We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect”
Review of The Talbot Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Talbot Hotel
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Southport
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect”
Reviewed 20 November 2012

We got married on saturday the 17th and had our wedding reception at the talbot hotel!
We spoke to Gill last year an pretty much every 2 months we'd (i'd) speak to him as im a worrier i worry about everything!
We can not put into words how amazing everything was and we cant thank Gill and his staff enough! All our friends and family cant stop telling us how perfect our day was and it was truly thanks to this hotel our phones have'nt stopped!
We would highly recommend this hotel for weddings or birthdays. They really do everything for you and cater for your every need!!!
We went all around southport looking for something nice and in our price range, for what was included in the wedding package it was amazing!

The food was perfect, its now tuesday and people are still talking about it, i wish i could do it all over again!!!
Thank you so much to Gill and each and everyone of your staff!
All our love Mr and Mrs white (and bump) :D xxx

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chalkypop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    42
    8
    5
    10
See reviews for
49
60
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 7 November 2012 via mobile

Well what an absolutely great hotel. The atmosphere when you walk in is such a warm and cosy feel. It's just like being at home. The room was superbly clean with plenty of room and beautiful bathroom with a very relaxing shower. As we were one fishing holiday I asked Gilbert the manager if we were ok with our tackle and rods in the hotel, and he had absolutely no problems with it at all. The food was outstanding, and all the staff were fantastic who couldn't have done more if they had tried. Our room was like it was being let out again when it was made back up for us. It was a very thorough job. It was as if it hadn't been used. All in all if your going on a fishing weekend like I did or a golfing break or just a few days away with the family I would strongly recommend the talbot hotel, for the fabulous hospitality, the great food, and the best staff you could ask for in a hotel.

Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Ryan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2012

It started badly when they couldn't find our booking (should have taken the hint). We had booked two rooms, a family room and a single for my cousin who was with us. The family room was dire. We had 7 beds including 2 sets of bunks. It was oppresive with no bed linen matching. There was a beam in the room that did say mind your head but should really have been covered with something soft as it was impossible not to bang it. We found a suspicious tablet on the floor, had a remote that didn't go with the T.V. (which you couldn't see from the double as one of the bunks was in the way. It was missing a bulb above the dressing table mirror and it took my other half to hold the device which should make the shower work! The second night we were there my pillows were wet due to the roof leaking from all the rain!. My cousins room was like something out of cell block H and had a terrible smell of cabbage when she retired to bed which went on for over 2 hours. On the arrival of her room I found a used plaster and screw on the floor. The first morning at breakfast there was no table laid for us and when we asked where to sit we were shown to a table with a filthy table cloth. When I mentioned this we were shown to another table with a dirty table cloth. Eventually they got it right. The staff are very helpful when you point the problems out but they should be proactive rather than reactive. The last night we were there, not only was there a leak in the roof but there was smoke coming through the floorboards from a room downstairs which was a non smoking room. I would avoid this hotel like the plague. I thought when I booked it that it was 2 stars but in turned out to be 1. I think it was lucky to be that. There was also a problem with the fire doors that had a dented gap at the bottom and would certainly not stop smoke from getting through.

Room Tip: Don't go
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jocelyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2012

We have just returned from a most enjoyable four night stay at the Talbot Hotel. The hotel, although a little tired in places, has the most friendliest atmosphere we have encountered in a long time.
Gil, the owner, and all his excellent young staff could not have been more attentive and personable. The service at meal times was efficient and fast. The food choices for dinner was varied and always piping hot and most enjoyable, all home cooked.The beds were very comfortable indeed and the bathroom was of new condition with nice fluffy white towels, also plenty of hot water.

Thanks to Gil, Julie and all their staff for a memorable and pleasant stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sc0tties28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2012

my wife was admitted to the spinal unit at southport hospital in feb and i spent every weekend at the TALBOT HOTEL for five months,i have slept in almost every room and as my heading states it was HOME FROM HOME.From the moment GILBERT greets you ,the vacation only improves .breakfast is full english or your selection if you give him notice he will even supply kippers for you or bananas
to go with your kellogs the rooms are very clean as its the first rule of GILBERT the staff are there at your call for any enquirys on were to go and whats on in southport ,it is close to Lord street and all the shops
also the prom for some lovery walks .when my wife is able i will be returning with her so she can enjoy the hospitality that i enjoyed.THANK YOU

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brian-murphy200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 October 2012

I am happy to say we have just celebrated my daughters wedding at the talbot and I'm really glad my daughter picked the talbot for her reception...Gill, the owner.took control of the whole event and arranged everything the way my daughter wanted it...the dinning room looked beautiful.the staff were happy and helpful.and the food was fantastic.the Master of ceremonies was amazing...i would happily recommend the talbot for any function..

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank srj11960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 7 October 2012

My daughter wendy.held her wedding reception at the talbot.and i have to say..Gilbert, the owner was amazing.as were all his staff.everything was perfect..the food was wonderful. the soup was to die for.... and apparently it is all cooked by Gilberts wife.but don't mistake this for ordinary home cooked food it was as good as any restaurant we've been to...everything was piping hot .Evan though 50 guest were sitting down to eat at the same tine.i would recommend the Talbot for any event..and my daughter said her day was perfect.what more could you ask for thank you all at the Talbot.. :-)...

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank henrysmum1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southport hotels
0.5 mi away
Ramada Plaza Southport
Ramada Plaza Southport
#1 of 24 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,782 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Bold Hotel
The Bold Hotel
#3 of 24 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Vincent
Vincent
#4 of 24 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
0.2 mi away
Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Southport Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Talbot Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Talbot Hotel

Property: The Talbot Hotel
Address: 23-25 Portland Street | Merseyside, Southport PR8 1LR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Southport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Talbot Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing