We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pontins Southport Holiday Park
Ranked #18 of 23 Hotels in Southport
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

Great value relaxing holiday. Lots for kids to do in a safe environment. Staff very friendly and helpful, and special thanks to Lisa and Mark for everything they did for us. Accommodate adequate for a family holiday. Thinking of booking again.

Stayed: July 2014
3  Thank Elaine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,262)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,641 - 2,647 of 4,262 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2014

To put this review into perspective - we paid more for dinner out on our first night than we did 3 nights staying here, so we weren't expecting a lot. Thankfully.

We arrived at the Park after a 7 hour drive from Scotland. We spent 20mins queuing out on the main road before we could get into the park as security was checking everyone going in and out. With the nice weather, and given the very low cost we expected it to be busy. We got on to the park and I jumped out to grab the keys from reception. It was chaotic. There were signs up rather bluntly informing guests the park was full to capacity and that accommodation swaps were not possible. We were issued with our keys, our linen, an incredibly badly photocopied map of the park and a card for our electric (whipped out of the receptionists back pocket!).

As the park was full to capacity, parking on the main road was HORREDNOUS. All the spaces were full and people had parked across entrances to back car parks, across yellow lines or yellow hashed areas. Once we had found the road to take us to the car park behind our apartment (we did two loops of the park) we began to get unpacked. Our apartment was on the second floor and right on the end. When we arrived, it looked empty. There was a sofa (that doubled up as a bed), a table with 3 plastic (waiting room style) chairs. A TV that was screwed to the cabinet which was screwed to the wall. The TV had 5 channels and no remote control – you had to upgrade if you wanted a remote.

The kitchen was poorly stocked – there were only 2 glasses (both about the size of a small plastic cup). Thankfully we a picnic set with us so we just used our own.

The accommodation was neat and tidy, if a little sparse. The single beds were comfortable. The double bed was horrendously uncomfortable and we ended up swapping this for one of the single beds. The apartment looked clean – however after 10 minutes our feet/socks were black – that led me to believe the floors hadn’t been cleaned in A LONG time. The windows didn’t shut properly so you could hear some outside noise. The heaters did a good job of warming the room but be warned – they eat electricity. The shower was like those you find in the swimming pools – you have to keep pressing the button to get another 30 seconds of water! However, it was warm and a bit better than just a dribble.

When we left the park to go out for dinner we were asked by the security guard “are you coming back?”. Makes me wonder if some people had just up and left! We were issued with gate passes which had to be handed in when we returned.

I have to say, given our experience collecting keys Friday night we didn’t touch the club house/main resort for the rest of our stay. The swimming pool was closed for the weekend so all activities (which normally require tokens) were free. This meant there were a lot of children haphazardly cycling round on little carts – bumping into people, other carts and even cars.
My main issue with the stay however was the noise at night. The apartment blocks are set in courtyards which means the noise bounces off of the walls and amplifies. The walls between apartments are paper-thin and you can hear every word of a conversation – especially when your neighbours are drunk at 2.00am. Groups of children would play football in the courtyards until 2 or 3am, drunk teenagers would be screaming at each other at 3 in the morning and we were kept awake by a couple arguing for over an hour at 3 in the morning – at the other end of the courtyard.

If you go away with very limited expectations and noise at night time isn’t an issue for you I think this would be an OK park – for me it wasn’t.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank KatySense
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Having stayed at Pontins, Prestatyn last year, we decided to try another of Pontins Parks at Southport. We stayed for 3 nights from Fri June 27th – Mon 30th. Having had a good time at Prestatyn we were anticipating a good stay at Southport. On arrival, the check was smooth which was great having travelled for nearly 5 hours. We had booked half-board, although we had to queue a little to get our food. You expect noise on the camp like this but not to the degree it transpired. At 2am we were woken by 2 cars driving up and down the site with music blaring out like a disco. There seemed to be no security presence at all. An hour later we heard guests running around the chalets banging on doors and shouting very loud. Again, no security. Evening meal on Saturday night was unbelievable. The queue stretched to the door and beyond. After 45 minutes we had just reached the doors. With 2 young children, we decided to go to the local Tesco for something to eat.
Saturday night, noise and rowdy behaviour went on until 4am. Once again, no security presence. Went for Breakfast Sunday morning and the queue was the same as Saturday night. Queued for about 15 minutes but hardly moved, once again made alternative arrangements. After going back to our chalet Sunday morning we discovered that 2 of our neighbours were preparing to leave, they had had enough of the late night noise. One had even confronted the perpetrators after the continual banging on her door, but was verbally threatened. We decided it was time to visit reception to register our complaints. The gentleman we spoke to was polite and courteous. We were bemused when he told us that there were 7 security officers on duty at night, and they patrol the camp at regular intervals. We didn’t see any security at all. We were also told that if we felt threatened then not to approach the unruly guests. His solution was absolutely amazing, phone the police, then go out and tell the rowdy guests that the police have been called and they are on the way. As regards the lengthy wait for food. We were told we must realise that the camp is full and there are certain to be problems. That suggests that Pontins can’t cope if the camp is full. It appears to be quantity over quality. We found out later that Sunday breakfast didn’t finish until nearly noon, over 4 hours after it had commenced.
If you are tone deaf and don’t mind queuing for hours then Pontins Southport is perfect for you. We won’t be going back to Pontins, Southport.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KevinLowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Visited for a midweek trip as a couple for a little break away, got the trip through Groupon and for £54 it was a real bargain. Was worried after reading some of the reviews and took my own cleaning but didn't really need it, the apartments appear to have been refurbished and ours was cleaned to a reasonable standard, the floor could have done with a mop but all in all ok. I agree with some if the previous reviews the beds are awful!! Those terrible cheap nasty mattresses are just springs with a layer of cotton over the top, I've travelled all over and I have to say they are the worst I've ever encountered in a hotel anywhere. We decided to sleep on the sofa bed in the living room instead, my hubby put the bed up, sat on the edge and ended up flat on his backside on the floor, we had to put a suitcase under that side to stop it toppling over for the rest of the stay but at least it was better than the mattresses. The swimming pool was shut whilst we were there, something we should have been informed about I feel, all other activities were free that week I assume to compensate but as I'm a little big for the trampolines and don't really play crazy golf that wasn't much use to me !! Was looking forward to a swim. Lots of work going on around the site. All the staff were friendly and helpful, lovely beach just outside the gates. Didn't do half board but it looked good food and was very popular. Evening entertainment aimed at kids but as its a family holiday parks that's what you expect. Be careful if you visit Morrisons in Southport it has a pay and display carpark thats not clearly signposted, never known a Morrisons charge before, luckily we didn't get a ticket.
All in all a lovely little break in a nice area. Pontins seem to be making a real effort to improve the site.

Just received a leaflet through the post from Pontins about an 80's weekend, won't be going back until the mattresses are sorted out. Management take note !! Go and test them for yourself, Would you pay to sleep on them ??

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank Rolo68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Always surprised at the very negative reviews. Pontins provide a very good value holiday in fairly good apartments. I can not comment for the popular but the classic and club are both good. Been visiting here over the years and it has changed since Brittania took over but nice to see investment and improvements in place the pool was being upgraded and the toilets in the club house completely refurbished. Went with family on a break last year and just been to 90s weekend of which was fantastic. Staff friendly and the bar reasonably priced. A holiday here would cost aobut half of that at Haven and Butlins, etc. They also do a very cheap half board option we never did this but believe it is good.

Room Tip: These days there does not seem to be much difference between the classic and the club except with cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darren207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

It's true you only get what you pay for & my friends & i bought a cheap weekend on one of the offer websites for the 90's weekend. we weren't expecting much but it was grim. Thankfully we had to take our own bedding & towels & i wish i'd taken my own duvet & pillows. Southport as a place is beautiful & it was a hot sunny weekend my friends & i usually make the most of what we've got! we paid for our breakfast in advance & it was awful, all sausage, bacon, mushrooms, beans soggy toast, no yogurt, not a bit of fruit in sight, how much would a croissant be! there was meant to be something happening in the pool over the weekend but it was closed obviously in the middle of renovations. we decided against eating in Pontins. Southport was fantastic with great places to shop, eat & drink but if it had been a wet weekend we might have gone home. Come on Pontins I understand your rooms possibly get quite a lot of rough treatment but omg you need to shut down & renovate - the website said you'd had renovations done - where!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Allyson H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

Me, my husband and our 2 daughters (4 & 2 years old) stayed at Pontins Southport from 27th to 30th June via a cheap groupon. After checking the reviews, I was a little uneasy about coming here...

So were the negative reviews accurate? Unfortunately yes :-(

Luckily we got stuck in motorway traffic so missed the check-in queues! On walking in to our popular chalet, we were immediately hit by the smell of mould & damp. There is clearly a problem here as the lunar bar also smells of damp! It's very basic. 2 beds & sofa bed for us 4 was a squeeze and don't even bother trying to have a shower with the small trickle of water! Glad we didn't pay full-price.

Thankfully we only used the room as a base going to Liverpool on the Saturday & then pleasure land in southport, which is great for kids on Sunday.

Unfortunately a few people staying at the resort swore, shouted at their kids and behaved aggressively when in the entertainment areas. This was awful & not something I was happy for my kids to see/ hear. We didn't try the queen Vic as the buffet food didn't appeal to us. The chip shop chips were really undercooked. Avoid the arcade women's toilets later in the evening as they get filthy.

On the plus, the blue coats really do work hard! Our daughters loved the characters and kids activities. The park is also having an improved arcade section, chip shop, chinese/ Indian eatery. So things may improve.

Would we go back to Pontins Southport? Definitely not.

Stayed: June 2014
2  Thank MichelleR9990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southport hotels
3 mi away
Travelodge Southport Hotel
Travelodge Southport Hotel
#7 of 23 in Southport
751 reviews
3.5 mi away
Ramada Plaza Southport
Ramada Plaza Southport
#1 of 23 in Southport
3,237 reviews
3.1 mi away
Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
3.8 mi away
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
#12 of 23 in Southport
430 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Bold Hotel
The Bold Hotel
#3 of 23 in Southport
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pontins Southport Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pontins Southport Holiday Park

Address: Shore Road | Ainsdale Beach, Southport PR8 2PZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Southport
Price Range: £45 - £361 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Pontins Southport Holiday Park 2*
Number of rooms: 769
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pontins Southport was Re-born in 2011 following the purchase by Britannia Hotels. All our Managers & Staff are proud to work here at Pontins Southport & proud of our recent & ongoing improvements. Our Pontins is situated on the edge of the Sand dunes & only three minutes’ walk away from one of the longest & most beautiful stretches of beach/coastline in the EU. We have a lovely village just up the road at Ainsdale. And also boast Southport on our doorstep. Not forgetting the Home of the Beatles! Just a 20 minutes train journey from Ainsdale to the amazing City of Liverpool. Or just stay here and let us entertain you. We have our World Famous Bluecoats, the Croc Crew & We also book the very best cabarets around. Including finalists from the X Factor and Britain’s Got Talent. Let us entertain you & our thousands of other returning guests this season. We have a variety of different room types available for you to choose from. We have Club rooms, Classic rooms & Popular room types for you to pick from. Or why don’t you see if out little home from home The Bungalow is available? We feel that we offer comfortable accommodation at great prices. We also offer excellent facilities and have greatly increased the number of activities on Park and this has been noticed by a great number of our guests. And our food and drink is very good value indeed, especially our eat all you want breakfast for £4.95 & our three course evening meals for £7. We have recently received a Five Star Award for Food Hygiene from the Foods Standards Agency, so you know you are receiving excellent service and also fantastic value for money. These great prices are complemented by our happy hours at the bar! So come on over to see us at Pontins Southport the party for the kids and the whole family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Pontins Southport Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pontins Southport Holiday Park Hotel Southport
Pontins Hotel Southport
Pontins Resort Southport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing