We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Bishop Auckland Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bishop Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Worksop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
177 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Friendly staff”
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We were visiting the Polar Express Attraction and although this hotel was further away than others the price was much better and we knew exactly what to expect from Premier Inn.

We were greeted by a very friendly receptionist who made sure we knew everything we needed to know and took time to speak to my son. The room was as expected, clean, modern and fairly spacious. Each time we left/entered the hotel, the same lady would greet us or check everything was ok. I didn't get her name but she was a real credit to the hotel!

The location of the hotel is good. It has a retail park just behind it which was great for a bit of Christmas shopping!

The restaurant was the only let down but I will write a separate review for that on their Trip Advisor page as not to affect the review for this great hotel!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank urbansmummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    235
    108
    24
    3
    3
See reviews for
147
108
13
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

We stopped here again for the third time and it was lovely and clean and the stuff were so friendly. We would defiantly stop there again. The rooms are very spacious with the facilities that you will need bedding is changed everyday and the beds are so comfortable which was lovely after an eight and a half hour journey from kent.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Measha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

You know what to expect with Premier Inns, always a cut above their closest budget rival, but we are always impressed by the friendly, helpful welcome and the clean, warm rooms. This one was no exception. If you need extra coffee or milk, you just have to ask. If you wish not to bother driving somewhere to eat, the adjacent inn is always more than adequate and extremely good value, particularly on Premier Inn's meal deal including all you can eat breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rogerpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Right by the local superstores and a macdonalds this hotel has all the standard premier bits and pieces.
Beautiful comfortable bed, spare pillows, not quite enough towels, one coffee fornighttime and one for the morning.
It has a restaurant alongside but we didn't go there (or macdonalds)
Best bit was the friendly receptionist giving us useful timings and advice for getting to the Durham lumiere.
I would stay again happily

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kkkaarreenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

2 weeks in a row, there was no meat left on the Sunday at 6pm. I've stayed in many Premier Inn's throughout England and Scotland but this is a 1st. And throughout the week, most veg is hard and dry, especially the chips. Usually you always rely on the Premier Inn serving up a good Sunday meal, but not here. Very disappointed.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank martyboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dearham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

You know what you're getting with a premier inn and this hotel ticks all the usual boxes. It was clean and basic but with everything you need for a night. Staff on the reception desk were cheerful and friendly. Breakfast in the attached pub was delicious and surprisingly worth the money!

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Rachel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainsborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

My partner and I stayed here for a Friday night and found the hotel up to the usual Premier Inn standards of comfortable, no frills, great value accommodation. The staff in this hotel were some of the friendliest I'd ever encountered and are a credit to the brand. When the vending machine wouldn't dispense a toothbrush, one of the receptionists even popped to the local shop and delivered one to my room! The only slight negative of our stay was a little road noise (I'm a light sleeper) but it was acceptable given the location.

Breakfast was excellent and the staff at the restaurant were just as friendly and professional as those at the hotel front desk. Some much more expensive hotels could learn a few lessons in customer service from a humble hotel like this one.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bradders75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bishop Auckland
2.5 mi away
Park Head Country Hotel and Restaurant
5.2 mi away
Best Western Whitworth Hall Hotel
1.5 mi away
The Manor House Hotel
The Manor House Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Auckland
1,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
The Brown Horse Hotel
The Brown Horse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tow Law
76 reviews
3.3 mi away
Redworth Hall Hotel
Redworth Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Redworth
3,102 reviews
5.4 mi away
Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Bishop Auckland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Bishop Auckland Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Bishop Auckland Hotel
Address: West Auckland Road, Bishop Auckland DL14 9TW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Bishop Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bishop Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Bishop Auckland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set yourself up nicely for a relaxing trip with a stopover at the Premier Inn Hotel Bishop Auckland. Just off the A1 in an historic market town, you'll be close to Durham and Darlington and all the surrounding attractions. Discover the area's amazing past at Raby Castle and Gardens, Shildon National Railway Museum and Beamish. Explore Durham's stunning world heritage sites. Or put in some putting time at Bishop Auckland Golf Club. Then take the weight off with our spacious rooms, Brewers Fayre restaurant and big, comfy beds. Important info This Premier Inn is located near a major road, bedrooms are insulated to minimise noise. From the South: Leave A1 at J58, bear left onto the A68 Corbridge/Bishop Auckland. At 1st roundabout take the 2nd exit (A6072) signed Shildon. Continue on the A6702 over 4 roundabouts, following signs to Shildon/Bishop Auckland. Hotel is approximately 1 mile on the left. Next to the Tindale Crossing Brewers Fayre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Bishop Auckland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Bishop Auckland Hotel Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing