We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hell on Earth”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pontins Southport Holiday Park
Ranked #17 of 22 Hotels in Southport
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Please dont visit this dump!!! The floor in the chalet hadnt seen a mop for months, and the bedding was vile not to mention the extremely uncomfortable beds !! I would like to know what part of the all new refurbed pontins WAS actually new and refurbished as it all just looked old and shabby and the aroma of sweaty feet seemed be in the whole club house area. The carpet in the arcade was so old it has worn away we didnt eat there so cudnt comment on the food but the pool also needed some work doing as there was buts floating around I was standing on them so picked one up to see what it was and it was bits of loose tiles from the floor!! We wud of left right away but my daughter 5 ( kids dont see filth ) was excited so had to grin and bear it although we didnt stay for the while holiday duration. I know it was cheap and I only expected basic but I ALWAYS expect clean it should be standard! Since coming back I have contracted acute conjunctivitis which I have never had before and I'd stake my life that its as a result of staying at this hell hole!!! Vicky from Manchester

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
6  Thank vicster211275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southportpontins, Manager at Pontins Southport Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Thank you for your review of Pontins Southport.
We are sorry you did not enjoy your time here.
We have invested heavily in refurbishment of our Apartments and grounds and it is disappointing when standards of cleanliness or maintenance are not met.
We offer great value for money holidays and guest figures and re-bookers are continually increasing and we have provided thousands of families with enjoyable holidays at our new look Park. We have loads of new facilities to keep everyone entertained and the vast majority of our guests have a great time.
Once again we are sorry you did not enjoy yourselves but thanks again for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,286)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,715 - 2,721 of 4,286 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014

I have returned from a pontins holiday in southport 1 day earlier than planned due to the cleanliness of the overall site. I am absolutely disgusted at the cleanliness of the chalet & the overall site - the floor in the main hall was sticky on the 1st night, on the 2 nd you had to wedge your feet off the floor. We went through a sun holiday - which started off at £15 each - turned into £240 in total for half board for 6. I wouldn't mind paying that price if the cleanliness and the food was ok, however it was disgusting. Myself, mum & eldest son had upset tummies from eating the food and I have taken photos. Southport itself is s a lovely little place. I shall be putting in a complaint to the sun & pontins.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Margaret-Anne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southportpontins, Manager at Pontins Southport Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Thanks for your review of your recent stay here at Pontins and we are sorry you did not enjoy your time here.
We do apologise that you did not enjoy our product but we feel that we offer a great value for money holiday that the overwhelming majority of our guests enjoy. We continue to be very busy and welcome thousands of guests on Park each week and it has been great to receive many compliments and our highest recorded number of re-books on Park.
It is always a concern when a guest does not have a good time and we are sorry that our park did not fulfill your needs or expectations. We have looked at your operational issues and passed the comments to the relevant departments so that they can take action as necessary.
Once again thanks for taking the time to review your holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Where can I begin, we were booked into a disabled room and we had this confirmed and paid extra for this. When we got to pontins southport we could not get over how run down it is, you feel like once your in your not getting out with barbed wire fences all around the park with high concrete walls, felt like a concentration camp!
We walked through the smoke haze to get into the main building, I've never seen so many smokers and so many fag butts! Got into the noisy arcade where the reception is, difficult to hear over the noise, floors so sticky your feet stick to it especially the carpet areas, disgusting and run down, we got our keys and noted the original room had been crossed out! We drove all around the camp to find the room was not a disabled room and no good with flooded floors, went back and the next set of keys to original room to find it had people all ready in it! Back again and que to get more keys, drove round the park and found again the room had people in it, back again, 7 rooms later we were offered a top of the range room which was terrible but we stayed over night as it was now 8.30 and we were hungry, the room was ok but beds uncomfortable and sofabed really uncomfortable, no good for a disabled person. Next morning we were woken by Andy Peters voice as he was doing wheel of Fortune by the play area, then thundering bins being pulled past the room at 7 in the morning and went on and on. Back to reception again where they had no rooms left so booked us into the hotel prince of wales in South port as they could not give us the room we had paid for.
So I must add that Sue on reception was amazing and tried her hardest to sort this and got us booked into the hotel. She was lovely and a credit to the place. Unfair on the staff as they have a terrible place to work in and try hard.
The club house has sticky floors and carpets, plastic chairs, dirty toilets. The park is falling apart, run down and to be truthfull needs knocking down and a full rebuild, the feel around the park is terrible and is like a prison camp, shop is very poor, food looked so bad we just went elsewhere that one might, the repairs around the park are bodged, and no pride in what they are doing, it is a death trap, noisy and we would never go back, but the hotel was so much better and we never went back to Pontins once we were in the hotel!
My advise dont go, unless you dont mind a dirty noisy run down place to call home for a week! Never had so much stress and upset in my life, and how can they not know who is in rooms? Giving keys out to occupied rooms so how safe is your stuff in your room? Disonist people could take advantage of this.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
9  Thank 192Richard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southportpontins, Manager at Pontins Southport Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Thanks for your review of Pontins Southport and we take your points on board. We do realise that our type of holiday is not for everyone and we do apologise if you did not enjoy yourself here.
We have invested heavily in all aspects of the Park and this is set to continue in the future and we have exciting plans for the rest of the year and the start of next season.
It is important we receive constructive criticism of our holidays and we thank you for passing on your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Had a brilliant time with family, but chalet was very grubby,floor you stuck to but nothing to wash it with, we had upgraded to club but it was an old classic and you could tell, no doors on wardrobes, patio doors filthy
On the Tuesday Andi Peters was there for Good Morning Britain and there was music blearing out of the speakers at 5.30am, if a guest had being doing that they would have been evicted, says in the club please respect your neighbours when leaving the venue late at night, where was the respect for the holiday makers
we used the food restaurant but it was so unorganised and not many tables for people paying on the day however food was good

Room Tip: This is a cheap holiday if you expect 5* you will be disappointed however if you want a good cheap h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris59_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southportpontins, Owner at Pontins Southport Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Thanks for your comments regarding your recent holiday at Pontins. We certainly appreciate your positive comments about the Park and also take note of your negative feedback.
We are sorry that the accommodation was not as clean as you would expect and having spent heavily on refurbishment it is disappointing if standards of cleanliness let us down.
The New Pontins was born in February 2011 and we have seen massive improvements across the board and this will continue both short and long term. We offer great value holidays that the vast majority of our guests really enjoy which is shown by the really busy year we have had and the high proportion of returning guests.
We are continually improving all aspects of the Park from accommodation to food and better and new activities to keep everyone entertained and are confident that we really do offer something for everyone.
Please keep a look out for improvements through our website and look out for special offers and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We only paid £189 for our family of four for our 4 night break so knew it wouldn't be the height of luxury. However the apartment had dust all over the floor and something unmentionable in the kitchen sink drainer. We moved rooms on the second day which was upstairs as opposed to on the ground floor which we had originally but it was worth it as it was much cleaner. The entertainment was good they put a show on every night and even Timmy Mallett was on one night. The last night we were there was the best as Sam the Bluecoat was the compere for the night and he was hilarious. We had our free breakfast on the last day where we went to the dingiest room I have ever been to in my life it was as dark as a cinema and we couldn't see our breakfast which was mediocre and cold. However saying all this my 7 year old loved the holiday and cried on the last day because she didn't want to go home, us on the other hand couldn't wait to leave the place and get back to our creature comforts.

Room Tip: Our room that we changed to was 924 and I think the rooms in this block have been refurbished so req...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dayz_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southportpontins, Manager at Pontins Southport Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Thanks for your review of Pontins in Southport and for providing us with your feedback of your holiday.
It is important to us that our guests let us know what we are doing right and where improvements can be made and we will certainly look at your comments and make changes as necessary. We are having another busy year as a group and Southport is particularly busy and we have increased facilities again this year and have a very exciting project involving a brand new restaurant and retail outlets in the pipeline for this year.
We continue to welcome thousands of people each week and are confident that the overwhelming majority of our guests find our Park clean and welcoming with great prices and facilities. We are situated in a lovely area of the country within walking distance of a great beach and close to many local attractions.
Hopefully we might see you again soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

What an improvement Pontins. Well done. We came 3 years ago and we're very disappointed as it was in the middle if a.massive refurbishment. We decided to book a sun holiday and were given Southport. To our surprise it was lovely. Obviously you get what you pay for but as we had a very busy week we only planned on eating and sleeping here. It was very clean and had all furnishings and fittings. We couldn't fault it this time. We will be going back as we had a very comfortable few nights there. Thank you Pontins.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smfoote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

After a recent trip to Vietnam, I was talking to an American ( I think he was called Dave ) anyway we got talking about hotel reviews and stuff and he made the very good point that people will only leave a review if they find something wrong. So fast forward two months and we have the chance to meet family and have a cheap break at the same time.

After a journey that took longer than we thought (roadworks at Carnforth - damn you Pontins ! ) we arrived at the site. After being shown where to go by the guy on the gate (Who was very polite and helpful - I blame Pontins) we embarked on the obvious journey into hell that was check in. After finding a parking space, we went into the abyss....

2 minutes later we were back out with out linen and keys and everything we needed - unbelievably, we had actually managed to park outside our apartment, chalet or whatever they call them these days. Upon opening the door, I was disappointed to find it was very spacious, clean and erm ... no blood on the walls. The bathroom was OK , two bedrooms and a kitchen that would put some of my previous student digs to shame. So a big tick for the accommodation.

The rest of the site was also what i expected - entertainment for a thousand people isn't going to consist of mahogany tables and cut glass crystal - the pub served beer in plastic glasses. It tasted the same but I am sure if little Chardonnay fell over and landed on one of them the its better than a trip to A & E with a half pint glass inserted in their leg.

The rest of the entertainment sounded Ok but to be honest, I wanted to watch the football in peace so had a pint and went - but at 1:30 am everyone outside seemed to have enjoyed it. And Yes, there is noise (it's a holiday camp ) and yes there are kids running about (it's a holiday camp ) but come on - you know what you are getting,

One of the unexpected delights was the beach about 5 minutes walk away - the kids loved it and thoroughly enjoyed themselves - this also applied to the swimming pool that did the trick to wear them out.

So - in conclusion - If you go with your eyes open, know what to expect you wont be disappointed. I really enjoyed it and we couldn't fault the room, the staff or the amenities. And a special mention to the chip shop ! It was wonderful :)

Chiil out people and enjoy :)

P.s o2 coverage was utter cack ( I blame pontins ;) )

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Wayne1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southport hotels
3 mi away
Travelodge Southport Hotel
Travelodge Southport Hotel
#6 of 22 in Southport
754 reviews
3.5 mi away
Ramada Plaza Southport
Ramada Plaza Southport
#1 of 22 in Southport
3,297 reviews
3.1 mi away
Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Alexandra & Victoria
Alexandra & Victoria
#14 of 22 in Southport
515 reviews
3.2 mi away
Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
3.8 mi away
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
#11 of 22 in Southport
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pontins Southport Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pontins Southport Holiday Park

Address: Shore Road | Ainsdale Beach, Southport PR8 2PZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Southport
Price Range: £46 - £370 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Pontins Southport Holiday Park 2*
Number of rooms: 769
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pontins Southport was Re-born in 2011 following the purchase by Britannia Hotels. All our Managers & Staff are proud to work here at Pontins Southport & proud of our recent & ongoing improvements. Our Pontins is situated on the edge of the Sand dunes & only three minutes’ walk away from one of the longest & most beautiful stretches of beach/coastline in the EU. We have a lovely village just up the road at Ainsdale. And also boast Southport on our doorstep. Not forgetting the Home of the Beatles! Just a 20 minutes train journey from Ainsdale to the amazing City of Liverpool. Or just stay here and let us entertain you. We have our World Famous Bluecoats, the Croc Crew & We also book the very best cabarets around. Including finalists from the X Factor and Britain’s Got Talent. Let us entertain you & our thousands of other returning guests this season. We have a variety of different room types available for you to choose from. We have Club rooms, Classic rooms & Popular room types for you to pick from. Or why don’t you see if out little home from home The Bungalow is available? We feel that we offer comfortable accommodation at great prices. We also offer excellent facilities and have greatly increased the number of activities on Park and this has been noticed by a great number of our guests. And our food and drink is very good value indeed, especially our eat all you want breakfast for £4.95 & our three course evening meals for £7. We have recently received a Five Star Award for Food Hygiene from the Foods Standards Agency, so you know you are receiving excellent service and also fantastic value for money. These great prices are complemented by our happy hours at the bar! So come on over to see us at Pontins Southport the party for the kids and the whole family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Pontins Southport Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pontins Southport Holiday Park Hotel Southport
Pontins Hotel Southport
Pontins Resort Southport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing