We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“swan song”
Review of The Swan

The Swan
Ranked #6 of 357 Restaurants in Southport
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Fish and chip restaurant. Family run for 40 years. Fresh and Homemade produce. Wheelchair and family friendly. Reasonable prices.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“swan song”
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

Haddock chips peas steak pie with bread butter and nice pot of tea along with excellent company, polite staff and served nice n hot. What could be a better end to a Tuesday night.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank MBsTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swandirectors1, Owner at The Swan, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear MBs Two
Thank you very much for your great (and speedy!) review.Sounds like you had a lovely evening I will make sure everyone involved sees your comments.Also loved your heading ! We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    392
    116
    20
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazeballs”
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

We found this place via trip advisor a couple of yrs ago, it gets better & better, just blummin yum, I'm not a big fish eater but its so lovely & light. The waitress went out of her way to serve my daughter hot vimto, which she just loved. A fab day, thank you x

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank KJ1912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swandirectors1, Owner at The Swan, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Ms J
thank you for your great review really pleased you enjoyed .The fish is cooked to order so its always light and not greasey (may have to wait a few minutes but well worth it ).Hot vimto is a new one for me so your daughter will probably have set a trend !! Thanks again for lovely review and we hope to see you again in the near future .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fordingbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Proper Fish & Chips”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

A return visit; it's hard to visit Southport without having at least one meal here! Fish was especially good this time. Staff are great. Value is great. Long may they continue.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ThorleyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swandirectors1, Owner at The Swan, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear Thorley B
Wow fab review thank you very much I will make sure that all your comments are passed on.We appreciate your feedback . Look forward to hearing about your next experience with us and we hope to see you in the near future .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Down the Alley, beside the Art Shop.”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Been going for over 5 years, often when visiting with grandchildren, and never been disappointed. The Fish & Chips (with all extras) are the best and as for the Chicken nuggets, well, if our Grandaughter is with us, we have no chance of going anywhere else for our Day Trip lunch.
Then again, if you don`t fancy F & C, there is a more extensive menu to choose from, including plate pie with oodles of gravy,. Bit bad to find from Lord Street, but once found you will always gravitate back in the direction of the Swan if you want a decent meal for a decent price.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Frank H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swandirectors1, Owner at The Swan, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Mr H
Thank you for taking the time to write a great review !We love hearing feedback from our loyal customers. What is also lovely to hear is that the children love their menu as well. We hope to see you (and grandchildren !) in the near future .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Amazing fish & chips!”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Been a regular here for around 6 years. Never had a bad meal. Great good & fast service!! A must if visiting southport. Excellent.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Louise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swandirectors1, Owner at The Swan, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Dear Ms W
Thank you for your review so pleased you enjoyed our fish and chips ,Its wonderful to know you are a regular customer for 6 years and always enjoyed your experience.Your review will be much appreciated by everyone who works so hard with us .We look to forward to seeing you again in the future .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Swan also viewed

Southport, Merseyside
Southport, Merseyside
 
Southport, Merseyside
Southport, Merseyside
 
Southport, Merseyside
 

Been to The Swan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing