We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent choice for a convenient location in the North East”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Bishop Auckland Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bishop Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“An excellent choice for a convenient location in the North East”
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Have just returned from a 2 night stay at the Premier Inn Bishop Auckland.

For the price paid, the accommodation was excellent. The staff were all exceptionally friendly and cheerful.

We had the 'meal deal 'at the adjacent Brewers Fayre with breakfast and evening meal. That entitled you to the breakfast (very good) and evening meal.

I'm not sure that I would go for the evening meal option again. You get a choice of 3 courses, plus a drink, from a cut-down range of options in the main restaurant menu. I'd still go for the convenience of the adjacent Brewers Fayre for an evening meal, but choose a main course from the wider menu, but that's just a personal thing.

We went there as we are buying a property in the area and were shopping around for things. As it turned out, that area of town had most national retailers on the doorstep and plenty of local ones too - and Darlington/A1/Tyneside are only a short drive away for those missing.

The hotel is very well maintained. One of the managers was doing a daily late-night audit of exterior lights to discuss with the electrician coming the next day. You can see that they look after the property.

All in all - an excellent choice.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LBZd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    235
    108
    24
    3
    3
See reviews for
147
108
13
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Any
English first
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Wanting to spend a few days in County Durham - where better than a Premier Inn? Location Bishop Auckland is ideal! We were not disappointed by anything - other than wishing 2 chairs were provided in all twin rooms for perching on the bed for one is not ideal (can be said of most Premier Inns, I suppose?) - otherwise faultless staff, facility, and full cooked breakfast!

Room Tip: Ask for 2 chairs in twin or family rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OldWitleian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
283 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Position of hotel was ideal for our purposes, near the centre of B.A. Parking is good.
Room is of Premier Inn standard, good mattress, reasonably spacious, has air con, which, was not noisy, but also not that cool.
Visit was somewhat marred by staff not doing their jobs, soaps, towels, cleaning and an admin `goof `.
But, they were friendly and cheerful, and one in particular very apologetic, and embarrased by mistakes made by staff.

Room Tip: No tips as such, just check that you get what you have paid for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 151Mike151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larbert
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Good hotel on the ouskirts of town but adjacent to a Sainsbury shoulkd you need a sandwich or other provisions for the next leg of a journey. Food in the attached is the usual Brewers Fayre so you know what to expect. Staff very friendly and welcoming and the meals were served up quickly and efficiently.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013 via mobile

My wife and me stayed here in July for two nights whilst touring the area on motorcycles with friends, firstly a big thank you to the staff who were outstandingly helpful, even showing us where to park our motorcycles outside reception as they knew motorcyclists liked their bikes watched over, the hotel was booked solid which speaks volumes, the receptionist's could not have been anymore helpful, the room itself was large and very clean, the bathroom had a bath with a really good powerful shower over it and was also spotlessly clean, there were the very welcome and in my view essential tea and coffee making facilities, the bed was very comfortable and when we stayed it was really hot at night, so we turned on the air cooling system in the room which was fantastic and both of us slept very well and we heard no noise at night during our stay, again at breakfast the staff at the brewers fayre next door were brilliant, going out of their way to help one of our group who is a celiac, I had the continental breakfast and the selection was great everything from toast, croissants, even crumpets, cereals galore, porridge, fresh fruit, yoghurts, Costa coffee, fruit juices, my wife had the full English which was freshly cooked and of good quality. The Inn itself is located just outside of Bishop Auckland on a large open retail park which is quiet at night, All in all a great place to explore the area from.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank touringbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Stayed for two nights, which was fine. However, we had booked a twin bedded room, but they haven't got any, only family rooms, so one of us had to sleep on an inferior bed. Breakfast was good, but don't eat at night - the worst pub grub we have ever experienced anywhere!

Room Tip: Don't expect a twin room (even if it says so on the website) - they don't exist - family roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Draycott, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Stayed for two nights. Friendly cheerful helpful staff who made us feel very welcome. We were allocated a room on the first floor which was perfect for our requirements.Confortable bed and good shower. Booked Premier breakfast for both mornings. Sausages and Bacon were of a good quality.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ibor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bishop Auckland
2.5 mi away
Park Head Country Hotel and Restaurant
5.2 mi away
Best Western Whitworth Hall Hotel
1.5 mi away
The Manor House Hotel
The Manor House Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Auckland
1,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
The Brown Horse Hotel
The Brown Horse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tow Law
76 reviews
3.3 mi away
Redworth Hall Hotel
Redworth Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Redworth
3,102 reviews
5.4 mi away
Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Bishop Auckland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Bishop Auckland Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Bishop Auckland Hotel
Address: West Auckland Road, Bishop Auckland DL14 9TW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Bishop Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bishop Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Bishop Auckland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set yourself up nicely for a relaxing trip with a stopover at the Premier Inn Hotel Bishop Auckland. Just off the A1 in an historic market town, you'll be close to Durham and Darlington and all the surrounding attractions. Discover the area's amazing past at Raby Castle and Gardens, Shildon National Railway Museum and Beamish. Explore Durham's stunning world heritage sites. Or put in some putting time at Bishop Auckland Golf Club. Then take the weight off with our spacious rooms, Brewers Fayre restaurant and big, comfy beds. Important info This Premier Inn is located near a major road, bedrooms are insulated to minimise noise. From the South: Leave A1 at J58, bear left onto the A68 Corbridge/Bishop Auckland. At 1st roundabout take the 2nd exit (A6072) signed Shildon. Continue on the A6702 over 4 roundabouts, following signs to Shildon/Bishop Auckland. Hotel is approximately 1 mile on the left. Next to the Tindale Crossing Brewers Fayre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Bishop Auckland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Bishop Auckland Hotel Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing