We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautifully clean and comfortable hotel.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lynwood Hotel

Lynwood Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lynwood Hotel
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Beautifully clean and comfortable hotel.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2013

We stayed for 1 night at Lynwood, on our arrival we were met by the proprietor, Andrea (my apologies if I have the wrong name!). Her welcome was lovely and warm. We explained that we were off to a function in nearby Formby, and enquired about local taxis, immediately, and without hesitation, she offered to book the taxi for us. The hotel is absolutely immaculate, the bed linen wonderful and soft, but best of all, the luxurious bath sheets! Top quality!
We sat in the lounge for a while in the afternoon, this is a lovely room, full of character, warm and cosy. The bar is an added bonus, and we enjoyed an aperitif whilst waiting for the taxi.
Breakfast was cooked to perfection; a nice touch was having fresh orange juice waiting for you on your table. A good start to any one’s day!
Overall, we were very well looked after, the next time we visit Southport and require an overnight stay, we won’t even bother looking for a hotel – Lynwood House is the one!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Highland_Rovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redsole, Owner at Lynwood Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2013
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, I hope you will come back and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    19
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
7
43
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2012

Me and the wife decided to take a night away to somewhere different. So looking through hotels, we decided on this place. It was a very reasonable priced hotel. we were greated by Andrea who made us feel very welcomed. The room we stayed in was the superior room. It is exactly as described. Furnished very nice. Cosy and warm.
We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who was wishing to get away for a short break.

Room Tip: Take the superior room, its the best!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drektony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redsole, Owner at Lynwood Hotel, responded to this review, 18 December 2012
We are so happy that you both enjoyed your stay with us, thank you so much for the lovely review you have taken the time to post.We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mondsee, Austria
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2012

4 of us from Austria stayed 5 nights at the lynwood.The rooms were exellent and very clean.
The breakfast in the morning was exellent.We even got breakfast one morning at 6a.m because we had to fly back early.Would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shaun c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redsole, Owner at Lynwood Hotel, responded to this review, 1 November 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your great review, We are so glad you all enjoyed your stay with us again at Lynwood House.We look forward to you returning to stay with us again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2012

On arrival we were greeted by Simon who was very friendly and welcoming, He explained what shows where on and how to get to the attractions that wanted to see.He showed us to our room which was perfect for just the 2 of us and we where very happy with it and the room was decorated lovely. there was a cosy bar where the drinks where cold and refreshing. the breakfast was very nice and we had a choice of cereal then we had toast and then a beautiful fry cooked to perfection,certainly one of the nicest fry's i have had in a very long time with tea or coffee and fresh orange juice. The last day we where given plenty of time to check out and our bags where kept safe until we where ready to leave. i would certainly stay here again and look forward to coming back to Blackpool.
Thanks Simon for making our stay comfortable and one to remember !!
From the Shelley and Joe the young Belfast couple !!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelley F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redsole, Owner at Lynwood Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2013
We are please you enjoyed your stay with us , hope to see you again when you come back to Southport.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2012

Myself and 3 friends stayed ast Lynwood House 10- 13 July while we competed in the National Association of Flower Arrangement Societies (NAFAS) National Show which was held in Southport this year.

The hotel was witnin walking distance of the Exhibition Centre where the Show was held so this was ideal. The rooms were lovely and the breakfast each morning was excellent and enjoyable experience.

The proprieters were extremely friendly and accomodating. I am chairperson of the Northern Ireland branch of NAFAS and traditionally we hold a small chairperson's party (wine, nibbles etc) at the hotel where the chairperson stays - not all NI competitors stay at the same hotel. I approached our host about this possibility - no problem whatsoever and we were allowed to use beautiful lounge room. I should say this was a low key affair atended by 10-12 mature ladies and no discomfort was caused to other guests.

All in all an extremly enjoyable break, enhanced by good accomodation and welcoming hosts.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lesliebrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

We stayed here for our weekend break whilst watching the Open Golf at Lytham St Annes and celebrating my husbands birthday. The room was lovely, great breakfast and very welcoming hosts. Very convenient for all that was on offer in Southport.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HoneyPieLinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rossendale Lancashire
Level Contributor
132 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

This was our second stay at The Lynwood and was a very wise choice again. Lovely rooms, welcoming hosts and a superb breakfast choice too, not just the usual choices you usually get from smaller guest houses. The breakfast was spot-on again and we do not hesitate to recommend.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GNP99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southport hotels
0.3 mi away
Ramada Plaza Southport
Ramada Plaza Southport
#1 of 28 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,744 reviews
0.2 mi away
Baytrees Hotel
Baytrees Hotel
#8 of 28 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Southport Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
#11 of 28 in Southport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Leicester
The Leicester
#2 of 40 in Southport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
1.7 mi away
Birkdale Guest House
Birkdale Guest House
#15 of 40 in Southport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lynwood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lynwood Hotel

Property: Lynwood Hotel
Address: 11A Leicester Street | Sout, Merseysidehport, Southport PR9 0ER, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Southport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lynwood House is a 4 star award winning Guest House,all rooms en-suite and serviced daily, Lynwood House makes a perfect setting for a relaxed holiday or well deserved break.We have proudly won propriter of the year 2012 in the Southport Ammbassador Awards for the 2nd time, thank you to all my guests for nominating me again. Conference and Golf facilities are both in easy reach... and we are just a short stroll from Lord Street's famous tree lined boulevard with its classic buildings and gardens, home to Southport's excellent restaurants and shops. The resort justly deserves the title of 'Golf Capital of Europe' with 15 golf courses all within an hour's drive from the town. Southport also makes an ideal touring base from which you can explore the north west's many attractions. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing