We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What do people expect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pontins Southport Holiday Park
Ranked #18 of 23 Hotels in Southport
Carlisle, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What do people expect”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

After a recent trip to Vietnam, I was talking to an American ( I think he was called Dave ) anyway we got talking about hotel reviews and stuff and he made the very good point that people will only leave a review if they find something wrong. So fast forward two months and we have the chance to meet family and have a cheap break at the same time.

After a journey that took longer than we thought (roadworks at Carnforth - damn you Pontins ! ) we arrived at the site. After being shown where to go by the guy on the gate (Who was very polite and helpful - I blame Pontins) we embarked on the obvious journey into hell that was check in. After finding a parking space, we went into the abyss....

2 minutes later we were back out with out linen and keys and everything we needed - unbelievably, we had actually managed to park outside our apartment, chalet or whatever they call them these days. Upon opening the door, I was disappointed to find it was very spacious, clean and erm ... no blood on the walls. The bathroom was OK , two bedrooms and a kitchen that would put some of my previous student digs to shame. So a big tick for the accommodation.

The rest of the site was also what i expected - entertainment for a thousand people isn't going to consist of mahogany tables and cut glass crystal - the pub served beer in plastic glasses. It tasted the same but I am sure if little Chardonnay fell over and landed on one of them the its better than a trip to A & E with a half pint glass inserted in their leg.

The rest of the entertainment sounded Ok but to be honest, I wanted to watch the football in peace so had a pint and went - but at 1:30 am everyone outside seemed to have enjoyed it. And Yes, there is noise (it's a holiday camp ) and yes there are kids running about (it's a holiday camp ) but come on - you know what you are getting,

One of the unexpected delights was the beach about 5 minutes walk away - the kids loved it and thoroughly enjoyed themselves - this also applied to the swimming pool that did the trick to wear them out.

So - in conclusion - If you go with your eyes open, know what to expect you wont be disappointed. I really enjoyed it and we couldn't fault the room, the staff or the amenities. And a special mention to the chip shop ! It was wonderful :)

Chiil out people and enjoy :)

P.s o2 coverage was utter cack ( I blame pontins ;) )

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Wayne1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,996 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    368
    617
    687
    445
    1,879
See reviews for
2,620
249
8
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (845)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

I wad dreading this holiday after reading the reviews but I was pleasantly surprised. For the money we paid we couldn't complain. The room was adequate although we needed shoes on all the time as the floor was dirty. The breakfast was also a little disappointing but we found a Toby down the road, cheaper and delicious. All in all we had a good time, the entertainment was great and the staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KMBF77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Our holiday, with upgrade, only cost us £200 for five adults. We upgraded to a club apartment thinking we would get a top of the range apartment but it was a basic apartment with electric meter taken out, no doors on either of the wardrobes in the bedrooms. All of the floors in the apartment were filthy - your feet stuck to the floor! There was no sweeping brush or mop for us to clean it ourselves.
The cupboards were dirty - no way were we putting our food in them!
The apartment windows were absolutely filthy - never been cleaned for months.

However, the entertainment was pretty good each evening and the food in the restaurant was OK once you had queued for quite a long time.
Staff were very friendly and polite and the blue coat compere was hilariously funny.
Southport is only a short drive away - park at the park and ride - only £1.50 for the day and the bus is free up to the shops.
Go karts, trampolines, bikes etc. very expensive.
Just one point though - why did Good Morning Britain have loud music over the speakers so early in the morning that you could hear it all over the camp?
Overall we enjoyed the holiday but Pontins really need to get their act together to clean the apartments and the public areas.

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs apartment as there is less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carole D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

I booked 1 night here then read the reviews and was really worried, when we arrived the staff were friendly and check in was fast. We got to our chalet and found it to be clean so that was a relief. The double bed is a leather sofa bed though and is not very comfy but as we were only staying for one night it wasn't an issue. The site was clean. For the price we paid I can't moan (£39 per night).

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Shazbo78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull united kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Just got back from 4 night stay , shally dirty and very dated , not sure we're to start , cooker still dirty, fridge rusty inside and out , windows weren't double glazed and had crack in corner, toilet had a crack in the rim , went to make the bunk beds lifted mattress and it was thick dust in between lats, floors were sticky no door on wardrobe in living room , blue coats do a great job entertaining the kids , not enough seating for a family as u only get sofa bed and table with 4 chairs , we had a lovely time but only cos we went out every day , spoke to a few people all said the same and left early , we would but didn't want to upset kids

Room Tip: Book somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rosepettle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Southport hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Overall we had a good holiday. Our apartment was clean although the furniture could have done with updating and the sofa bed didn't suit my back so we ended up pushing the beds together in the bedroom. The food was better than I expected from some of the reviews on here. The staff were friendly, in particular Gary who worked in the restaurant. He always had a friendly greeting for us and remembered that my husband always requested veggie sausages and would pop into the kitchen and request them as soon as he saw us.
We didn't use the facilities much as we went out most days so I can't comment on them.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Shyvix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Went Whit week. Andi Peters was there.
Kids 9 and 10 loved it. So much for them to do and feels very safe. Chips are gorgeous. Beach 5 mins walk away. Nisa shop reasonable. Comfy clean club apartment. 320 pounds. Check in a nightmare. Queued for 30 mins to check in.
Will visit again.:))))

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank lovegoingaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southport hotels
3.8 mi away
Ramada Plaza Southport
Ramada Plaza Southport
#1 of 23 in Southport
2,879 reviews
3.4 mi away
Travelodge Southport Hotel
Travelodge Southport Hotel
#7 of 23 in Southport
668 reviews
3.4 mi away
Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
4.0 mi away
The Bold Hotel
The Bold Hotel
#3 of 23 in Southport
535 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Talbot Hotel
The Talbot Hotel
#5 of 23 in Southport
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pontins Southport Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pontins Southport Holiday Park

Property: Pontins Southport Holiday Park
Address: Shore Road | Ainsdale Beach, Southport PR8 2PZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Southport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Pontins Southport Holiday Park 2*
Number of rooms: 769
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pontins Southport was Re-born in 2011 following the purchase by Britannia Hotels. All our Managers & Staff are proud to work here at Pontins Southport & proud of our recent & ongoing improvements. Our Pontins is situated on the edge of the Sand dunes & only three minutes’ walk away from one of the longest & most beautiful stretches of beach/coastline in the EU. We have a lovely village just up the road at Ainsdale. And also boast Southport on our doorstep. Not forgetting the Home of the Beatles! Just a 20 minutes train journey from Ainsdale to the amazing City of Liverpool. Or just stay here and let us entertain you. We have our World Famous Bluecoats, the Croc Crew & We also book the very best cabarets around. Including finalists from the X Factor and Britain’s Got Talent. Let us entertain you & our thousands of other returning guests this season. We have a variety of different room types available for you to choose from. We have Club rooms, Classic rooms & Popular room types for you to pick from. Or why don’t you see if out little home from home The Bungalow is available? We feel that we offer comfortable accommodation at great prices. We also offer excellent facilities and have greatly increased the number of activities on Park and this has been noticed by a great number of our guests. And our food and drink is very good value indeed, especially our eat all you want breakfast for £4.95 & our three course evening meals for £7. We have recently received a Five Star Award for Food Hygiene from the Foods Standards Agency, so you know you are receiving excellent service and also fantastic value for money. These great prices are complemented by our happy hours at the bar! So come on over to see us at Pontins Southport the party for the kids and the whole family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pontins Southport Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pontins Southport Holiday Park Hotel Southport
Pontins Hotel Southport
Pontins Resort Southport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing