We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place for a quiet meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Auberge Brasserie

Auberge Brasserie
Ranked #11 of 356 Restaurants in Southport
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$26
Cuisines: French, European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Brunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A great place for a quiet meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

It was my first time at the auburge and I found the evening menu had a great variety for my partner ( who is a fussy eater ) and myself
The service was good . The waiter was very friendly and nothing was a problem .
The starters came out they looked great and tasted better .
We asked for a small break between courses and that wasn't a problem which is really nice to know .
After the mains which my steak was cooked to perfection . we had a coffees and settled the bill which was well priced for what we had .
I will recommend the auburge for its great food and service and I will be returning in the future .

Helpful?
1 Thank Passthesalad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

981 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    642
    216
    70
    37
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

Dined on 19/11/2013 and everything was fantastic, everyone was thrilled with their meals and there where no complaints at all. I had the steak and it was cooked perfectly. Service was also great, couldn't fault it at all. Will definitely be going back

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
142 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Raw chicken!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

Dined here on several occasions and always been impressed with the quality of the food presented.
Todays experience though was a nightmare from start to finish.
Got off to a good start, ordered glass of Chardonnay and presented with a glass of red.
Home made bread roll was undercooked and still doughy in the centre.
Hors d'oeuvre starter consisted of a thin slice of Parma ham, smoked mackerel pate and rolled salmon pate which was semifreddo with ice crystals in the middle, resembling a sorbet. This was returned to the kitchen.
Main course of Chicken Ceasar salad was nicely presented and tasty until the raw chicken was discovered. This went the same way as the starter.

The waitress in charge helped alleviate the situation and apologised for the poor standard of food and rectified the situation, but my wife was lucky to avoid food poisoning.

Someone in the kitchen needs a wake up call before someone is ill.

Having said that, I enjoyed my food but my wife will take some persuading to go back here after this experience only slightly improved by the excellent coffee and the attitude of the waitress.

The overall rating is based on the food served.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Prisoner7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

We went on Saturday night for a 'rat pack' night. 3 course meal for £24.00
We were all very impressed with the quality of the food and the service was excellent. The singer was also very good. Did his first half of his set rat pack style the after his break did some modern songs with a swing twist which was also impressive.
I had mussels in white wine and garlic to start with which was fantastic, followed by the sirloin steak (for £3 more) with chili and garlic finished off with a warm brownie with nuts in..could not fault anything and we will definitely go again. First time at auberge but definitely won't be our last!
The staff were also incredibly attentive despite how busy it was. Fabulous! Well done staff of auberge! Xx

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank NursePrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thakeham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great little place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

Went out mid week for my wife's birthday. Quite informal but fantastic service and superb food. Attentive staff at the right times. Great choice of menu. Will definitely be back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GrahamSRocket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Auberge Brasserie also viewed

Southport, Merseyside
Southport, Merseyside
 
Southport, Merseyside
Southport, Merseyside
 

Been to Auberge Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing