#3 of 24 in Southport
512 reviews
0.2 mi away
Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport
0.3 mi away
Vincent
Vincent
#4 of 24 in Southport
1,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dukes Folly Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dukes Folly Hotel

Property: Dukes Folly Hotel
Address: 11 Duke Street, Southport PR8 1LS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in Southport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Dukes Folly Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Duke's Folly Hotel carries the legacy of being the first hotel in Southport. It is located just 30 yards from Lord Street, Southport's world famous Victorian Shopping Boulevard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dukes Folly Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing