We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New Year Party”
Review of The Talbot Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Talbot Hotel
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Southport
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“New Year Party”
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We returned once again to the Talbot Hotel in Southport, travelling there with Gee Vee Travel. Once you are on the coach you holiday begins Alan the Driver is Brilliant. On arriving the host Gilbert comes out to greet you and tell you which rooms your in and the times for dining. Last year he had done all the 34 bathrooms with new suit and re tiled throught and this year he as done all the rooms with a new dressing table and chairs and two new bedside tablesand re decorated and re carpeted.The dining room was very well decorated as usual and the food is just excellent with piping hot home mae soup followed by the main course which is served on red hot plates, the staff are very efficient and you are not sat about waiting for your meal. Whe the meal is over thats when the night starts Trip then to get full of fun and entertainment with alan doing the Bingo and his usual drivers sack with plenty of small prizes on offer, they usually hold a raffle and this year it raised £185 for St Lukes Hospice.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anthony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    42
    8
    5
    10
See reviews for
49
60
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

The Talbot Hotel hosts our annual fund raiser . Gilbert is a superb host, he ensures the food is excellent , the staff go out of their way to ensure our every need is catered for. Gil even organises our DJ. In the past we have had relatives stay at the hotel over night and they have all expressed their satisfaction at the service Gilbert and the Talbot provides . I have just booked our next fund raiser in May 2014, I'm really looking forward to it, as we usually have a brilliant night . Thank you Gil . From all At Hesketh colts JFC

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We went to the Talbot Hotel on a coach trip from South Wales for 4 nights and it was the best Turkey & Tinsel we have been on. All staff were very friendly and helpful. the entertainment was also good. Gilbert the hotel owner was most obliging .There's another coach trip going there in February we hope to be on that one as well.
Mrs. M Davies

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hollietwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clydebank
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

I have just returned from a fantastic Monday to Friday short break at The Talbot Hotel in Southport.

Myself and 12 others had booked a mystery tour break, which turned out to be Southport and we couldn't have picked a better hotel if we'd tried.

The hotel was very comfortable, clean and warm. The room, which I shared with a friend was excellent, plenty of drawer space and for a change - real coathangers in the wardrobe. The on-suite had constant hot water with a shower over the bath and towels, which were of good quality, were changed as and when required.

This hotel is a family run affair and the owner and his staff couldn't do enough for us.

Originally no entertainment had been arranged but on the Monday night he laid on a couple of games of bingo and when he saw that we were all enjoying ourselves he decided to lay on entertainment for the rest of the week.

On the Tuesday night he gave us a Christmas Dinner, with all the trimmings, party hats, crackers, glass of wine and Santa Claus even made an appearance with gifts for everyone and he arranged for a singer to entertain us after we had been more than suitably fed.

On the Wednesday he re-created Hogmanay, which was fantastic, with an accordianist supplying the music for us that night.

And on the last night he arranged another singer / comedian who was also very good and kept us all up on the dance floor again.

As for the food - it was delicious - absolutely no complaints from anyone, it was always delivered hot and the staff were excellent, they were all young and very efficient.

I would certainly go back to this Hotel and I would recommend anyone going to Southport to book into the Talbot Hotel. I'd rate it at 5 star plus.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mutineers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
169 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

The hotel was a nice surprise, although going by other reviews I should not have been.
My room was small, but was clean and had it's own toilet and sink. I had to share a shower but that was only a small inconvenience.
Our host Gilbert was exceptional.
Glenton had arranged the trip for £99 for 4 nights DB&B, but Gilbert arranged entertainment on each of the nights. We had a Christmas themed meal night followed a New Year's themed meal night.
The food, cooked by Gilbert's wife was out of this world. Her soups should have Heinz and all other companies knocking on her door demanding her recipes.
All the staff were a credit to Gilbert, and should be congratulated on their professionalism.

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Donald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 November 2013

My boyfriend and I have stayed at the Talbot hotel numerous times and have found it to be an all round pleasant place to stay. The owner Gilbert is an attentive and friendly host who makes us feel very at home. The rooms are always clean and tidy with easily accessible facilities. Breakfast at the Talbot hotel is very nice and is served by friendly staff. I really enjoy staying here and will always stay again. I would recommend the Talbot to all my friends as its my favourite hotel. Can't wait to come again soon :).

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanikaK198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We have just returned from the Talbot Hotel in Southport after spending two excellent nights for a "Jazz Christmas Party" weekend. Once again we cannot praise Julie and Gilbert enough for the superb food, accommodation, and entertainment they arranged for the weekend. They and their staff are really friendly and cannot do enough to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. We even had a visit from Father Christmas who distributed gifts to all the guests. We are certainly looking forward to the next jazz weekend in February.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DerWatters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southport hotels
0.5 mi away
Ramada Plaza Southport
Ramada Plaza Southport
#1 of 24 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,778 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Bold Hotel
The Bold Hotel
#3 of 24 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Vincent
Vincent
#4 of 24 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
0.2 mi away
Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Southport Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Talbot Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Talbot Hotel

Property: The Talbot Hotel
Address: 23-25 Portland Street | Merseyside, Southport PR8 1LR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Southport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Talbot Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing