We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sophisticated!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vincent

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Vincent
Ranked #4 of 28 Hotels in Southport
Certificate of Excellence
Ramsbottom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
349 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Sophisticated!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2014

Booked this as a last minute break for the missus and I for the BH weekend. We'd manage to offload the youngster on grand parents and so were ready for a grown up stay and night out and the Vincent delivered. We had a corner room which was pretty cool with Nespresso machine, some nice coffee table books, nice bathroom with cool shower and nice toiletries provided courtesy of The White Company. We needed a lie in and the bed was just the job, very comfy with plenty of pillows. Anyway back to the night out, we started off in their cocktail bar, it's the kind of place where it feels like eleven o clock at night regardless of the current hour, I.e. Dark! Great furniture, nice cocktails and great photographs. The staff looked like Kraftwerk were efficient in the art of bevy making and the other half tanked a few fancy looking beverages. Great. In fact at the end of the night we popped back in for more if the same. Only let down was the tv, this place is cool it doesn't need a telly! Next morning we got up late (hurrah) with slightly thick heads (boo) we needed a mighty breakfast and so we headed downstairs. I like a cooked breakfast and this was just the job. The sausages (made by the hotel i think) were amazing as were the scrambled eggs and the mushrooms. This bar/cafe is also very cool but in a different style , more bistro in my (admittedly unusual) opinion. Full marks. Last thing, the girl on reception on Sunday evening was brilliant, so friendly and directed us off to some decent bars and old fashioned boozers. Outstanding. Next time I'm in Southport it's The Vincent for me.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhuari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest H, Front Office Manager at Vincent, responded to this review, 22 October 2014
Thank you for your review.

Wow ! So pleased to hear you had such a great stay with us. The staff were delighted to hear your comments!

What a great review! Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    630
    288
    98
    50
    44
See reviews for
148
549
33
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Windsor and Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
248 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

I used to stay a lot in Southport, I never really found that good an hotel - friendly and fading was the order of the day. So on this visit I welcomed a stay at the new ( to me) Vincent.
Bright and shiny and standing proudly at the central cross roads in the heart of the town. A triumph of modernity with a plethora of gadgets, although sadly I do not have a PHD in coffee machines, which made the room feel slightly crowded yet with not enough light to work from the already cramped desktop. Old eyes maybe but my I'm afraid old bones meant the climb-in Japanese plunge bath was not my kimono, when a simple shower would be luxury itself.
The bar is of Kasbah proportions with a decor of shadows and sumptuousness clearly designed for late night sessions of the rich and famous or passing golfers. The street cafe seemingly run separately didn't really want to serve a drink at its bar. But for all this it is the best Southport has got and I welcome it. For me made all the more welcoming by the attention of the porter who spotted me whilst parking my car and I was welcomed fully and helpfully to the hotel and right to my room.

Room Tip: ask for an easy access bath if you have old bones
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TJA44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

The v corner suit was decorated nicely (a little on the small side) but the balcony and view very nice. The tub was amazing....big enough to do lengths. We both agree we would go back just for the bath alone! The cocktail bar was glam and amazing cocktails (a must of every stay).
The beds are amazing...they have won awards...like sleeping in a marshmallow.

I agree that the rooms and corridors are a little dim but I feel this adds to the atmosphere.

All staff friendly and approachable....front desk really welcoming and helpful....valet parking is great they even packed our vast amounts of shopping into the car while we went out for more!

Breakfast is good but staff need to be a little more attentive and visible for extra requests.

Overall a good stay....my mum felt a little expensive...just hoping guests get tempted back with extra discounts? (Via Email?)

Room Tip: Room 507 is excellent. (If a little small)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lisacJ6438LJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

We stayed at the Vincent as a 65th birthday treat for my partner who loves his garden so we incorporated a visit to the Flower Show, which was about 5 minutes walk away. We stayed for 2 nights in the V Studio. The room was stylishly decorated, the bed was huge and very comfy and the Nespresso coffee machine was a nice touch, the bathroom was lovely with quality toiletries. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. We had dinner in the restaurant on the Saturday evening, the food was excellent with a varied menu and the price was very reasonable. The staff very kindly presented my partner with a sharing dessert platter with a candle and 'Happy Birthday' written on the slate - a special touch which was much appreciated. Breakfast was very good, again with a good choice of hot and cold food (a muesli/granola with dried fruits etc would have been a nice addition). Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our visit and would not hesitate in recommending the Vincent to others.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest H, Front Office Manager at Vincent, responded to this review, 22 October 2014
Thank you for your review.

We're pleased you chose the VINCENT for your birthday treat and we're so pleased to hear we didnt dissapoint! Our V Studios are lovely spacious rooms and those beds are so comfortable! We're thrilled you enjoyed your overall experience here and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

We stayed at the Vincent on Saturday so that we could go to the flower show.
The decor is contemporary throughout and just to our taste. Our studio room was comfortable and well equipped, my husband loved the Nespresso machine! and the bed was huge which isn't always the case.
We ate in the V bar then retired to the bar area which was buzzing, a great atmosphere; the food was good, quite simple but done well.
Our car was valet parked in a secure area which was expensive (£15 for 24 hours) but meant we didn't have to leave it on an NCP car park.
Staff were friendly, professional and courteous.
On our return trip we will ask for a room higher than the second floor, as we could hear the wedding party for what seemed like half the night on the floor below.
Also being a weekend there were drunken revellers outside at times until 4am, but as a Saturday night I suppose that's to be expected.

The hotel is perfectly situated for Southport though and we would definitely go again.

Room Tip: A higher floor is further away from noise from the function suite on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne1629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

Stayed in the Vincent for 4 nights bed and breakfast. Great location in the middle of town. The room was large and immaculately clean. Amazing service. The breakfast was excellent, plentiful and varied, both hot and cold options. Food pricey but very well presented and tasty. What a fantastic boutique hotel… Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest H, Front Office Manager at Vincent, responded to this review, 22 October 2014
Thank you for your review.

Its great to hear your positive comments and we're so glad you enjoyed your stay.

See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

A break from tending the garden during the sun and showers experienced lately.
Decided to attend the Southport Flower Show after viewing on internet. 'Tripped' through accommodation venues and after research decided upon Vincent Hotel in Lord Street -Southport.
Booked on line for our 2 night 3day stay in Southport.
Retail therapy had to be included and the Flower Show was attended on the third day.
Arrived at Vincent and had chosen to valet park the car for the stay for a small overnight fee[paid for the 2 nights]
Shown to the room and our escort explained the rooms facilities which included a japanese bath! Coffee machine as well as drinks tray,complimentary drinks in the fridge, a great extra large king size bed; very good size room with ultra modern decor to compliment this boutique hotel.
Breakfast was included and was taken at very lazy reasonable time with choices of hot breakfast given to the chef each day with service in the cafe/restuarant being very friendly, atentative and efficient - top marks here.
We did not have evening meals in hotel as we fancied the walk to other restuarants that we had seen whilst 'retail viewing' during each day.
To summarise; the hotel was very, very nice, reception and management were all friendly and chatted whenever we engaged them in conversation. The room was a bit like home but with a few more trimmings - just what you want when away from home on a midweek break.
In conclusion; excellent stay [a bit on the expensive side but why not, and as we say in Yorkshire, you get what you pay for!]
It was also a birthday treat and this stay together with pampering, eating and drinking was a very nice change of scenery. Never been to Southport before, will probably visit again in the future.
Oh and by the way, what a great day out at the Flower show in the hot sun with a drink and sea-food for lunch. Very civilised.
Need to fill up the wallet again!

Room Tip: View on Internet and decide on cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1of2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southport hotels
0.3 mi away
Ramada Plaza Southport
Ramada Plaza Southport
#1 of 28 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,672 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Bold Hotel
The Bold Hotel
#3 of 28 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Southport Central Hotel
0.1 mi away
Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport
0.6 mi away
Baytrees Hotel
Baytrees Hotel
#8 of 28 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vincent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vincent

Property: Vincent
Address: 98 Lord Street, Southport PR8 1JR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Southport
#2 Luxury Hotel in Southport
#4 Family Hotel in Southport
#4 Romantic Hotel in Southport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Vincent 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Vincent Hotel The Vincent Hotel, Southport is a unique lifestyle hotel for the North West of England. Situated on Lord Street, Southport’s Parisienne Boulevard, the Vincent takes comfort and personal service to new heights – all within a fresh, stylish and contemporary interior. We look forward to taking care of you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Vincent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vincent Hotel Southport
Vincent Southport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing