We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in southport”
Review of Vincent

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Vincent
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Southport
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Best hotel in southport”
Reviewed 3 April 2013

This may be only down to the fact that most hotels in southport in terms of interier match the average age of Southports population.

This once was a fantastic place to visit back in the day, now all it seems to have to offer in terms of entertainment is the same in which a big major city would have (A cinema and bowling)

The old theme park looks like a script for a dogey american horror film, and as for lord street dont dare shout "Granny" as the whole place will come to a stand still and turn around.

Anyhow, going back to the hotel, this hotel has everything to offer you in what you would want for a hotel visit.

The staff are friendly.

Rooms are clean and tidy.

Your bags are always taken to your room and collected if you ring reception.

The valet parking is quick and simple to use.

And the bar and food are very tasty.

Ive stayed here 3-4 times now with my missus and when visiting southport (for family) this is the only place id stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pmash88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheVincentHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Vincent, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Thank you very much for your great review of the VINCENT on Trip Advisor!
It is great to hear from returning guests, and I am glad that we are the breath of fresh air that you look for when you visit Southport.
We do attract a mixed crowd to the VINCENT, as long as you’re up for a good time we don’t mind! Especially Saturday nights in the McGee bar!
We will look forward to welcoming you back to -V- the next time you are visiting, and hope it wont be too far in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    661
    306
    108
    52
    50
See reviews for
160
583
34
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

just had a 2 night stay at the Vincent and this is the blueprint for a boutique hotel, therefore if you like and understand boutique hotels then this is for you. There are many pluses and minuses for the Vincent. The staff are incredible, friendly and nothing is too much trouble. Whilst no parking for some could be an issue the parking service at £15 is not too bad. The hotel is very dark, and this could bother some. My room despite being a studio had no easy chair and just a desk chair meaning someone had to sit on the bed. The bed, advertised as an emperor was in fact a zip lock double and not ideal with the inevitable joining ridge, Our room overlooked Lord St, nice view but at the weekend the noise outside goes on until 5 (yes 5 am), the bathroom was great and the bath/shower very quirky.
The restaurant was great, but does get busy. If you are later down for breakfast then the choice remaining is not always great.
The main minus for me is the lack of a public area for a coffee or just to read the paper. The hotel bar is very small (albeit v chic) and at weekend is dominated by the local gliterazzi, no allowance is made for residents.
Therefore is you are looking for a hip hotel then this is the place for you, if you require a bit more function then the Ramada (with their mad and unpredictable pricing) might be for you

Room Tip: I would go for a corner studio
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alwaystravelling042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheVincentHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Vincent, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review the VINCENT hotel on Trip Advisor!
We are delighted that you clearly enjoyed many aspects of your stay. You seem to understand the quirks of boutique hotels, and obviously that being in the centre of a town can have certain limitations, such as public parking.
We feel that we do offer a great service and make guests feel welcome and comfortable whilst staying with us. We have a great location onto Lord Street, award winning comfy beds, an AA Award winning restaurant with the V-Café. The McGee bar was also awarded Best Bar in the area!
If you want a special and unique stay, then the VINCENT is definitely the place to choose!
I hope that we will be welcoming you back again with open arms on your next visit to Southport!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mancunium
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We made a bank holiday trip to Southport for some sea air and a bit of recreational shopping for Lady Mancunium, and decided that since we hadn't eaten at the Vincent for some time we would give it a try for a quick "grab a snack" lunch.

How glad can you be that you found a parking spot nearby and made that decision? We opted for the "Soup and Sushi" option preceded by a dish of olives and toasted ciabatta with oil and balsamic for dipping.

It always delivers and it would be fair to say that by the time we added a couple of drinks, a sweet and coffees we shelled out £44 - but ask me whether this represented value for money and I would shout YES YES YES!!!

The Tom Yam soup was a triumph of both taste and complexity, whilst the 6 pieces of sushi were fresh, tasty and well composed (especially the crispy prawn roll which was DELICIOUS). The sweet of apple and blackberry crumble with real vanilla custard (taxed by her ladyship) was delicious and served piping hot - a brilliant end to the meal.

Service can be a bit patchy when the place is full, but it is always attentive and in fairness when serving freshly prepared food of this standard, the kitchen must be stretched.

All in all a glorious "snack" savoured rather than rushed and will certainly not be the last visit that I make to the restaurant at the Vincent.

Room Tip: This is a restaurant review, but if the food matches the hotel, it has to be with a visit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mancunium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheVincentHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Vincent, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Thank you very much for your wonderful review of the V-Café on Trip Advisor!
We are delighted that your ‘grab and go’ snack turned into a sit and savor lunch date! The sushi in the V-Café is fabulous, and we also have our Gringo Sushi menu – sushi for non sushi lovers! A huge hit from day one, and a really unique dining experience!
I hope that you will make another trip over to Southport soon for another mouthwatering bite from our menu! Perhaps have a stay over to enjoy more courses?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
328 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

This is probably one of the best hotels in the north west currently. I'd recommend a room on one of the higher floors overlooking Lord St because the view across the top of the buildings out beyond the beach to the sea is lovely on a brighter day. V decent sized rooms & v helpful staff. The bar is probably best avoided on a Friday/Saturday night if you just want a quiet drink & the food can vary. Wish they actually cooked the breakfast for you because whilst the ingredients are actually good, the buffet style is unappealing. But still worth the money & a very nice place to stay & venture to Liverpool or Lancashire if you want to.

Room Tip: Higher floor overlooking Lord St.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarristerLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheVincentHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Vincent, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review the VINCENT on Trip Advisor!
Southport can be very beautiful, the view from the top floors out to sea - especially from the Penthouse hot tub - are fantastic!
Our McGee bar is incredibly popular especially at the weekend, so it does get very busy, however earlier on it is perfect for a quiet drink before or after dinner.
I am very sorry that the presentation of the buffet breakfast was not to your liking, however as you mentioned, the ingredients are all high quality and delicious nonetheless!
I hope that we will be welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2013

We recently enjoyed a 2 day break at the Vincent. It's a boutique hotel in the middle of Lord Street in Southport. At £75 per night for 2 inc breakfast (Monday/Tuesday) it was a lower price than Trip Advisor had on the website. The room was very comfortable though the bath was unusual and had a step in it?! We were advised when booking NOT to include dinner in package which proved to be good advice as a 3 course £14.95 menu proved to be excellent value and quality which we would recommend. Breakfast was excellent also. Staff were all very helpful. Car was parked in compound by hotel staff for a cost of £15 per night but being able to drop car off at entrance then collect from there when required made the cost extremely good value. Would go back to this hotel if in area and happy to recommend.

Room Tip: Our room was other side of hotel from Lord Street and very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheVincentHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Vincent, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review of the VINCENT on Trip Advisor!
It is always great to feel that you are getting a good value for money, and it sounds like you certainly did when booking for cheaper than expected!
The Gourmet Dinner Menu which is available in the V-Café Monday – Thursday is brilliant value! Although the rest of the V-Café menu is certainly not overpriced for the quality of food and service!
I shall pass on your fantastic comments to the VINCENT team, and I hope that we will welcome you back soon on your next break away!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skelmersdale, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013

visited for my sisters 50th wanted a spa treatment as well, the first thing is the staff are so friendly yet professional, we were taken to our room and shown the hotel, the rooms are funky with huge beds, the food was superb and sushi bar fantastic, breakfast was lovely with exceptional home made baked beans, nothing is an effort here its old skool service with a very friendly touch, Andy the restaraunt mgr is great and everyone remembers your name , yes the cocktail bar is small but the bar staff know how to make a cocktail!, i wouldnt go anywhere else in southport now ive been there .....would recommend to all....

Room Tip: we had a corner interconnecting suite no ac noise, was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank looyates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheVincentHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Vincent, responded to this review, 8 April 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to post such a lovely review of the VINCENT on Trip Advisor!
We like to make our guests feel well looked after; be a place where nothing is too much trouble, and your stay feels personalized and welcoming! It seems that we were able to provide this for you and that is fantastic!
I shall pass on the wonderful comments to the chefs, restaurant and our bar team!
We will look forward to your next visit to the VINCENT, and hope that it isn’t too far in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2013

The Vincent is a great stopover if you are in Southport. Its right in the town centre. It has a swanky boutique look in the public areas. Rooms are very cool with lots of upmarket touches like a coffee machine, a huge tank bath and nice lighting. Staff are good and did a nice job of getting flowers to and breakfast in bed up to us on Mother's day. On the pricey side but a nice treat.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jepa320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheVincentHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Vincent, responded to this review, 8 April 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review the VINCENT on Trip Advisor.
We are very happy that we were able to give you a special Mothers Day treat, and that you enjoyed the little extras we provide, such as the Nespresso machine in the rooms. We do like to this of ourselves as a little different, with a unique style compared to other hotels in the area.
I hope that we will be able to welcome you back on your next visit to Southport, or when you are next celebrating an important day,
Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southport hotels
0.3 mi away
Ramada Plaza Southport
Ramada Plaza Southport
#1 of 23 in Southport
2,946 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Bold Hotel
The Bold Hotel
#3 of 23 in Southport
545 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Southport Hotel
Travelodge Southport Hotel
#7 of 23 in Southport
681 reviews
0.1 mi away
Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport
0.2 mi away
The Talbot Hotel
The Talbot Hotel
#6 of 23 in Southport
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vincent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vincent

Property: Vincent
Address: 98 Lord Street, Southport PR8 1JR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Southport
#3 Luxury Hotel in Southport
#4 Romantic Hotel in Southport
#4 Family Hotel in Southport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Vincent 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Vincent Hotel The Vincent Hotel, Southport is a unique lifestyle hotel for the North West of England. Situated on Lord Street, Southport’s Parisienne Boulevard, the Vincent takes comfort and personal service to new heights – all within a fresh, stylish and contemporary interior. We look forward to taking care of you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, LateRooms, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Vincent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vincent Hotel Southport
Vincent Southport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing