We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Shabby at best” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pontins Southport Holiday Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pontins Southport Holiday Park
Ranked #22 of 28 Hotels in Southport
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Shabby at best”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

We didn't expect 5 star given the price, but to say I was disappointed would be an understatement. Having upgraded to club rooms I was expecting more than what can only be described as a run down concrete block. Apartment was DIRTY and very shabby. Linen was so old and worn, beds so uncomfortable. Thinking its only a place to sleep we went to the entertainment area, again very run down hardly any machines working and very little entertainment. Have to say my 3yr old loved the kids play area. Went to the pool, disgusted! Very very dirty and again run down. I couldn't get myself to even enter changing rooms. Mould everywhere, smelly. And the pool was worse. Never again.
Pontins should be ashamed this whole place is unkempt and needs upgrading in all areas. We left early and staff were very uninterested when we told them why we were checking out after staying only 2 nights of a 4 night "holiday".

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,777 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    340
    597
    657
    420
    1,763
See reviews for
2,461
232
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (802)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

We paid £165 for 2 nights self catering for 3 adults one being my 93 year old mum who uses a wheelchair, I was assured the room was wheelchair friendly but on arrival was faced with a huge (over 1 foot high step) a security guard came over to help us lift her up the step and rang to get us a ramp. The ramp never appeared even though we contacted reception. The bathroom door did not lock in fact the catch was broken so had to get up in the night to let my distressed mum out. The towel rail was broken and on the floor, the room was dirty the windows filthy and rusty saucepans there was a picture on the wall which had been defaced and wasn't very pleasant to look at!! The whole place needs closing down and sorting out I wouldn't recommend it to wheelchair uses or anyone with an ounce self respect. A total waste of money. I have emailed a complaint lets just see if I get a reply!!!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank Malndez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Southport hotels

Stanley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

i last stayed here 40 years ago as a child and I don't thing much has changed since then!
The chalet was dirt and dated. old grey school type chairs for dinning table. Two wardrobes, one in living area, other in bedroom both had doors removed.
two single beds with very old very used mattresses, could feel every spring. Double fold down bed in living area, faux leather, dated very uncomfortable as hard and tips over if you are near edge!
Duvets and pillows disgusting, very old and no life left in them.
Half board......all you can eat english breakfast, the worst ever, poor quality ingredients, badly cooked, covered in grease. All you can eat evening meal......only slightly better than breakfast! Dinning area fine.
Activities for kids, basic but kids easily amused so ok.
Bar area and main events hall. Drinks not cheap and floor and tables always dirty.
Don't go half board as you can go out just as cheaply or cook your own and get nicer food.
Southport itself is a lovely area with nice shops and relaxed atmosphere.
The beach a stones throw from camp and you can even park the car on it as tide so far out but charge for this is £5 during day.
Go to Crosby beach 15 minutes by car south. Lovely and you can see Anthony Gormley structures on beach. Formby beach also meant to be very nice and nearer but we did not go.
Do not pay brochure price for your chalet or you will be very disapointed, go for Pontins cheap deal as they come up all the time.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandrawhite3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canvey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

just got back from pontins southport suffered 4 days at this place would never go to any pontins
again after this experience so called entertaiment rubbish food rubbish chalets dirty what more can i say.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wavestravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

Arrived on Monday 14th after a long eight hour drive with three children aged 13, 6 and 3, check in was easy and directions were simple to follow! Arrived at our room, dirty glasses still on the window sill, clothes still hanging from the back of the door, windows didn't close, every single dish was filthy. Luckily we took all our own bedding so we knew it was clean, where the apartment was located was fine, however the neighbours left a lot to be desired! The drinks were expensive the chip shop was disgusting! This was a £15 pee person sun holiday plus entertainment passes so price wasn't too bad, however I will never return

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zoe2010jr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

Right before I write this review, I want to verify that my family and I had a great time inspite of the flaws and the staff are great!!!
Went to the apartment and checked it out and it was bad, real bad. It was dirty but as the price was so low, I accepted it and just cleaned for an hour. Our feet were black with dirt after walking on the floor!!! The beds are terrible, they are so uncomfortable, my partner and I slept on the floor on the last night!!!!
This is not the worst of it, I am not posh in any way but let me tell you some of the guests were so rough I was scared. The people downstairs had parties every night till 4am and there was no security to tell them to keep the noise down. We were too scared to tell them. On the final night, whilst sleeping on the floor, we awoke to people shouting and it was the police!!!! Five police cars and a dog unit and this is meant to be a safe place for our kids. Again, no security staff at all.
Finally, a minute issue is that the pound shop has only a few items, all the rest is really over priced junk.
On the plus side, the beach is awesome and the pool is OK. The entertainment at night for the kids is brilliant and the blue coats are great with the kids.

Room Tip: Go for club apartments only
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emma g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

Having booked this through Official site and upgrading it makes me wonder what the upgrade was....
After trying to cancel this booking after reading the reviews we were told because it was under 56 days to the holiday we would lose our money, we decided to guve it a go.
Beds were matted, floors sticky and in need of a good brush and wash.The bedroom windows were mouldy, dirty and the room had a stench about it.
The cooker never worked and as for the pull down sofa bed...well the less said the better.The smell was terrible throughout if we kept the door closed, which we had to due to the drunks in the adjoining rooms sitting outside drinking and smoking cannabis, which no staff challenged.
No security guards and we even had the police onsite the 2nd night.
Price's for kids activities were unbelievably high, £5 for a quick shot of the go-karts.
Nothing of room 29 looked like the rooms in the brochure-false advertising I would say.
Would I book again.......Would I Hell

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank dean t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southport hotels
3.8 mi away
Ramada Plaza Southport
Ramada Plaza Southport
#1 of 28 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,687 reviews
3.4 mi away
Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport
3.3 mi away
Travelodge Southport Hotel
Travelodge Southport Hotel
#7 of 28 in Southport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Premier Inn Southport Central Hotel
3.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
3.5 mi away
Vincent
Vincent
#4 of 28 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pontins Southport Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pontins Southport Holiday Park

Property: Pontins Southport Holiday Park
Address: Shore Road | Ainsdale Beach, Southport PR8 2PZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Southport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Pontins Southport Holiday Park 2*
Number of rooms: 769
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pontins Southport was Re-born in 2011 following the purchase by Britannia Hotels. All our Managers & Staff are proud to work here at Pontins Southport & proud of our recent & ongoing improvements. Our Pontins is situated on the edge of the Sand dunes & only three minutes’ walk away from one of the longest & most beautiful stretches of beach/coastline in the EU. We have a lovely village just up the road at Ainsdale. And also boast Southport on our doorstep. Not forgetting the Home of the Beatles! Just a 20 minutes train journey from Ainsdale to the amazing City of Liverpool. Or just stay here and let us entertain you. We have our World Famous Bluecoats, the Croc Crew & We also book the very best cabarets around. Including finalists from the X Factor and Britain’s Got Talent. Let us entertain you & our thousands of other returning guests this season. We have a variety of different room types available for you to choose from. We have Club rooms, Classic rooms & Popular room types for you to pick from. Or why don’t you see if out little home from home The Bungalow is available? We feel that we offer comfortable accommodation at great prices. We also offer excellent facilities and have greatly increased the number of activities on Park and this has been noticed by a great number of our guests. And our food and drink is very good value indeed, especially our eat all you want breakfast for £4.95 & our three course evening meals for £7. We have recently received a Five Star Award for Food Hygiene from the Foods Standards Agency, so you know you are receiving excellent service and also fantastic value for money. These great prices are complemented by our happy hours at the bar! So come on over to see us at Pontins Southport the party for the kids and the whole family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Pontins Southport Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pontins Southport Holiday Park Hotel Southport
Pontins Hotel Southport
Pontins Resort Southport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing