We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pontins Southport Holiday Park
Ranked #23 of 28 Hotels in Southport
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Never again”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

I got there Friday 11july2014 I had 2 teenagers with me and allot of luggage. I checked in at 4 to wait well over a hour for my keys I then entered my room to broken glass on the floor a bath the size of a baby's tub and cutlery that had clearly not been washed and put back thank god I had cleaning products. Put on the plus side the entertainment was amazing would I come again??????? NEVER

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Kelly J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,834 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    343
    602
    670
    425
    1,794
See reviews for
2,506
236
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (818)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Just arrived home after a break at southport was disappointed had booked Club apartment the top of range apparently but they were almost the same as the cheaper classic popular version except you get double glazing on arrival floor was filthy the sink gave off a horrible smell like sewerage the tea and coffee pack were dried up and couldn't be used apartment not as stated should of had opening patio doors but didn't no electric socket for microwave and filthy sofa bed.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Bluesky87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Southport hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

We arrived on 7th July fearing the worst and unfortunately this was true. The apartment window leaked through into the kitchen. The're was mould in the bathroom and the food was awful. I went to the nisa shop and was scammed out of 5 pounds for scratchcards I did not buy but was added on. I noticed when I got out the shop so went back in to get my money back but was refused and the manager was hiding in the back of the shop. Clearly in on the scam

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
6 Thank Lorraine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Arrived to check in and was given chalet 920, opened the chalet door and discovered someone was staying in the room as it was full of people's belongings! Reception was full other guests that had been double booked aswell! The staff did try their best to rectify the problem & were polite but didn't seem to have a clue!!! I was eventually given another room (chalet 66) and I honestly can't tell you how filthy the floor was!! My children had to constantly wear their crocs because it was disgusting!! I'm going to post the pics I took of the floor to this site!! Thankfully we only stayed one night!! I went to reception to check out & to complain. I wasn't even asked what the problem was, just handed a slip with an address & email for a manager!!! So basically fobbed off! Don't waste your money on this hovel!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hollywhitt85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

We went there for a long weekend and didnt even stay the night,the room was filthy,bedding was badly soiled and the grandson had to keep his shoes on as the floor was so dirty.Will now avoid all Pontins.

Room Tip: Dont go!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallasey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

It almost seems Pontins has been in the limelight but for the wrong reasons recently, with the place coming under fire from BBCs Watchdog reporting lights falling and building work on show. Although following a return from the resort today, I was much pleased to say that it was really up to scratch and we had a nice time.

Check in: 5/5
When we arrived on Friday, we was not quite sure were to check in, although this was partially our fault as we missed the signs. Check in was based on your surname with it being in a A-Z check-in basis. It wasn't long before we were in our apartment.

Apartment: 4/5
The apartment its self was on a top level and real clean. Their was no dirt or dust lying around and it was just right. The apartment itself was very spacious. It included a 4 seated table (could be extended to 6), sofa bed, 2 bed rooms (2 single beds in each) and a bathroom including a shower, toilet and shaving adaptors. The only let down was that the shower had slow pressure meaning it wasn't really powerful although hand and body soap were in the bathroom to use. The beds were a little springy but sleepable on.

Dinner and breakfast: 4/5
As half board guests we were able to take full advantage of the delicious meals on offer. It was a "all-you-can-eat" style dinner and breakfast. The food variety was really good and for me, being a vegetarian, their was a few choices. You were also allowed free juice drinks as well as tea and coffee. You could buy drinks from the bar but a small cup of Coke was £1.20, but this is what you would expect from a bar (There was a onsite Nisa which sold drinks for less than £1. Breakfast the morning after was quite nice although their was no vegetarian hot meal, however, I did find out that ON REQUEST you can get vegetarian sausages but this was not clear at all.
The only downside is that the queing system is unorganized, you would have to que for around 10-15mins before you got to the food, maybe a better system could be put in place but this is keeping in mind that this is the start of summer and the season.

Staff: 5/5
We didn't have much to do with the staff as we didn't need any help but they seemed helpful and polite on check in and at the desk when we asked a question. Bluecoats seemed good on stage but we didn't end up watching them.

Facilities: 5/5
On-site their is many things to do from trampolines to go-carts. Although at the time we went the pool was shut for reasons I don't know their was plenty of other things to keep people occupied. There was Bingo every night from 7pm (please check times) for those 18+. This was quite dear for bingo but I believe big prizes (Not old enough to play) from what people said. A play area indoors was open till 8pm for children up to 10 which appeared pretty cool and fun with movies playing too! The arcade was your usual, fruit machines, 2p and 10p machines and ticket machines. Southport is only a 10 minute drive away from the resort though.

Evening entertainment: /
Whiles we didn't watch the entertainment in the evening I am unable to comment on it but the massive hall was quite full and the bluecoats were walking around and seen onstage! We sat outside in the decking area and went on the arcades in the evenings. I played my dad and a family relative a few games of air hockey too with the 5 or 6 tables dotted around.

Overall: 5/5
My dad regular says: "A holiday is what you make of it". Us our selves had a great time, we didn't go around looking to see if the carpet had been hovered or the shelves dusted, just enjoying the sun and facilities enabled us to have a fab time and this is why I have awarded a 5 star rating for my visit. The park itself is clean and looks great. The only thing is, it could get costly if you stayed on site, its like £4 to go on trampolines. I have been in the past and would of lowered the rating but now, its a lot better. The place is improving.

Would I go back? Would I recommend it? Who did you go with?
Definitely Definitely Parents, Nan, Granddad and a few other relatives.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

Just back from pontins in Southport. . After reading the reviews I was a bit worried so when we arrived we bought cleaning products. . We did not need them as our apartment was really clean, new beds etc kids cried coming home. Checking in was with in 5mins. Staff was very helpful.. the children loved the bluecoats girls and boys especially liam our chalet was beside all of theirs and he never walked pass the children without giving them a hi5. Pub price was good. Only thing they need to do is have some where to store bags as we had a late flight home trying to drag bags around and chasing 4 children was a bit mad but there was a couple of staff that helped us. Will be returning and will be telling friends

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amandafarrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southport hotels
3.8 mi away
Ramada Plaza Southport
Ramada Plaza Southport
#1 of 28 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,744 reviews
3.7 mi away
Premier Inn Southport Central Hotel
3.4 mi away
Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
3.5 mi away
Vincent
Vincent
#4 of 28 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,127 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Bold Hotel
The Bold Hotel
#3 of 28 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pontins Southport Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pontins Southport Holiday Park

Property: Pontins Southport Holiday Park
Address: Shore Road | Ainsdale Beach, Southport PR8 2PZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Southport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Pontins Southport Holiday Park 2*
Number of rooms: 769
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pontins Southport was Re-born in 2011 following the purchase by Britannia Hotels. All our Managers & Staff are proud to work here at Pontins Southport & proud of our recent & ongoing improvements. Our Pontins is situated on the edge of the Sand dunes & only three minutes’ walk away from one of the longest & most beautiful stretches of beach/coastline in the EU. We have a lovely village just up the road at Ainsdale. And also boast Southport on our doorstep. Not forgetting the Home of the Beatles! Just a 20 minutes train journey from Ainsdale to the amazing City of Liverpool. Or just stay here and let us entertain you. We have our World Famous Bluecoats, the Croc Crew & We also book the very best cabarets around. Including finalists from the X Factor and Britain’s Got Talent. Let us entertain you & our thousands of other returning guests this season. We have a variety of different room types available for you to choose from. We have Club rooms, Classic rooms & Popular room types for you to pick from. Or why don’t you see if out little home from home The Bungalow is available? We feel that we offer comfortable accommodation at great prices. We also offer excellent facilities and have greatly increased the number of activities on Park and this has been noticed by a great number of our guests. And our food and drink is very good value indeed, especially our eat all you want breakfast for £4.95 & our three course evening meals for £7. We have recently received a Five Star Award for Food Hygiene from the Foods Standards Agency, so you know you are receiving excellent service and also fantastic value for money. These great prices are complemented by our happy hours at the bar! So come on over to see us at Pontins Southport the party for the kids and the whole family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Pontins Southport Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pontins Southport Holiday Park Hotel Southport
Pontins Hotel Southport
Pontins Resort Southport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing