We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely meal lovely staff”
Review of Red Alligator

Red Alligator
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Crook, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Lovely meal lovely staff”
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

We have been to the red alligator 3 times now this is after a recommendation from a work mate and I was not disappointed. The selection on the menu is good and the portion size is large really no need to have a starter but they are tasty. Main meals are very good not had a bad meal yet will be going back again to try something else on the menu. But there is only one thing to have on the pudding board that's the toffee apple crumble with ice cream is the best I've ever had.

To Dave and all the team keep up the good work

Lee & Kelly

Helpful?
1 Thank LeeBraithwaite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    37
    8
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Retford
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Called as spotted it on here when we were looking for somewhere to eat. So glad we did. Great menu choice and specials board. Friendly service, we sat outside because we had our dog with us (only 1 table) but it was fine.
The food was superb, home cooked and good sized portions. We really enjoyed it.
Prices were good, under £60 for four of us with drinks and three of us had steaks!
Would highly recommend a visit!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Retford_Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Went last nite and it was faultless. . Definitely b going back there. Staff r nice to. Well worth the money. .

Helpful?
Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
544 reviews
331 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 283 helpful votes
“Almost there.................from ordering to table is so slow”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Went last week for tea with a friend plenty of tables and good menu selection although drinks required on draught were not available and had to be bottled or alternatives sought. Ordered 2 meals for £10, I had the lasagne which was a small portion but ample for my appetite, served in a small dish with chips and salad, my friend ordered the chicken curry with came with half rice/half chips and got rather more than she bargained for, the portion was huge and she left about 25%, (mainly rice), the curry sauce was lovely but the chicken had a tainted taste that we couldn’t initially identify then put it down to the contact with the raw green peppers that were included either in the presentation or very last stages of cooking, once removed, it tasted fine. For value couldn’t fault it, really enjoyed this visit unlike my last. Only negative was the length of time it took from ordering to arriving was almost 30 minutes yet there were only about 4 tables of diners, this is the area that lets them down repeatedly.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SharonJT67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit.”
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

Visited here lastnight with wife and two friends, to sum up, the pub is nice inside and the menu had plenty of choice, the food was good quality & tasted fresh and well cooked, we all left stuffed and all agreed we would go back. thanks

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank garrysue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Red Alligator also viewed

Bishop Auckland, Durham
Bishop Auckland, Durham
 
Bishop Auckland, Durham
 
Bishop Auckland, Durham
West Auckland, Durham
 

Been to Red Alligator? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing