We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine if you like queuing !!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pontins Southport Holiday Park
Ranked #18 of 23 Hotels in Southport
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fine if you like queuing !!!”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Got a cheap weekend break through a social site to the new refurbished park . Got there 6:30 pm on Friday and had to queue for over 45 minutes to check in , room clean but average - as expected . Only 1 socket in kitchen area so if you wanted to use the microwave oven you had to either lift it onto the floor or lift it onto the area near the kettle . Pool was being refurbished and not finished - Pontins hadn't informed anyone . Had promised the kids the poo and slides and ended up paying £32 to go to pool in Southport for 11/2 hours !! Cash points not working on site . Massive queue at shop . Kids entertainment too late . Bath interesting. Skate park close on the Sunday morning when we were going to use it . Restaurant food OK if you were desperate but not sure how long it is kept out - cake nice . Finally perplexed by the Abba tribute band with just 2 women in it !!! Have to pay for electric card also - didn't tell us that either - fortunately there was money left on our meter and managed to get a refund on the card which we had bought . Staff not terribly helpful either .

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loopylip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southportpontins, Manager at Pontins Southport Holiday Park, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Thanks for your comments regarding your recent holiday at Pontins. We certainly appreciate your positive comments about the Park and also take note of your negative feedback.
We are sorry that the accommodation was not as clean as you would expect and having spent heavily on refurbishment it is disappointing if standards of cleanliness let us down.
The New Pontins was born in February 2011 and we have seen massive improvements across the board and this will continue both short and long term. We offer great value holidays that the vast majority of our guests really enjoy which is shown by the really busy year we have had and the high proportion of returning guests.
We are continually improving all aspects of the Park from accommodation to food and better and new activities to keep everyone entertained and are confident that we really do offer something for everyone.
Please keep a look out for improvements through our website and look out for special offers and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,060 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    373
    624
    695
    453
    1,915
See reviews for
2,677
252
8
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (853)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Prestatyn, Wales
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

Our family weekend away from the moment we arrived was an absolute disgrace. We were given a chalet i would not keep a dog in.(and i am an animal lover) it was sub standard,and thats an understatement. It was cold.heating was useless (for which we paid £10 in the form of a meter card) it was afloat with water.bedding was damp, and no water at times. We complained straight away to reception. But nobody bothered to come to investigate our complaint. We qued for 40mins for something to eat which again the standard was poor for what we were charged. When we returned to our chalet to find the floor area was completely under water. We left the morning after complaining yet again,but to no avail. We also reported this to the security on the gate. I would not return to THIS PONTINS ever again. It was terrible. We were so looking forward to this weekend away with our children and Grandchildren.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank WilliamLiam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southportpontins, Manager at Pontins Southport Holiday Park, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
We are sorry that the room you where allocated was not clean. We have invested a lot in refurbishing our accommodation, new beds and curtains, new flooring and furniture and painted throughout.
It is disappointing when the cleaning standards of our staff let us down and we can only apologise that your room was unsuitable due to this.

we our looking into this problem and will be rectified ASAP.

thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Southport hotels

Sandbach, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

We recently went on half term and paid for the club classic which was the most expensive. I'd hate to see the cheap ones. Curtains didn't shut properly. the noise all night people slamming doors the fun factory stunk off farts and sweat as there was no kind of circulation. Don't get me wrong the kids loved it there 5 and 3 and the reps seemed to work really hard day and night I'd defo give them 5 out of 5 but overall pontins needs allot of money spent on it even when you drive up it looks old and dated and doesn't give you a good impression.
On the 5 days we where there we mostly left the complex and went into formby beach really good and into southport.
Overall you pay for what you get!! I wouldn't go again unless it was re built...

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank ian d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southportpontins, Manager at Pontins Southport Holiday Park, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Thanks for your review of Pontins in Southport and for providing us with your feedback of your holiday.
It is important to us that our guests let us know what we are doing right and where improvements can be made and we will certainly look at your comments and make changes as necessary. We are having another busy year as a group and Southport is particularly busy and we have increased facilities again this year and have a very exciting project involving a brand new restaurant and retail outlets in the pipeline for this year.
We continue to welcome thousands of people each week and are confident that the overwhelming majority of our guests find our Park clean and welcoming with great prices and facilities. We are situated in a lovely area of the country within walking distance of a great beach and close to many local attractions.
Hopefully we might see you again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

So we were worried when we read the reviews but due to the size of our group we risked it. Now we paid different amounts from £80 for 2 nights in a club accommodation to £160 for a one bed club room for the same 2 nights - which was just odd. We paid £80 for a 2 bed room so it was cheap.

The rooms were not as dirty as I'd imagine - although just take some cleaning wipes like we did - give the room a little clean yourself. Nothing was new, the appliances were dirty so I definitely would not have cooked or eaten there, and you have to ignore the bags of rubbish with the various duvets in various states - it says refurbished in 2011, but I don't know which bit.

The actual Pontins bit - the reception, arcade and pubs were filthy - absolutely awful - we gave our free breakfast vouchers away as I saw two people in chef "whites" ha, yeah - white. Not a chance would I eat there - but other than that it was somewhere to sleep.

We went into the pub part for a laugh really - they had some entertainment and we played the game of trying to guess what on earth they were singing, but there is a decent pub around the corner, and south port is close and is really nice. The police do seem to be based outside the place on a night for all the trouble - so just go somewhere else if that worries you.

The staff were just rude, some guy called Mike checked us in and I swear handing us the pack was too much to ask, never mind expecting him to tell us where the room was or where our duvet set was. I had a real laugh and the desk where the person dealt with the lady in front of me and just walked off - left us there for ages not being served, and to say they had staff around the mess from Friday night was still all over reception on Saturday midday.

For a cheap night - as a base literally just to sleep it is fine but don't expect too much.

Room Tip: You have to choose Club rooms, they are not great so I can't imagine what the cheaper rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southportpontins, Manager at Pontins Southport Holiday Park, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Thanks for your comments regarding your recent holiday at Pontins. We certainly appreciate your positive comments about the Park and also take note of your negative feedback.
We are sorry that the accommodation was not as clean as you would expect and having spent heavily on refurbishment it is disappointing if standards of cleanliness let us down.
The New Pontins was born in February 2011 and we have seen massive improvements across the board and this will continue both short and long term. We offer great value holidays that the vast majority of our guests really enjoy which is shown by the really busy year we have had and the high proportion of returning guests.
We are continually improving all aspects of the Park from accommodation to food and better and new activities to keep everyone entertained and are confident that we really do offer something for everyone.
Please keep a look out for improvements through our website and look out for special offers and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

My Grandaughter ,her Partener and 7yr old son booked Friday 14th feb 2014 til Sunday 16th Feb 2014, apartment was cold even though they used an electric card (no Heat), paid £20 for meals (never had one), cost £60 for 2 nights, and £50 Petrol to get there and back. dirty messy apartment with dirty cooker and torn/ripped curtains, fighting in the bar on the night, and nothing on next day , so they left on the sat morning, totally dissappointed, even the 7yr old wanted to go home , None of my Family will ever go to Pontins again

Room Tip: dont even think of going
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank horto73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southportpontins, Manager at Pontins Southport Holiday Park, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Thanks for your review of your recent stay here at Pontins and we are sorry you did not enjoy your time here.
We do apologise that you did not enjoy our product but we feel that we offer a great value for money holiday that the overwhelming majority of our guests enjoy. We continue to be very busy and welcome thousands of guests on Park each week and it has been great to receive many compliments and our highest recorded number of re-books on Park.
It is always a concern when a guest does not have a good time and we are sorry that our park did not fulfill your needs or expectations. We have looked at your operational issues and passed the comments to the relevant departments so that they can take action as necessary.
Once again thanks for taking the time to review your holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Stayed here even had extra night for £20 was expecting the worst as read reviews but was shocked to find it was good place was nice and clean overall accommodation was so much better than had hoped yes could have done with some more sockets and the sofa bed was not as comfortable as I would hope but had a spare duvet so put under sheet and was fine water was red hot and everything looked new electric was by card and brought a five pound card when arrived as most people were however when I went to put in was already £10.20 on meter I thought this was a gesture of goodwill due to pool out of use however discovered on second day meter must have been broke as never went down so just returned card for a refund happy days we didn't spend to much time at park just the playground the soft play and a round of golf which had seen better days but all in all as we are merlin pass holders we found it a great base and will be returning again in April

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank icecrazylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southportpontins, Manager at Pontins Southport Holiday Park, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write about your time at Pontins Southport and we are very pleased with the review you have given us.
It is very encouraging to receive such comments as all managers and Staff on Park have worked hard to improve our product for our guests and it is very rewarding to receive your praise.
We have invested heavily in all Apartments on Park and have replaced all floors, beds, curtains, bed settees and furniture over the last 18 months and we feel that our accommodation is of a good standard.
We still offer great value for money and provide great entertainments and activities for all the family but this has been expanded this year with more improvements planned very soon, watch this space.
We have entertained thousands of guests each week and have expanded our catering operation to include a self service half board service which is proving extremely popular. With all you can eat breakfast for only £4.95 and 3 course dinners for only £7.00 you can’t go wrong coming to Pontin’s.
Thanks again for your review and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Over the moon to be back home in a PROPER bed. Me, my wife and my 3 children arrived at Pontins Southport to an excruciatingly long queue. After an hour and a half we artived at pur quote on quote "chalet" only to find it vile, dirty, and extremely uncomfortable. The staff were incredibly rude and air headed and the manager of the establishment was no better.

We were meant to be going over the weekend before my children go back to school, but we left after a day due to THE most uncomfortable sleep I've ever had!

Recieved an e-mail before saying that we can have a discount the next time we stay and that there we won't recieve a refund! That clearly shows just how stingy they are!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnonymousIV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southportpontins, Manager at Pontins Southport Holiday Park, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Thanks for your review of Pontins Southport and we take your points on board. We do realise that our type of holiday is not for everyone and we do apologise if you did not enjoy yourself here.
We have invested heavily in all aspects of the Park and this is set to continue in the future and we have exciting plans for the rest of the year and the start of next season.
It is important we receive constructive criticism of our holidays and we thank you for passing on your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southport hotels
3.8 mi away
Ramada Plaza Southport
Ramada Plaza Southport
#1 of 23 in Southport
2,942 reviews
3.5 mi away
Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
3.4 mi away
Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Travelodge Southport Hotel
Travelodge Southport Hotel
#7 of 23 in Southport
679 reviews
4.2 mi away
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
#12 of 23 in Southport
415 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Bold Hotel
The Bold Hotel
#3 of 23 in Southport
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pontins Southport Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pontins Southport Holiday Park

Property: Pontins Southport Holiday Park
Address: Shore Road | Ainsdale Beach, Southport PR8 2PZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Southport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Pontins Southport Holiday Park 2*
Number of rooms: 769
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pontins Southport was Re-born in 2011 following the purchase by Britannia Hotels. All our Managers & Staff are proud to work here at Pontins Southport & proud of our recent & ongoing improvements. Our Pontins is situated on the edge of the Sand dunes & only three minutes’ walk away from one of the longest & most beautiful stretches of beach/coastline in the EU. We have a lovely village just up the road at Ainsdale. And also boast Southport on our doorstep. Not forgetting the Home of the Beatles! Just a 20 minutes train journey from Ainsdale to the amazing City of Liverpool. Or just stay here and let us entertain you. We have our World Famous Bluecoats, the Croc Crew & We also book the very best cabarets around. Including finalists from the X Factor and Britain’s Got Talent. Let us entertain you & our thousands of other returning guests this season. We have a variety of different room types available for you to choose from. We have Club rooms, Classic rooms & Popular room types for you to pick from. Or why don’t you see if out little home from home The Bungalow is available? We feel that we offer comfortable accommodation at great prices. We also offer excellent facilities and have greatly increased the number of activities on Park and this has been noticed by a great number of our guests. And our food and drink is very good value indeed, especially our eat all you want breakfast for £4.95 & our three course evening meals for £7. We have recently received a Five Star Award for Food Hygiene from the Foods Standards Agency, so you know you are receiving excellent service and also fantastic value for money. These great prices are complemented by our happy hours at the bar! So come on over to see us at Pontins Southport the party for the kids and the whole family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pontins Southport Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pontins Southport Holiday Park Hotel Southport
Pontins Hotel Southport
Pontins Resort Southport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing