We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ab Fab” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dales Farm Upper Weardale

Dales Farm Upper Weardale
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dales Farm Upper Weardale
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ab Fab”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

This was easily the best B&B we have ever experienced. Anita and Terry were wonderful hosts, the food and rooms were fantastic, especially the evening meal. Where else for breakfast could you have marmalade that was made by the world champion?
Tony, Cordelia, Lynda and Ian.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tony F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
15
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dorset
Level Contributor
74 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

While walking the Pennine Way, we stayed in this marvellous B & B. Nothing could be faulted. Well furnished rooms, tea and cakes on arrival, a roast dinner for our total party of nine, glorious views over the dale, the use of a room for two of our party who were not actually staying there and very personal attention to all of our needs. Nothing was too much trouble and our hosts even made certain we got back in safe late in the evening. It might be a little of the beaten track but it is certainly worth the effort to enjoy such a stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DorsetTravelmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

We stayed at Dales Farm for one night (3rd Aug) and absolutely loved it! We were made to feel very welcome. Upon returning to the b and b, we were treated to the best cake I have ever tasted. Whilst we had our tea and cake we enjoyed the stunning view of the dales, such a great experience. This really made our stay, we also loved watching the chicks following the mother hen about. Lots of antics and very entertaining!

The bed made for the most comfortable night's sleep. The place was absolutely spotlessly clean. Just when we thought our stay couldn't get any better we were blown away by Anita's award winning breakfast, including numerous Golden Shred Marmalade Awards. We can't wait to come back, all in all fantastic! The only thing we would change about our stay would be for Anita to win awards for her cake, if she hasn't already! There is no fitness suite or swimming pool but it wouldn't let us just rate the other things on their own so please ignore this in our rating.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trollface81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013 via mobile

Superb in every way. 5 star accommodation,food, cleanliness etc. A welcoming host and friendly Border Collie, this place has it all. Stunning views are an added bonus....and free! Don't take my word for it, just go.

Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Philwaddi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2012

Quite simply, this is just one of the best places I've stayed in the UK. I've never visited this area before (Pennines, Co Durham), but my conclusion is, it's some of the most awe-inspiring, unspoilt scenery in England. The view from our bedroom window was just spectacular - and lying in bed with a cup of tea watching the sun rise over the hills beyond was a real treat. And it's just so peaceful, you can't help but sleep well. The guest accommodation has its own entrance and sitting/ dining room, all recently refurbished to a high standard and with great taste (and the same great view as the bedroom, similarly refurbished). Anita and Terry are really lovely hosts; genuinely warm and friendly, knowledgeable about the local area. Anita gave us the option of evening meals as well as breakfast, as there are no eating places close by. Take this option! The food is fantastic and included home-grown lamb and vegetables. Breakfast used home-produced eggs and Anita's award-winning marmalade - honestly, you won't have ever tasted anything like it. Then there are all the really nice extra touches - home-baked cake (wonderful) "on tap" in the guests' dining room (a cyclists dream - Victoria sponge with home-made jam); breakfast at 5:30 am before the cycle race we were there for. Oh, and it's excellent value for money. If you like cycling, there are many excellent routes straight from the gate, ranging from challenging (Dales Farm is 3 miles from the halfway point in the Etape du Pennines; try St Johns Chapel - Baybridge - Stanhope (tearoom) - Middleton-in-Teesdale (tearoom) - Langdon Beck - St Johns Chapel (tearoom)) to moderate (Allenhead - Rookhope - Eastgate is a v scenic 1 - 1.5 hour warm up ride).

Room Tip: For the scenic view described above, choose the room overlooking the Weardale valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelindaDuer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2012

My wife and I stayed overnight at Dales Farm on the eve of the Great North Run 2012. What a shame that we could only stay the one night - AND we had to be up early on the Sunday morning and miss what I guess would have been a great breakfast !

This farmhouse B & B is ideal in so many ways, and yet such great value for money.

Tucked away in the stunning scenery of Upper Weardale, you'd be hard pressed to find a more beautiful English rural location, and the roads we took in the last hour before we arrived were a joy to drive - it's worth a trip to this part of the country just for that; Dales Farm, with its slightly elevated position on a hill, allows you to soak up all those wonderful views.

What a friendly welcome from Terry & Anita ! Once we'd been shown our room, there was tea, coffee and home-made cakes waiting for us and two other guests - just what was needed after a long day.

The Sunday also happened to be my wife's birthday and I had asked Anita if she would provide a bottle of sparkling wine so we could celebrate. A chilled bottle of Cava was dutifully waiting in an ice bucket, together with two elegant wine glasses and a dish of strawberries - thank you so much.

Our bedroom was beautiful - just the way we would have designed it ourselves, i.e. light, airy, modern and with nice touches, plus modern conveniences such as Freeview (with a good signal) and free internet access. The mattress was firm but very comfortable; that, and some quality pillows, ensured a really good night's sleep. In the morning, we were treated to one of the best power showers we've ever had in what was an attractively tiled and spotlessly clean bathroom.

Whilst we had to leave shortly after 7am, Anita saw us off with a 'packed breakfast' of smoked salmon bagels, muffins and yoghurts, even though we would have normally sat down to a 'full English'.

We were both sad to leave and, if at all possible, we WILL be finding an excuse to return.

Thoroughly recommended !

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank r00frack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bishop Auckland
13.4 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,046 reviews
15.6 mi away
The Brown Horse Hotel
The Brown Horse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tow Law
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
24.3 mi away
Park Head Country Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Newlands Hall Farmhouse B&B
Newlands Hall Farmhouse B&B
#1 of 1 in Frosterley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
2.8 mi away
Old Coach House At The Golden Lion
Old Coach House At The Golden Li...
#1 of 2 in St. John's Chapel
5.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
23.4 mi away
Premier Inn Bishop Auckland Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dales Farm Upper Weardale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dales Farm Upper Weardale

Property: Dales Farm Upper Weardale
Address: High Copthill, Cowshill | Cowshill, Bishop Auckland DL13 1AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Bishop Auckland
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Bishop Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Dales Farm Upper Weardale 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
small B&B on working farm in upper weardale with fantastic views ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Book Direct Rooms and Hotels.com so you can book your Dales Farm Upper Weardale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dales Farm Upper Weardale Bishop Auckland, Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing