We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“We will return.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Plum Tree Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
River views Open countryside
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
River views
Open countryside
Cottage private car parking area.
We are dog friendly
Friendly neighbor.
River view
Lounge wood burning stove with a warm welcome.
Well equiped kitchen
Dining area
Entrance hall
Ground floor spa shower.
Ground floor wc and wash hand basin.
Lounge
Time to relax
Relax
Main bedroom with super king size bed.
Main bedroom
Twin bed configuration if preferred.
Breakfast in bed is always a good start to any holiday.
En-suite shower room
Front view
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Bishop Auckland, Durham, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Maxine R
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“We will return.”
Reviewed 7 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Situated just 500 yards on the outskirts of Witton le Wear, this lovely barn conversion is an ideal site for exploring the local area, standing in its own ground on the bank of the River Wear. The cottage is of very high standard and well equipped with everything you need for an enjoyable stay. Under floor heating and a log burner is available for a cosy time when the weather is colder. The bedroom is spacious with on suite bathroom and the most comfortable bed you could ever wish to sleep in. For the salmon and sea trout fishermen, the cottage has fishing rites for around 50mts of the river just a few steps down the bank. The area is ideal for walkers with plenty of footpaths across farm and moorland. Bishops Aukland is just 20 minutes away by car for your shopping needs. We had a most enjoyable stay at Plum Tree Cottage, both Bev and Mark, the owners, were most welcoming and friendly, making our stay most memorable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah P
2 reviews
“What a gem.”
Reviewed 5 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

My partner & myself stayed for a weekend at the fabulous Plumtree Cottage, Witton le Wear.
This quaint little cottage oozes character & charm. On entering the cottage it is a delight, tastefully decorated to a high standard with beautiful accessorises & possessing every mod con required.
Set in a vast private plot which provides a patio area, BBQ with seating & the tranquil sound of the flowing wear river running along the side of the cottage.
Plus not forgetting the ample parking provided.
The proprietor was attentive, helpful & a great host. Thank you for a great weekend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing not to like
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca10...
1 review
“Peace and tranquility from the start.”
Reviewed 10 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

My husband and I recently stayed at Plumtree for two nights to celebrate our anniversary.Bev was extremely welcoming and helped us find a local pub for food on a Sunday (dog friendly). Nothing was too much trouble and the cottage had everything you could possibly need/want. The open fire was beautiful and the guest book had many suggestions of things to do in the local area. The area itself is beautiful and full of walks. The amenities are very clean and high quality. It felt like home and we didn't want to leave. Will definitely be coming back near Christmas.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Aug 2016
Thank you Rebecca , so pleased you had a lovely stay and I'd love to welcome you back not only at Christmas but any time at all , you were lovely guests . Also thanks for taking such good care of the cottage , treating it with such respect and leaving it so clean and tidy . Looking forward to seeing you both and of course the very beautiful Ginny soon .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris B
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Place”
Reviewed 1 August 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Such a beautiful place to unwind and relax after work. Spent a month or so in the cottage didn't want to leave.
Such an idyllic location. Everything about Plumb Tree is great. Would definitely recommend and am looking forward to my next visit soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Aug 2016
Thank you Chris , you're a great guest who always treats the cottage with such respect .Of course it goes without saying , you're welcome back any time
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
952Jacque...
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Hidden treasure, a jewel in the heart of beautiful County Durham”
Reviewed 27 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

If your looking for luxury, peace & quiet then this is the place for you.
The owners have Lovingly restored this little hide away with the luxury of a five star retreat.
The only down side is the secrets out and we may have trouble securing our next booking!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Aug 2016
Thank you so much Jaqueline , it was great to meet you and your lovely daughter and I was delighted to hear your appreciation of not only the cottage but also the area , which is so often overlooked . Thanks once again for leaving the cottage in such good order, it was sparkling when I walked in and I really appreciate it . My very best wishes to yourself and Maia hope to see you soon , Bev
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mancheste...
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful, peaceful, private, romantic riverside bliss!”
Reviewed 10 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Everything about this place is perfect. It's totally private and surrounded by gorgeous views of the river, fields and rolling countryside. The garden is huge and the burbling of the River Wear which passes right by the cottage is wonderfully relaxing. Bev, the owner is delightful, a welcoming, kind and thoughtful host who has really thought of everything you might need and more. So many comforts and treats were found, from the to-die-for welcome truffles and wine to a booty box of essentials, and a great range of DVDs, books and games to keep you entertained. The property is furnished to an incredibly high standard, there are so many pretty details, from the flowers to the cute crystal doorknobs to the linen...

The living space is cosy with a wood burner and Bev has provided everything you need to get it going. The wetroom is fantastic, the bedroom has a humungous and very comfortable bed, and there is tons of cupboard space so you can really make yourself at home.

Outside there is a proper BBQ and plenty of charcoal. It's so lovely to sit outside with a bottle of wine and some tasty food and watch the river.

Most importantly in my opinion, I have to say our huge Irish Wolfhound puppy was welcomed with open arms by Bev who clearly adores dogs. Bev even gave him a welcome salmon skin treat and a box of biccies, plus bowls, towels and a feeding trowel! This is what I mean when I say Bev has thought of EVERYTHING! He had a great time running around and could sleep comfortably and safely in the hallway.

The location is perfect for exploring the beaches, castles, and beautiful landscape of the North East, and of course the cathedral. Bev is on hand to offer advice and has provided all the information you may need on the local attractions and amenities, and there is wifi should you need to get online.

Don't hesitate to book - although a warning... you may find it TOO nice!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Riverside location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PippaRose...
Coventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“5 Star....Simply Stunning”
Reviewed 15 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

From the moment we arrived in to the drive, we wandered around saying wow at everything. The cottage is simply stunning and nicer than some 5 star hotel we have stayed in. Our trip was to celebrate our 7 year anniversary and we wanted a place by a river and in a peaceful location with things to do in the local area. Plum Tree Cottage exceeded all expectations. I could write on and on about how lovely everything is and still not cover it all. The beautifully kept gardens, the view to the river, the chic and stylish décor, beautiful welcome touches of chocolates and a welcome note, the blankets on the sofa, all of the utensils and kitchen equipment were exactly what you needed, the huge bed (best nights sleep ever), the gorgeous bathrooms (even the towels smelt beautiful) and the books, DVD's and games provided......so many thoughtful touches and so well designed. It really was a home from home. Love the homemade touches down to the use of haberdashery to hang the pictures and the wicker wreath that hangs on the stairs. So much to be admired. If that wasn't enough, the welcome and farewell we received from Bev & Mark was just the icing on the cake. Such wonderful and attentive hosts. The only thing was we just didn't want to leave. If peace and relaxation in the most luxurious and sumptuous surroundings is what you are seeking....look no further. This is top of the list and will remain my most favourite place to stay for some time....not sure how we will top this stay so will have to come back instead!! Thank you so much Bev, what a wonderful thing you have created xxx

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Smashed a glass by accodet and felt horrendously guilty!!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing