We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visit....”
Review of Carlton Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Carlton Lodge
Ranked #27 of 38 Southport B&B and Inns
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
454 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
“Worth a visit....”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We usually visit Southport for New Year and stay here with Christine. We have just returned from a weekend break and had yet another enjoyable stay. The Hotel was fully booked , which is good news. As usual the breakfast was wonderful ; the scrambled eggs with smoked salmon is amazing. The location is central for walking either along the Esplanade or around the Town, and as parking is available at the front of the Hotel it means I can park up on arrival and not use the car again until I leave , making for a relaxing time.
A lovely clean , friendly good value for money Hotel well worth a stay if you are considering a visit to Southport.

Room Tip: When booking tell Christine your requirements and she will do her best to accommodate your needs
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    19
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
8
42
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

The Landlady Christine was very welcoming and couldn't do enough for us. She made our stay most enjoyable. Our room was large, comfortable, clean with a massive amount of storage space (which is a bonus nowadays). The tea/coffee etc were replenished every day during our three days there (including biscuits). Breakfast was amazing - my partner had his usual 'fry-up' (which was large enough to keep him full until the afternoon) and I was spoilt with scrambled eggs and smoked salmon every morning. The little touches made it a great place to stay (loved the proper china cups at breakfast). It is in a central location and we found it the best hotel we have stayed in during the last 10-years we have been going to Southport. We will most definitely be back next year.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 56Sandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlie1524, Owner at Carlton Lodge, responded to this review, 6 October 2013
thank you for your kind review. look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckley flintshire
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We have just returned from a four night break in Southport and stayed at the Carlton lodge. Christine the host was very welcoming and showed us straight to our room.The hotel was in a perfect location to wander around the shops or walk along the prom.The breakfast was excellent and there was a good choice from full English to smoked salmon and scrambled eggs. Overall we had a very good experience and would stay here again and definitely recommend it. Thank you Christine and staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayne19582013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Enjoy an 'Old Fashioned' break. This could be called a traditional seaside Bed-and-Breakfast, but it is up-to-date service in a modern establishment. Comfortable, clean, convenient location, car park, cooked breakfast was great.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dbaygg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Highly recommended - brilliant location, very clean, friendly helpful owners and amazing breakfast - only slight point was an annoying dripping tap in the bathroom but fantastic in every other department xx

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lolitashedevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

This was our first visit to Southport to attend a birthday party we stayed at the Carlton Lodge having read the reviews. We are either very fussy or got the wrong B&B !!!!!! You couldn't swing a cat in the en-suite seriously, had to squeeze past the sink to the toilet, we thought that sheets and one blanket we hasten to add were a thing of the past. The sewage smell from the bathroom sink wasn't pleasant either. Yes we would agree that the bed was quite comfortable. Breakfast the first of our three mornings was good until the toast came with green mould spots hence we didn't have breakfast there the other 2 mornings. Southport is a great town but the experience in this B&B left us feeling a bit disappointed to say the least.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank j_downton57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlie1524, Owner at Carlton Lodge, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
I could not believe you were reviewing my guest house. the en suite is not the largest but is fully functional clean and certainly does not have any problems of sewage.17 other people fully enjoyed their breakfast as mentioned by one party in their review. No adverse comments were received when enquiring of yourselves if your breakfast was all right.
The tourist board grades my bedding as being professional and flexible for all seasons. Im sorry if yiou did not enjoy your stay but any issues you had should have been raised at the time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

booked 1 twin and 2 singles for a long weekend.we were not disappointed with the rooms, clean and spacious.Nothing was too much trouble and hostess very accommodating, rare in some establishments these days.
Breakfast was superb and cooked to order without grease.
Like arnie we will be back

Room Tip: lower rooms have stronger showers
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southport hotels
0.3 mi away
Bay Tree House Bed & Breakfast
0.1 mi away
The Norwood Guest House
The Norwood Guest House
#13 of 38 in Southport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Warwick
The Warwick
#17 of 38 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sunnyside Guest House Southport
0.2 mi away
The Leicester
The Leicester
#2 of 38 in Southport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clifton Villa Hotel
Clifton Villa Hotel
#7 of 38 in Southport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Lodge

Property: Carlton Lodge
Address: 43 Bath Street, Southport PR9 0DP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Southport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Carlton Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victorian Townhouse providing comfortable en suite bedrooms and offering an extensive breakfast menu ,using only quality ingredients,probably the best breakfast( according to my guests) in Southport.Free WI FI and a comfortable lounge to relax in. Free car parking. PLEASE TELEPHONE OR E MAIL FOR BEST RATES. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Carlton Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing