We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Premier Inn I've ever visited for a meal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Bishop Auckland Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bishop Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worst Premier Inn I've ever visited for a meal”
Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

2 weeks in a row, there was no meat left on the Sunday at 6pm. I've stayed in many Premier Inn's throughout England and Scotland but this is a 1st. And throughout the week, most veg is hard and dry, especially the chips. Usually you always rely on the Premier Inn serving up a good Sunday meal, but not here. Very disappointed.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank martyboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    106
    24
    3
    3
See reviews for
144
106
11
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Any
English first
Dearham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

You know what you're getting with a premier inn and this hotel ticks all the usual boxes. It was clean and basic but with everything you need for a night. Staff on the reception desk were cheerful and friendly. Breakfast in the attached pub was delicious and surprisingly worth the money!

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Rachel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainsborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

My partner and I stayed here for a Friday night and found the hotel up to the usual Premier Inn standards of comfortable, no frills, great value accommodation. The staff in this hotel were some of the friendliest I'd ever encountered and are a credit to the brand. When the vending machine wouldn't dispense a toothbrush, one of the receptionists even popped to the local shop and delivered one to my room! The only slight negative of our stay was a little road noise (I'm a light sleeper) but it was acceptable given the location.

Breakfast was excellent and the staff at the restaurant were just as friendly and professional as those at the hotel front desk. Some much more expensive hotels could learn a few lessons in customer service from a humble hotel like this one.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bradders75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
88 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

A group of us stayed here for a couple of nights, usual high standard of staff and cleanliness. The attached pub/restaurant is nice with the usual range of pre-prepared food and some nice beers. Town is quite a long walk and a bit sparse on restaurants.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Aikone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenock, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 October 2013

First port of call is reception, all staff very pleasant and informative, the room was spotless, great shower. The restaurant/bar was first class for a brewers Fare staff polite and attentive with good food. Some gripe about noise but you expect that at this type of location they can't all be stuck miles back from the roads that service them. Even after I had checked out their service carried on as I had left a personnel item in my room which I did not notice until I started unpacking at home. I gave the reception a call to be told the item was handed into reception, they informed me they would post out to my home address. Well after nearly a week passed the item duly arrived in the post safe and sound. So thanks to the front counter staff for that 10 out of 10 in my book.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambs
Level Contributor
381 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Arrived late & left early -Great North Run was the reason for staying - very friendly & helpful receptionist (Steph I think). Rooms & beds as normal Premier Inn standard, you know what you're getting. Didn't eat, so can't comment on that.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ToffeeCambs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biloela, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We stayed 4 nights in a comfortable and spacious room on the ground floor. We had breakfast each morning at the adjoining restaurant which was plentiful and tasty, but would have been a bit too expensive except children ate free which brought the average cost down for our family. All the staff in both the hotel and the restaurant were pleasant and professional. It does seem a bit ridiculous to have to pay for WiFi when everywhere else you stay it is included.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JRW716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bishop Auckland
2.5 mi away
Park Head Country Hotel and Restaurant
5.2 mi away
Best Western Whitworth Hall Hotel
1.5 mi away
The Manor House Hotel
The Manor House Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
The Brown Horse Hotel
The Brown Horse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tow Law
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
3.3 mi away
Redworth Hall Hotel
Redworth Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Redworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,067 reviews
10.6 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Bishop Auckland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Bishop Auckland Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Bishop Auckland Hotel
Address: West Auckland Road, Bishop Auckland DL14 9TW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Bishop Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bishop Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Bishop Auckland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set yourself up nicely for a relaxing trip with a stopover at the Premier Inn Hotel Bishop Auckland. Just off the A1 in an historic market town, you'll be close to Durham and Darlington and all the surrounding attractions. Discover the area's amazing past at Raby Castle and Gardens, Shildon National Railway Museum and Beamish. Explore Durham's stunning world heritage sites. Or put in some putting time at Bishop Auckland Golf Club. Then take the weight off with our spacious rooms, Brewers Fayre restaurant and big, comfy beds. Important info This Premier Inn is located near a major road, bedrooms are insulated to minimise noise. From the South: Leave A1 at J58, bear left onto the A68 Corbridge/Bishop Auckland. At 1st roundabout take the 2nd exit (A6072) signed Shildon. Continue on the A6702 over 4 roundabouts, following signs to Shildon/Bishop Auckland. Hotel is approximately 1 mile on the left. Next to the Tindale Crossing Brewers Fayre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Premier Inn Bishop Auckland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Bishop Auckland Hotel Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing