We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“90's Party”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pontins Southport Holiday Park
Ranked #18 of 23 Hotels in Southport
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

Bought a groupon for us - we'd never been to a 48 hour party before, or a pontins!
Traffic was awful so we arrived a bit late but check in was a breeze with no waiting. When I booked I mentioned that my husband is a blue badge holder so we were allocated a ground floor apartment which wasn't too far from the Queen Victoria where it all happens. I was impressed that the staff organised this for us because a lot of companies wouldn't even think about it.
Whoever designed the layout of the apartment blocks is a genius. Love the way there's a one way road in a circle all the way around the site with apartment blocks on both sides.
I knew we had to pay separately for electric so I bought a card for 5 quid before we left the reception. I need not have bothered because there was 8 quid on the meter already. I put the fiver in anyway and when we left there was still credit of 9 quid!
The apartment was scruffy but clean. The walls were paper thin and people talking outside echo so you can hear everything! I'd packed earplugs so I was sorted!
The shower looked awful but it turned out to be lovely and powerful and hot.
We ate out all weekend apart from 2am jam and toast snacks.
We didn't like the queues at Pontins so went to the nearby toby carvery one night for tea and then again in the morning for breakfast.
You can see that the chalets are being refurbished but we got one of the older ones that hadn't been done up yet. Not a problem though.
We knew we were getting a bedroom with twin beds and a sofa bed in the lounge so thought we'd have separate beds for the weekend. But the sofa bed turned out to be normal height so we slept there. I must say it was the most comfortable sofa bed I've ever slept on!
The music is what it's all about. My favourite was the Kylie tribute act. But S Club Party and the chap from Liberty X was brilliant too. The girl from x factor really belted out the tunes too. The Robbie Williams tribute was pretty good.
The drinks are reasonably priced. A bottle of chardonnay was 11 quid and a pint of Tetleys was 3 quid. The whole place is just sticky. Your feet stick to floor as you walk and the tables are sticky due to spilt drinks!
There was a mix of all ages but I'd say it was mainly hen party groups of 20-30 year old girls.
Southport is a ten minute drive away and it's a good day out. So much so that we went on both Saturday and Sunday.
Being our first party we didn't dress up but we've booked for the next one and we're going all out for the 80's party. Cops and Robbers and then Club Tropicana with Bucks Fizz on stage. Can't wait. Bring it on!
Thanks to the staff who entertained us, kept us safe and worked hard behind the scenes. You did a fab job!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Derbygirl1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,254)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,661 - 2,667 of 4,254 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2014

Went on a hen do to the 90s 48hour party weekend adults only, we stopped in the club apartments they where clean and had everything you needed for a base, they have just had a refurb , we also got free newspapers, free bottle of wine and a free breakfast with our package, everything happens at the Queen Vic pub, the staff where great friendly and there was loads of them on duty so you never waited long to get served , the vodka was Smirnoff and the prices were great, no rip off that you can get in some places!!! All the staff where great and up for a fun time, the acts they had were brilliant !!! If I was to nip pick it would be over the lack of plug sockets in the apartment and the on site fish & chip shop.......the queue to get served can take over an hour towards the end of the night, will defo return!!!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Beverley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I stayed here this week and I was appalled by the state of the place!!!

Go to haven holidays instead!!! Or even better it would be cheaper to go all inclusive abroad for these prices!
Ants everywhere and when I reported it I was handed a can of ant killer and told to do it myself, not a lot for the kids to do, swimming pool out of order, half the activities weren't available and then the beach is horrific!

If you enjoy southport itself like I did, I'd advise you go in a bed and breakfast...

The only good thing about this over priced hovel is the entertainment staff! I'd give them 5 out of 5! Management completely incompetent. The whole place was over priced and just a complete let down to my previous visits to different pontins however I don't believe I could even return to these other sites after my horrific 5 day visit to this hell hole! Heartbreaking!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Stacie19844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Booked a Groupon deal for me and 3 friends. It was £199 for 3 nights which included a weekend of entertainment (90's themed).
The whole weekend was really well organised with back to back entertainment from Friday at 12pm, until the early hours of Sunday morning. We had a brilliant time, and there were no family's about, which I was concerned about. I don't mind children but if I'm going on an adult themed weekend I don't want to worry about my behaviour around children.
The rooms were basic but clean, just somewhere to crash. The breakfast was value for money and great for a hangover cure, and they serve it until about lunch time.
If you want a cheap weekend of fun with your pals, I would definitely recommend it.
If you don't like slumming it for a couple of nights, stay away.
We will be back next year!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank k1ujs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

A group of 10 of us booked Pontins for the 90's weekend & to be honest after seeing the reviews & watchdog we were expecting the worst! We could not have been more wrong!

Admittedly when you pull up it does look a bit like a 70's council estate but the rooms are clean & have all the essentials, kettle, toaster, fridge, bed etc...

The staff could not have done more to make our stay a good one, check in took 2 minutes, everyone is cheerful & up for a laugh! The bar staff were awesome, Nathan on the WKD bar is a living legend!!!

The entertainment was hilarious, most of the 90s 'celeb' bands were happy to have pics & stuff! The drinks were reasonably priced & the chippy is a bloody life saver!!

We had a walk on the beach to sort our hang overs & it was beautiful! Southport was gorgeous, shopping, fun fair, bars! Although the speed boat ride scared the living daylights out of me!

All in all you get what you pay for & it's what you make of it! If you go expecting a 5* hotel then you're in for a disappointment, if you go with an open mind & up for roughing it a little bit then you will have an amazing time!!

We will definitely be re-booking for next year!!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren987654221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

After reading all these negative reviews, I felt I had to comment on my experience of pontins . I visited pointins with my sisters for a 90s party weekend and stayed in a club apartment. Yes !! it's not five star accommodation but I found them to be basic and clean ! Which suited our purpose. Booking in was well organised and quick and we were given good information. The weekend was brilliantly organised from start to finish, both themed nights were so much fun. I really think all the brilliant staff from the cleaning team to the entertainment staff deserve a special mention. They all worked so hard to keep everything running smoothly and keep the fun going. Loved, loved, loved shania pain what a star and so funny !! All in all we had a great time and will defiantly be back in December.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank manserj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

We just spent 4 nights at pontins after reading all the bad reviews on her we were very worried as we had 2 small children and a pregnant lady in our party of 9. On arrival we checked in we were put in 2 separate blocks but after explaining that we were all together they moved us next to each other straight away with no complaints. The staff were very friendly and very helpful thought out our stay there. There rooms were surprisingly clean we had everything we needed. Unfortunately the swimming pool was closed for refurbishment but they offered all other activities for free instead of having to buy tokens so wasn't so bad all in all we had a lovely holiday and pontins doesn't deserve all the bad reviews we would gladly return again

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
4  Thank Dawn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southport hotels
3.5 mi away
Ramada Plaza Southport
Ramada Plaza Southport
#1 of 23 in Southport
3,172 reviews
3 mi away
Travelodge Southport Hotel
Travelodge Southport Hotel
#7 of 23 in Southport
739 reviews
3.2 mi away
Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
#12 of 23 in Southport
428 reviews
3.1 mi away
Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport
3.6 mi away
The Bold Hotel
The Bold Hotel
#3 of 23 in Southport
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pontins Southport Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pontins Southport Holiday Park

Address: Shore Road | Ainsdale Beach, Southport PR8 2PZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Southport
Price Range: £37 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Pontins Southport Holiday Park 2*
Number of rooms: 769
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pontins Southport was Re-born in 2011 following the purchase by Britannia Hotels. All our Managers & Staff are proud to work here at Pontins Southport & proud of our recent & ongoing improvements. Our Pontins is situated on the edge of the Sand dunes & only three minutes’ walk away from one of the longest & most beautiful stretches of beach/coastline in the EU. We have a lovely village just up the road at Ainsdale. And also boast Southport on our doorstep. Not forgetting the Home of the Beatles! Just a 20 minutes train journey from Ainsdale to the amazing City of Liverpool. Or just stay here and let us entertain you. We have our World Famous Bluecoats, the Croc Crew & We also book the very best cabarets around. Including finalists from the X Factor and Britain’s Got Talent. Let us entertain you & our thousands of other returning guests this season. We have a variety of different room types available for you to choose from. We have Club rooms, Classic rooms & Popular room types for you to pick from. Or why don’t you see if out little home from home The Bungalow is available? We feel that we offer comfortable accommodation at great prices. We also offer excellent facilities and have greatly increased the number of activities on Park and this has been noticed by a great number of our guests. And our food and drink is very good value indeed, especially our eat all you want breakfast for £4.95 & our three course evening meals for £7. We have recently received a Five Star Award for Food Hygiene from the Foods Standards Agency, so you know you are receiving excellent service and also fantastic value for money. These great prices are complemented by our happy hours at the bar! So come on over to see us at Pontins Southport the party for the kids and the whole family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Pontins Southport Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pontins Southport Holiday Park Hotel Southport
Pontins Hotel Southport
Pontins Resort Southport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing