We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was dreading staying but it wasn't as bad as I thought”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pontins Southport Holiday Park
Ranked #18 of 23 Hotels in Southport
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Was dreading staying but it wasn't as bad as I thought”
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

I booked 1 night here then read the reviews and was really worried, when we arrived the staff were friendly and check in was fast. We got to our chalet and found it to be clean so that was a relief. The double bed is a leather sofa bed though and is not very comfy but as we were only staying for one night it wasn't an issue. The site was clean. For the price we paid I can't moan (£39 per night).

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Shazbo78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,001 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    368
    618
    687
    445
    1,883
See reviews for
2,622
250
8
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (845)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hull united kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Just got back from 4 night stay , shally dirty and very dated , not sure we're to start , cooker still dirty, fridge rusty inside and out , windows weren't double glazed and had crack in corner, toilet had a crack in the rim , went to make the bunk beds lifted mattress and it was thick dust in between lats, floors were sticky no door on wardrobe in living room , blue coats do a great job entertaining the kids , not enough seating for a family as u only get sofa bed and table with 4 chairs , we had a lovely time but only cos we went out every day , spoke to a few people all said the same and left early , we would but didn't want to upset kids

Room Tip: Book somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rosepettle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Southport hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Overall we had a good holiday. Our apartment was clean although the furniture could have done with updating and the sofa bed didn't suit my back so we ended up pushing the beds together in the bedroom. The food was better than I expected from some of the reviews on here. The staff were friendly, in particular Gary who worked in the restaurant. He always had a friendly greeting for us and remembered that my husband always requested veggie sausages and would pop into the kitchen and request them as soon as he saw us.
We didn't use the facilities much as we went out most days so I can't comment on them.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Shyvix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Went Whit week. Andi Peters was there.
Kids 9 and 10 loved it. So much for them to do and feels very safe. Chips are gorgeous. Beach 5 mins walk away. Nisa shop reasonable. Comfy clean club apartment. 320 pounds. Check in a nightmare. Queued for 30 mins to check in.
Will visit again.:))))

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank lovegoingaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

we visited camber sands over 10 years ago and didn't expect southport to be any different, but it was clean, refurbished and you get what you pay for. This is the cheapest holiday you could possibly manage in the UK, cheaper than a B & B. We self-catered and were very happy with facilities. Activities on site were go-karting, crazy golf, cycle buggies, kiddie bingo, skateboard park, bmx track and trampolines. Southport was brilliant, as was Liverpool, and the beach is only just outside the entrance to Pontins. What more could you want? If you get a chalet you aren't happy with, ask to change, stop moaning about it on websites.

Room Tip: take some cillit bang and a cloth just in case it's not up to your standard!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kate c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We have just returned from pontine Southport. After a 4 night stay.after going to our allocated disabled chalet.I had to go back immidiatly as there was a 10 inch step no good with a wheelchair,then the floor was flooded with water,given another chalet,at least we could get

wheelchair in.but very drag and not very clean.I am a housekeeper with a chain of hotels and this place is not clean.went to the club. To watch evening entertainment,and the disgusting smell coming from the carpet.made me feel sick.only redeeming things are entertainment staff great especially blue coat called Sam .so funny he made our stay worth it,and well done to the chef,s and waiting on staff very friendly and helpful.just a pity its so filthy.

Room Tip: There ar,nt any don't expect to get any sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tazzyengland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southport hotels
3.8 mi away
Ramada Plaza Southport
Ramada Plaza Southport
#1 of 23 in Southport
2,881 reviews
3.4 mi away
Travelodge Southport Hotel
Travelodge Southport Hotel
#7 of 23 in Southport
668 reviews
3.4 mi away
Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
4.0 mi away
The Bold Hotel
The Bold Hotel
#3 of 23 in Southport
534 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Talbot Hotel
The Talbot Hotel
#4 of 23 in Southport
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pontins Southport Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pontins Southport Holiday Park

Property: Pontins Southport Holiday Park
Address: Shore Road | Ainsdale Beach, Southport PR8 2PZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Southport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Pontins Southport Holiday Park 2*
Number of rooms: 769
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pontins Southport was Re-born in 2011 following the purchase by Britannia Hotels. All our Managers & Staff are proud to work here at Pontins Southport & proud of our recent & ongoing improvements. Our Pontins is situated on the edge of the Sand dunes & only three minutes’ walk away from one of the longest & most beautiful stretches of beach/coastline in the EU. We have a lovely village just up the road at Ainsdale. And also boast Southport on our doorstep. Not forgetting the Home of the Beatles! Just a 20 minutes train journey from Ainsdale to the amazing City of Liverpool. Or just stay here and let us entertain you. We have our World Famous Bluecoats, the Croc Crew & We also book the very best cabarets around. Including finalists from the X Factor and Britain’s Got Talent. Let us entertain you & our thousands of other returning guests this season. We have a variety of different room types available for you to choose from. We have Club rooms, Classic rooms & Popular room types for you to pick from. Or why don’t you see if out little home from home The Bungalow is available? We feel that we offer comfortable accommodation at great prices. We also offer excellent facilities and have greatly increased the number of activities on Park and this has been noticed by a great number of our guests. And our food and drink is very good value indeed, especially our eat all you want breakfast for £4.95 & our three course evening meals for £7. We have recently received a Five Star Award for Food Hygiene from the Foods Standards Agency, so you know you are receiving excellent service and also fantastic value for money. These great prices are complemented by our happy hours at the bar! So come on over to see us at Pontins Southport the party for the kids and the whole family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Pontins Southport Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pontins Southport Holiday Park Hotel Southport
Pontins Hotel Southport
Pontins Resort Southport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing