We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No sleep in Southport”
Review of Vincent

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Vincent
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in Southport
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“No sleep in Southport”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

I don't tend to complain in my reviews very often i save it until its warranted but i felt as i was awake due to the rave and bottle smashing going on below me i may aswell write a review.
I have called reception twice to complain about the noise from a party going on 2 floors below me (i feel sorry for the second floor) they told me we will close the doors, i called again not sure if the doors were closed as i could still hear every single word of the song being played. I asked to move rooms but apparently sold out (until we spoke to a manager where magically a room became available). The good part was the room was nice but spend the money on soundproofing not on fancy villeroy and boch bathrooms and you won't have me complaining.

The website states 'the Vincent takes comfort and personal service to new heights' my main gripe with this statement is why did i have to go downstairs and request to speak to a manager just so i can get to sleep, a call to reception should of been all it took to show that personal service. This is a cheap hotel don't get me wrong we paid just over a £100 and i don't expect the world for that but i do expect to be able to go to sleep when i want.

When i got to see a manager it was sorted very quickly and we were moved to the 5th floor (which i am now in and it is quiet) so credit where credits due and this is the only reason it is getting a poor not a terrible but still for the reviews saying this is like a 5 star hotel in London i would say you either have never stayed in a 5 star hotel in London or your idea of a 5 star hotel is a very loud bar/club/wedding venue with worse soundproofing than a travelodge! 5 star in Southport possibly but London that is laughable. I am now off to get some sleep finally night all!

Room Tip: Do not stay here if you want a relaxing nights sleep, the bar turns into a club later on in the nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DS84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    645
    295
    106
    51
    46
See reviews for
155
565
34
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,007 reviews
169 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 488 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

As well as being huge, the bed was so comfortable - excellent nights sleep. Can't remember which type of room we had, might have been a studio, which was a great size overlooking Lord Street, but suspect even the basic rooms will be nice. Breakfast was great. Gym was a bit of a disappointment in that it was so small, but then aren't all hotel gyms. Excellent.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jilllian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest H, Front Office Manager at Vincent, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Thank you for your review. Our beds are indeed very comfortable, we agree. The room you were in is a V Studio, overlooking Lord Street, however, our V Residence rooms provide just the same comfort & amenities, just without the view! See you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Chose the Vincent as a base to attend nearby evening wedding function - and a positive experience it turned out to be. Spotlessly clean bathroom - deep soaking tub, good shower. Bedroom with super king-size comfy bed and luxurious soft pillows proved conducive to a splendid night's kip, so no worries here about being Sleepless in Southport. Enjoyed a couple of drinks in the hotel's cool and trendy bar, which is adorned with some fab photography while buffet brekkie next morning was decent enough. Staff efficient and very friendly - from knowledgeable porter, breakfast waiter/waitress through to reception. If modern boutique floats your boat then look no further than this smart and fetching number smack bang in the heart of northern seaside town. It's a winner.
John W, Swansea.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johndwalters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest H, Front Office Manager at Vincent, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Thank you for your review. We too agree with you about our award winning beds, the comfiest around for sure! So pleased your experience at VINCENT was a positive one. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Took my mum along to the Vincent for a 90th Birthday Sunday Lunch. Meal was excellent. Staff were attentive, polite and respectful, particularly to my mum. The whole surroundings were immaculate. All of our party were delighted with the meal and drinks. Will definitely be back soon. Thank you to all at the Vincent for making our lunch a special treat.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LiverpoolCurryman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest H, Front Office Manager at Vincent, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Thank you for your review of the 'V Cafe & Sushi Bar' the whole team were delighted with your comments and are so glad you enjoyed your experience. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

Booked the Pent House suite as a birthday present for my husband. Nice experience overall - although luxurious enough, some of the finer touches were amiss in the suite - such as a sink with no plug making it difficult for a man to shave! Bit odd to say the least. Also minor maintenance issues like light bulbs out and TV that didn't work in the bathroom and lounge - though for us we weren't bothered as we're not big TV watchers. The hotel is very nice, staff very pleasant and helpful and the food in the V Cafe was very good. Difficult to find fault otherwise although we felt the PH Suite is a tad on the expensive for what it is.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Katfish_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest H, Front Office Manager at Vincent, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Thank you very much for your feedback. We are pleased to hear you had a fab time in our penthouse suite. We have noted these few issues with maintenece, thank you. Hope you can return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

we only went in for lunch and that was enough - no more - thankfully we were not staying there - staff taking dishes away while we were trying to eat and even picked my plate up before I had finished - wanted to relax but impossible to do that here - staff too fussy - meal was not good either, very fatty and chewy - once was enough

Room Tip: think twice - plenty of better hotels not far away -
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank larry b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest H, Guest Relations Manager at Vincent, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Dr Ball

Thank you for again sharing your comments with us - We have reviewed the concerns you have raised with us on three separate occasions now and we are still not able to give you a complimentary meal. As we have explained had you let us know on the day you didn't enjoy your food - we could have immediately rectified this.

You threatened that you were going to discredit us as we were unable to give you a free meal and that is what it seems you aim to do. I am hopeful that others who read your comments will view them alongside the many positive comments we have received.


Sadly it seems we are just not for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

My Husband and I stayed at the Vincent for 1 night at the end of February as an anniversary treat. We had a couple of drinks out in Southport then returned to the hotel to eat. The restaurant was very busy and I would definitely advise booking a table beforehand. However, the food was good and the price reasonable.
After eating, we called into the hotel bar 'for one drink'...but ended up spending the evening there as it was cosy with a good atmosphere.
All of the staff at the hotel were helpful and friendly.
Couldn't fault the room for cleanliness or comfort. We would definitely return and strongly recommend to anyone visiting Southport.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisa w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest H, Front Office Manager at Vincent, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Thank you for your review. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed our hotel, including the V Cafe & Sushi Bar & Cocktail Bar. As you mentioned we are incredibly popular and so booking is definately advisable. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southport hotels
0.3 mi away
Ramada Plaza Southport
Ramada Plaza Southport
#1 of 24 in Southport
2,835 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Bold Hotel
The Bold Hotel
#3 of 24 in Southport
513 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Southport Hotel
Travelodge Southport Hotel
#7 of 24 in Southport
652 reviews
0.1 mi away
Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport
0.6 mi away
Baytrees Hotel
Baytrees Hotel
#8 of 24 in Southport
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vincent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vincent

Property: Vincent
Address: 98 Lord Street, Southport PR8 1JR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Southport
#3 Luxury Hotel in Southport
#4 Romantic Hotel in Southport
#4 Family Hotel in Southport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Vincent 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Vincent Hotel The Vincent Hotel, Southport is a unique lifestyle hotel for the North West of England. Situated on Lord Street, Southport’s Parisienne Boulevard, the Vincent takes comfort and personal service to new heights – all within a fresh, stylish and contemporary interior. We look forward to taking care of you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vincent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vincent Hotel Southport
Vincent Southport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing