We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our wedding reception.”
Review of The Talbot Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Talbot Hotel
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Southport
Certificate of Excellence
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Our wedding reception.”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We recently had our day and evening wedding receptions at The Talbot Hotel and we had the most wonderful time! Gil was attentive to our needs and met with us a few times before the actual day to ensure that everything was to be just as we wanted it. We had an Elvis themed wedding and the room and tables looked fabulous when decorated.
The food was second to none, everyone commented on how much they enjoyed it! The presentation of both the wedding breakfast and the evening buffet was spectacular and tasted just as good.The staff were polite, courteous and attentive to ours and the guests every need. The toastmaster, pianist and the D.J that Gil had arranged for us were all brilliant.
Both ourselves and some of the guests stayed over and found the rooms to be spotless and the beds extremely comfortable and would recommend a stay here to anyone. On our bed Gils daughter had even gone so far as to make loving swans out of towels for a display on our bed.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    43
    8
    5
    10
See reviews for
55
68
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

we stayed here for 1 night [ wish it had been longer ] the hotel is very central . It was sooooooo clean and the most comfortable bed EVER . The breakfast was realy tasty and realy nice staff ,thank you for a lovely stay , hope to see you soon Gil .

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilmarnock, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Just back from a 4 night stay in The Talbot Hotel with Glenton Travel - this hotel is the best we have stayed in for years on a coach tour. Family run, Gilbert and his staff could not do enough for you nothing was too much trouble. There was no lift, however our luggage was delivered to our room and collected again on the morning of our departure. Gilbert also visited every guest room shortly after we arrived to ensure everyone was happy with their allocated room. Hotel was spotless, rooms perhaps on small side but adequate our room had nice new furniture too. Good shower too. Food was excellent, great choice and always piping hot. Gilbert booked enterntainment for our group on one evening which was of a high standard. Comfortable bar lounge with reasonable prices. Would definately come back and recommend the hotel to anyone. Hopefully other tour companies will start to use The Talbot Hotel too, definately a hidden gem!!!

Room Tip: Anyone with walking difficutlies should request a first floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Anybody that has tried to book an 18th party will know how difficult it can be! But with Gil and Julie at the helm it was an easy and very pleasant experience. The room is a good size and beautifully decorated for the evening, the buffet I can only describe as a work of art and we had lots of lovely comments about the food, and the DJ provided did a brilliant job of keeping 40 teenagers happy as well as us 'oldies' :) Some family stayed at the hotel too and were very happy with the rooms and the breakfast the next morning. But the thing that came up the most was how helpful, polite and just generally lovely Gil, Julie and the staff were. We have great memories of the evening, my daughter is still getting rave reviews from her friends - thank goodness we found this hotel! Will definitely use for future celebrations and family get-togethers. Thank you!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashton under Lyne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We stayed at the Talbot for the wonderfull jazz weekend three terrific days of jazz with the talented Spats Langham Friday Superb Tame Valley Stompers Saturday and the ever popular Chicago teddy bears Sunday The food was first class Gilbert and Julie could not have been more friendly Presentation and staff top notch Thanks again for a wonderfull weekend I have already booked the next one D Bottomley and N Pennington

Room Tip: Trust the management
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Norman P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

I keep reading some of these reviews over and over and can't believe they relate to the same hotel I stayed in. We were allocated a room on the top floor, the attic, although we were informed by the manager it was not an attic!!!!!! Perhaps it was heavens waiting room, although the room its self was anything but heaven. The en-suite facilities were a bath with a hand held shower, which didn't work. The sleep accommodation consisted of a double bed a single bed and bunk beds which are entirely unsuitable for someone in their sixties and no lightweight.
The food left a lot to be desired it was the cheapest supermarket brands, chewy cornflakes ,packet soup, tinned fruit and veg and frozen deserts,
When we arrived we were told by Gilbert, the manager, to come to him with any concerns we may have at the start of or stay and not to leave it until the last day when there was nothing he could do to resolve any complaints, So we did approach him as to the unsuitability of the room for three older people one with a knee complaint and another with breathing problems, trying scale three flights of stairs. His attitude was down right rude and more or less implied we knew what the accommodation was when we booked, which was not the case. So we were left to make the best of the situation. Having found that evening I could not comfortably sleep in the aforementioned bunk beds, I drew the short straw, we again complained to Gilbert, He was again offensive and arrogant but after seeing my friend was becoming upset he asked us to leave it with him. To his credit he did come to the room and removed the top bunk leaving me with a more acceptable single bed.
So I am at a loss as to how this hotel and manager have gained so many favourable reviews?

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Marie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 6 days .We had room 24 which was clean but very small,so small there was no room for any chairs, had to lie on the bed to watch tv. The food was excellent although the service could have been quicker. No lift so be prepared to carry your luggage up 2 to 3 flights of stairs. If you like shopping, and my wife does, you will be in your element. Lord Street is about a mile long full of shops and if that is not enough you can then walk into town for all the big stores.All in all we enjoyed our stay at the Talbot and would go again.

Room Tip: If you like a lot of room try not to get room 24.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacko367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southport hotels
0.5 mi away
Ramada Plaza Southport
Ramada Plaza Southport
#1 of 23 in Southport
2,879 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
The Bold Hotel
The Bold Hotel
#3 of 23 in Southport
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Southport Hotel
Travelodge Southport Hotel
#7 of 23 in Southport
668 reviews
0.2 mi away
Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport
0.2 mi away
Vincent
Vincent
#4 of 23 in Southport
1,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Talbot Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Talbot Hotel

Property: The Talbot Hotel
Address: 23-25 Portland Street | Merseyside, Southport PR8 1LR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Southport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Talbot Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing