We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Weekend Break”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Lynwood Hotel

Lynwood Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lynwood Hotel
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Weekend Break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

We stayed here for our weekend break whilst watching the Open Golf at Lytham St Annes and celebrating my husbands birthday. The room was lovely, great breakfast and very welcoming hosts. Very convenient for all that was on offer in Southport.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HoneyPieLinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    19
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
7
43
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rossendale Lancashire
Level Contributor
132 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

This was our second stay at The Lynwood and was a very wise choice again. Lovely rooms, welcoming hosts and a superb breakfast choice too, not just the usual choices you usually get from smaller guest houses. The breakfast was spot-on again and we do not hesitate to recommend.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GNP99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

My husband and I decided on a weekend break in Southport, and didn't know quite where to stay, but we certainly picked the right hotel. Andrea made us very welcome and her lovely homecooking was excellent and what a choice! We couldn't of been nearer to Lord Street in Southport if we had of tried it was the perfect location for the beach and pleasureland. Plenty of bars , cafe and reasaurants. Handy if you want to go shopping in Liverpool, just nip across the road and round the corner a 5min walk to the train station and a fab day that was. The rooms are lovely and clean and a credit to the Lynwood Hotel.

Room Tip: Room 5 superior double at the front of the hotel was very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol-Ann8188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2011

Me and my friend stayed at this hotel for another friend's wedding and i would recommend this hotel if you're staying in Southport. The staff were fantastic and the rooms were spotless. The highlight was by far the breakfast which went down a treat! There is a bar area in this hotel which was nice as the staff seemed genuinely interested in us and what we did! Will look forward to staying here in the future if i am ever in the area again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicholasbrennan59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2011

I just wanted an overnight stay in Southport & this was just the ticket. A comfortable room, advice from the proprietor about where to eat & a comprehensive breakfast made this an enjoyable experience at a very reasonable price. To achieve perfection I would have liked the coffee a little stronger.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank badge60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton on Trent
Level Contributor
140 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2011

Just returned from a lovely stay the Lynwood Guest House and cannot recommend it highly enough. The house throughout is spotlessly clean and very well presented. The standard double room we were allocated (No.7) was at the back overlooking the garden (we wanted a superior double but left it too late to get one). The room was very nicely presented – good attention to soft furnishings and subsequently well serviced with particular praise for the comfortable bed with crisp, white sheets and lovely large fluffy white towels. The hospitality tray was a bit on the sparse side – I would have like to have been offered fruit teas and bottled water as well as the usual tea, coffee, sugar and milk. The en-suite bathroom was beautifully clean and hygienic but oh so tiny with only a very small wash-hand basin (cloakroom size) and could have done with something in the shower cubicle to put shampoo etc. on, perhaps a wire rack?
The breakfast (served 7.30am – 9.00am Mon to Fri & 8.00am – 9.30am) Sat & Sun was TOP NOTCH! Cereals & juice to start if wanted (not self- service) followed by delicious full English with superior quality bacon and sausages etc. (continental choice offered but why would anyone want that?) Lovely tea and any amount of toast and preserves too and all served in a lovely yellow and blue dining room.
The owner was very friendly but not overly so which suited my husband and myself very well. I noticed that she had plenty of time for the people who wanted to chat but didn’t force that conversation on those who didn’t want to. The breakfast waitress was extremely pleasant and efficient too. The Lynwood is on Leicester Street and well positioned for the Front and for Lord Street. It suited us as first time visitors to the town really well. All in all we enjoyed our stay very much and will definitely return

Room Tip: Superior double looked lovely (had a peep!) - need to book a bit earlier than I did tho.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
594 reviews
207 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 303 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

A group of twelve of us stayed for a golf break, we took most of the rooms so had the place pretty much to ourselves. Our room was a twin which was comfortable enough although the temperature of the shower was a little tempremental. I am sure I would have had a good nights sleep but my roomie made sure I only had a few hours due to his snoring. The landlady and her staff for breakfast were great and it is well located for bars and resturants, parking at the front and a small bar as well. I saw some of the other rooms which all looked okay as well.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iantoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southport hotels
0.3 mi away
Ramada Plaza Southport
Ramada Plaza Southport
#1 of 28 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,741 reviews
0.2 mi away
Baytrees Hotel
Baytrees Hotel
#8 of 28 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Southport Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
#11 of 28 in Southport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Leicester
The Leicester
#2 of 40 in Southport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
1.7 mi away
Birkdale Guest House
Birkdale Guest House
#14 of 40 in Southport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lynwood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lynwood Hotel

Property: Lynwood Hotel
Address: 11A Leicester Street | Sout, Merseysidehport, Southport PR9 0ER, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Southport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lynwood House is a 4 star award winning Guest House,all rooms en-suite and serviced daily, Lynwood House makes a perfect setting for a relaxed holiday or well deserved break.We have proudly won propriter of the year 2012 in the Southport Ammbassador Awards for the 2nd time, thank you to all my guests for nominating me again. Conference and Golf facilities are both in easy reach... and we are just a short stroll from Lord Street's famous tree lined boulevard with its classic buildings and gardens, home to Southport's excellent restaurants and shops. The resort justly deserves the title of 'Golf Capital of Europe' with 15 golf courses all within an hour's drive from the town. Southport also makes an ideal touring base from which you can explore the north west's many attractions. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing