We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unbelieveable”
Review of The Talbot Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Talbot Hotel
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Southport
Certificate of Excellence
Port Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“unbelieveable”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

I keep reading some of these reviews over and over and can't believe they relate to the same hotel I stayed in. We were allocated a room on the top floor, the attic, although we were informed by the manager it was not an attic!!!!!! Perhaps it was heavens waiting room, although the room its self was anything but heaven. The en-suite facilities were a bath with a hand held shower, which didn't work. The sleep accommodation consisted of a double bed a single bed and bunk beds which are entirely unsuitable for someone in their sixties and no lightweight.
The food left a lot to be desired it was the cheapest supermarket brands, chewy cornflakes ,packet soup, tinned fruit and veg and frozen deserts,
When we arrived we were told by Gilbert, the manager, to come to him with any concerns we may have at the start of or stay and not to leave it until the last day when there was nothing he could do to resolve any complaints, So we did approach him as to the unsuitability of the room for three older people one with a knee complaint and another with breathing problems, trying scale three flights of stairs. His attitude was down right rude and more or less implied we knew what the accommodation was when we booked, which was not the case. So we were left to make the best of the situation. Having found that evening I could not comfortably sleep in the aforementioned bunk beds, I drew the short straw, we again complained to Gilbert, He was again offensive and arrogant but after seeing my friend was becoming upset he asked us to leave it with him. To his credit he did come to the room and removed the top bunk leaving me with a more acceptable single bed.
So I am at a loss as to how this hotel and manager have gained so many favourable reviews?

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Marie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    44
    9
    5
    12
See reviews for
58
74
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 6 days .We had room 24 which was clean but very small,so small there was no room for any chairs, had to lie on the bed to watch tv. The food was excellent although the service could have been quicker. No lift so be prepared to carry your luggage up 2 to 3 flights of stairs. If you like shopping, and my wife does, you will be in your element. Lord Street is about a mile long full of shops and if that is not enough you can then walk into town for all the big stores.All in all we enjoyed our stay at the Talbot and would go again.

Room Tip: If you like a lot of room try not to get room 24.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacko367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Stayed 2 nights at the Talbot for a wedding. Accomodation was very clean and comfortable. Gilbert and his staff were outstanding from the moment we arrived. Very friendly, professional and nothing was too much trouble. The room for the wedding reception looked really nice. The food during the day and the evening buffet was outstanding - as commented by all the wedding guests. Gilbert went out of his way to accomodate our Autistic child making our stay stress free. Would definately recommend holding a wedding here.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bathgate
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

My friend and i travelled to this hotel with Glenton and were impressed with the friendliness and the cleanliness of this hotel Gilbert and his staff give110%to make sure everyone enjoys their stay and the meals are excellent .The rooms are rather small but adequate for a short stay so we had no complaints and we would go back again and would recommend it to friends .If i could just make a wee suggestion to Gilbert could you please get rid of those dated and tacky decorations in the dining room so when we come back next year they will hopefully be gone oh and the entertainment was excellent so all in all we had a great time Thank You Gilbert And family

Room Tip: if you can request a room on a lower floor as there is no lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dandiestuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worksop, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 September 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at the Talbot hotel for the 5th time and we could not praise the hotel enough. The owner and his staff are helpful and friendly the rooms are kept clean and tidy and are comfortable. The food is excellent with a chose of menu.We are looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MickandSue2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

I knocked on the door of the Talbot hotel after a long night. I was originally booked to stay at pontins Southport but as the accommodation there was so dire I evenutally found this hotel after searching 8 other hotels .

Please can I say that the owner was absolutely wonderful and made sure that my family were taken care of. He was a wonderful man who went the extra mile and made sure that our experience was excellent.

I cannot describe what a god send this place was totally charming And wonderful. Please visit this hotel it's truly lovely and the owner is great and made us feel so welcome xxxxx

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Asianbabe1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

excellent hotel with excellent service and a great breakfast we arrived in southport for the bank holiday decided to stay over and luckily got the talbot hotel last minute great welcome couldnt be friendlier or more helpful lovely rooms spotless comfortable and quiet and they allowed us to leave our bags there even after checking out until after tea when we got the train would highly recommend

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zoejakezoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southport hotels
0.5 mi away
Ramada Plaza Southport
Ramada Plaza Southport
#1 of 23 in Southport
2,947 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Southport Hotel
Travelodge Southport Hotel
#7 of 23 in Southport
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Bold Hotel
The Bold Hotel
#3 of 23 in Southport
549 reviews
0.2 mi away
Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport
0.2 mi away
Vincent
Vincent
#4 of 23 in Southport
1,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Talbot Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Talbot Hotel

Property: The Talbot Hotel
Address: 23-25 Portland Street | Merseyside, Southport PR8 1LR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Southport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Talbot Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing