We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous”
Review of Vincent

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Vincent
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in Southport
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Gorgeous”
Reviewed 2 March 2013

My boyfriend took me to this beautiful hotel for my birthday in November 2012. The staff were wonderful, nothing was too much trouble. The decor of the rooms is modern and tidy. The beds are the best feature, stunning bedding and so comfortable! The only other place I have slept so well was in Dubai, so the standards here are high! Excellent value for money, would highly recommend the breakfast, especially in bed if you pay the extra!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheVincentHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Vincent, responded to this review, 2 April 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review the VINCENT, and remembering us from last November! We are extremely glad that your stay made such an impression, and we are on par with Dubai!
For your next visit you will be glad to hear that we now have new carpets in the hotel, an exciting little update on our room décor. Also the beds are still as comfy and big, perfect for when eating your breakfast in bed!
We will look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    645
    295
    106
    51
    47
See reviews for
155
565
34
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2013

Having received a gift to see the Hairy Bikers Live show in Southport, we decided to stay over for the night. My daughter and fiance had stayed at the Vincent Hotel previously and recommended it to us. On arriving at the hotel we were greeted by a friendly doorman who offered to valet park our car and he took our luggage to reception. We were immediately impressed with the decor of the hotel and the efficient friendly welcome from the receptionist. Our bedroom was beautiful and overlooked Lord Street, it was spacious with a king sized bed, which was so luxurious and comfortable. We had dinner in the hotel restaurant and, as fellow restaurateurs who are usually critical and fussy about food, we had the most beautiful and succulent fillet steak cooked to perfection. It is quite expensive to eat but as we always say "you get what you pay for" and this was well worth it. The members bar is stunning and non intrusive; service, selection of wines and cocktails were superb, again expensive, but you felt special to be in there. We were even joined by the Hairy Bikers in there after the show, who were also staying at the hotel! Breakfast was fresh, cooked to order (again approved by us) and the ingredients were of excellent quality. On checking out the very friendly and helpful doorman collected our car for us. We will definitely look forward to a return visit to this superb hotel.

Room Tip: We chose the V studio room (room 304), which overlooked the main street and was of superb quality, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cameron721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheVincentHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Vincent, responded to this review, 2 April 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a lovely review of the VINCENT hotel. We are very glad that you had such a lovely stay here, and we managed to meet the standards of fellow restaurateurs!
We hope that we will see you again soon, whether it is for another event, or just a relaxing night away from your own business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 February 2013

My husband booked a table at The Vincent to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We were greeted warmly and shown to our table. Drinks order taken swiftly. The restaurant was fairly busy and had a bustling atmosphere. Menu choice had a good variety. We opted for squid and spring rolls which were presented beautifully and absolutely delicious. For our mains we ordered pork belly and steak. Both were cooked to perfection, good sized portion. We both couldn't manage a dessert as we were too full so opted for another bottle of wine instead. The staff were attentive and took us through to the bar area to finish our drinks in there. We will definitely be returning and have recommended The Vincent to friends and family. We had a fantastic meal/evening. Couldn't fault it!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheVincentHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Vincent, responded to this review, 2 April 2013
Thank you very much for writing such a lovely review of your celebratory evening at the VINCENT!
The V-Café is very popular both for locals and tourists in Southport, and we are glad that we were able to provide you with a relaxing and enjoyable evening.
We will look forward to your next visit to the VINCENT, whether for a meal, drinks or even a little overnight getaway!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancs
Level Contributor
71 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We booked a special deal for Sunday night stay with Breakfast, valet parking and 2 course evening meal. What a fantastic deal!!! We had a lovely time, very relaxed and well taken care of! My only negative would be the room lighting which is quite subdued and the bedroom mirror is tinted which makes it difficult to check your appearance in. other than this minor gripe I have to say its a great hotel in a lovely location and well worth a visit especially on a great sunday night deal!!

Room Tip: Our room was a standard and was excellent. Can only assume that corner studio and suites would be a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traceyGLancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheVincentHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Vincent, responded to this review, 2 April 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our VINCENT Diamond Sunday Special on Trip Advisor!
On your next visit to the VINCENT, please note that we have light up vanity mirrors available from reception if you would like one for getting ready in the evenings.
We are very happy that you felt well taken care of by the staff, and we shall look forward to welcoming you back to the VINCENT and V-Café.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Stayed here on Saturday night with my husband. We arrived mid afternoon and was greeted by a lovely receptionist. Check in was easy and quick. Our room had a king size bed but was located at the back of the hotel, so didn't have a nice view. The room was very modern and loved the expresso machine. It was spotless and the shower was great. I have to agree with some of the other reviews that the lighting was very bad and the room was very dark.

We tried to book a table in the restaurant and couldn't get in. The receptionist then on the desk was less than helpful, so we ate at Prezzo down the road which was lovely, and very reasonable. We came back to the hotel bar afterwards, and after purchasing several cocktails and a bottle of fizz, and they weren't cheap, was told that our bar stools would be taken away in 5 minutes, how rude. We wasn't even offered alternative seats. There was a couple of Liverpool football players in at the time, and we wasn't sure if they'd asked for a private section. Either way, we were residents of the hotel, and found this to be totally out of order.

We didn't stay for breakfast so can't comment on that. All in all, it's a very nice hotel, and the location is superb, but a couple of customer service issues that could have easily been avoided has totally put me off this hotel.

Room Tip: Try and get a room at the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle&Hol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheVincentHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Vincent, responded to this review, 2 April 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay at the VINCENT on Trip Advisor.
We are very glad to hear that you loved the little details in the room such as the espresso machine. Just a quick note that if you stay with us again, all of our studio rooms, and some corner studios are front facing, just request on booking!

Due to the popularity of the McGee bar, especially on Saturday nights, the bar stools do get taken away to make room for customers and also for some dancing! I am sorry that you were not offered alternative seats, perhaps the seating around the tables were reserved or full at the time.

I am very glad that you enjoyed the VINCENT hotel, and will pass on any concerns. I hope that we will be welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013 via mobile

This is a very nice, well situated hotel in the middle of Lord St.
Myself and my girlfriend were up from London visiting friends for 2 nights.
On arriving at the Hotel we were greeted by a very friendly doorman and smiley efficient receptionists. Our room was modern with 2 beds joined together but not so as you would notice. The bathroom is one of the nicest most modern I have ever come across. The room is a little on the dark side
In the evening and my girlfriend moaned that she needed more light to apply make-up, dry her hair etc. (Maybe the management could supply make-up mirrors with a light, my girlfriend has one at home)
My only minor complaint about the room is, there are only 2 White cotton pillows on the bed with about 5 or 6 Lounge pillows, the next time I visit I will request a couple more cotton pillows.
We dined in the Restaurant on Sat night,
(my friends made the booking), it was fully booked the whole evening. As a restaurateur I can be quite fussy when it comes to service but as busy as it was the service was superb. All 5 of us really enjoyed our meals.
The lounge bar is small with a mainly 25-35
Age group. My group average age 50 had 4 or 5 drinks but the music wasn't to our liking so we left. From a professional point of view
as no-one danced the whole time we were there (about 1 1/2 hrs) I would question the Dj's choice of music, if you can't string half a dozen dance tracks together then maybe you are in the wrong game.
On Sunday morning we decided to eat from the A La Carte breakfast menu as we don't really like breakfast buffets, yet again the service was great but for some reason the chef COOKED my Smoked Salmon in about 6 very runny Scrambled eggs, the reason we ordered from the menu was so that we would have our breakfasts cooked individually but the chef obviously spooned about 12 eggs worth of Scrambled from the buffet Tray that he was replenishing. (my girlfriend had Scrambled eggs on toast)
To sum up, as busy as the hotel was with wedding parties, full restaurant and very busy VIP festooned bar, everything seemed to run very smoothly.
Well Done
PS See you in the summer



  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Papajohnsmoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheVincentHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Vincent, responded to this review, 2 April 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review the VINCENT hotel on Trip Advisor.
I am very happy to note that you really enjoyed your stay, and that you were impressed at the smooth service even when busy.
I am very sorry that you weren’t totally happy with your breakfast on the Sunday morning, and I shall pass this on to the restaurant.
Just to note we do supply vanity mirrors on request from reception, and also any extra pillows, just to help with getting ready for your night out, and to make relaxing the next morning more comfortable!
We shall look forward to welcoming you back to the VINCENT in the summer for another smooth stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Amazing hotel, can not complain about anything! , the staff on reception were lovely when we were checking in and checking out. The hotel is spotless loved the room it was gorgeous, the bed was huge and so comfy! Everything was immaculate the bathroom was really modern with the deepest bath i have ever seen! Overall the hotel is the nicest hotel i have ever stayed in after staying here i have stayed in the Hilton in Liverpool and it does not have a patch on this hotel and was a lot more money, i will always compare every other hotel to this and it will take a lot to beat my wonderful stay at the vincent :) would definitley stay again!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgiexx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheVincentHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Vincent, responded to this review, 2 April 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review the VINCENT hotel on Trip Advisor, we are incredibly happy that we are now your bench mark for high standards in a hotel!
Our beds are winners of the Comfiest Bed Award in the North West, which is a reason in itself for a stay here! I am glad that you seemed to enjoy all the other aspects of the hotel during your stay aswell.
We will look forward to welcoming you back to the VINCENT with open arms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southport hotels
0.3 mi away
Ramada Plaza Southport
Ramada Plaza Southport
#1 of 24 in Southport
2,835 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Bold Hotel
The Bold Hotel
#3 of 24 in Southport
512 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Southport Hotel
Travelodge Southport Hotel
#7 of 24 in Southport
653 reviews
0.1 mi away
Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport
0.6 mi away
Baytrees Hotel
Baytrees Hotel
#8 of 24 in Southport
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vincent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vincent

Property: Vincent
Address: 98 Lord Street, Southport PR8 1JR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Southport
#3 Luxury Hotel in Southport
#4 Family Hotel in Southport
#4 Romantic Hotel in Southport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Vincent 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Vincent Hotel The Vincent Hotel, Southport is a unique lifestyle hotel for the North West of England. Situated on Lord Street, Southport’s Parisienne Boulevard, the Vincent takes comfort and personal service to new heights – all within a fresh, stylish and contemporary interior. We look forward to taking care of you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vincent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vincent Hotel Southport
Vincent Southport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing