We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The talbot helped me have the best wedding in the world”
Review of The Talbot Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Talbot Hotel
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Southport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 October 2012

I can't say enough good things about this hotel! My husband and I booked our wedding here and we are so glad we did.
Gilbert the owner, his family and staff are so helpful. they made the room look so beautiful for our big day. The food was amazing everybody loved it. Staff are wonderful and will do anything for you. I felt like a princess all afternoon.
Gilbert arranged a toast master and dj for us who are fantastic.
The room we stayed it was lovely. Comfy double bed and on suite
The full English breakfast in the morning was yummy.
It's a lovely homely feel to the whole hotel its quite and only a 5 minute walk into town. At least 10 members of our family and friends stayed here on the wedding night too and all agree its a lovely place.
Can't thank you all enough for a wonderful wedding thank you.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darling1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (265)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

225 - 231 of 265 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2012

When our coach arrived at the hotel we were met by by Gilbert, the owner, he welcomed us. Our room was clean and tidy. The staff were all helpful and friendly. The food was all very good and served well. Well worth the money, will definitely go again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

The best hospitality and friendly service here. Any special dietary requirements just ask. Owners and staff all pleasant and helpful. Food was excellent. Hotel is situated in a quiet, central area not too far from train station.Room was clean and comfortable, Please remember that this is a good old Victorian building with no lift, and bedrooms are upstairs,so if you want cosy, friendly, come here. If you want impersonal and modern then maybe Southport is not for you.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jazzgirl-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

I checked out yesterday from this lovely hotel. I have roomed all over the world with my job and I've never been shown the hospitality that was afforded me here. Nothing was too much trouble, room was spotless food was fantastic and entertainment to boot. If ever I come back to Southport forget your boutique hotels I will be coming back to the Talbot Hotel. Thank you and your lovely family and staff.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Worldlyweasel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Agree with the previous review could not have put it better myself.
The food was very basic and vegetables served up in your plate wither you liked that particular vegetable or not no serving dish for vegetables was provided so you can make a chose. Also the soup on the Wednesday was the soup from the Tuesday and as this is powder soup the hotel uses not suitable for serving next day it was supposed to be Mushroom soup never found a mushroom yet. Towels in room was never changed nor room hoovered the whole of my 4 day stay. Never return to this hotel again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

I do not understand how any one could say this was a good hotel. On entering, the Reception area was very small but below what I would call Welcoming. The staircase was very steep and difficult to climb as that is what you have to do, if you are disabled and have difficulty walking this is not for you, all Rooms are upstairs. The staircase had never seen a Hoover or cleaner for a long time, all landing's were the same all the way up. On entering the Bedroom it looked ok at first, but it does not take long to see the dirt around the edges of the room and the furniture, which was still the same when we left. The bedroom furniture was a collection of Pieces of furniture screwed together, The beds were clean as was the Toilet, and shower were all Tiled to a good standard, the shower was just a pipe with a furl sticking out of the wall and I had to stand on my tip toes to adjust it I'm 5'10'' The general standard of the bed room was poor and compact, my garden shed is bigger than this bedroom. The dining room was quite nice but looking under tables that were not in use they had not been Hoovered for some time, there was a spoon on the floor under a table on the Monday I arrived and was still there on the Friday Morning at Breakfast. The meals are adequate, but if there is more than 30 seconds of inactivity around your plate it will be whipped away, the staff are super fast at clearing tables, they probably can;t get out fast enough. I was on a Monday to Friday coach trip there were 38 other people on the trip and the general feeling of this hotel was well below what other travelers had experienced. I have tried to be fair with this report, the good points the staff are helpful,that's about it. On Monday at dinner Gilbert who is the owner addressed every one and pointed out if any one had complaints bring them directly to him, well Gilbert if You take of your very dark glasses and have a serious look at the standard of your Hotel you should not have to ask people to point these faults out to you. the general Standard of this hotel is exceptionally Poor, It's a run down Relic of the Past. I am writing this as a true reflection of my visit From Monday 3rd September to Friday the 7th September 2012. Think Twice Before Booking this Hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank weehaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012

have just spent four days at this Hotel and we were not happy with the meals as they were very poor and the staff were not helpful as for one example my Wife asked for a glass of water which never came.The hotel was clean and our bedroom was nice other than the television which set on top of the wardrobe which made it very uncomfortable to watch,needless to say we will never go back to there again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southport hotels
0.5 mi away
Ramada Plaza Southport
Ramada Plaza Southport
#1 of 23 in Southport
3,093 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Southport Hotel
Travelodge Southport Hotel
#6 of 23 in Southport
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Bold Hotel
The Bold Hotel
#3 of 23 in Southport
579 reviews
0.2 mi away
Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport
0.8 mi away
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
#12 of 23 in Southport
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Talbot Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Talbot Hotel

Address: 23-25 Portland Street | Merseyside, Southport PR8 1LR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Southport
Price Range: £58 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Talbot Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing